Jump to content



Photo

GPU for farcry 3


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#16 Jub Fequois

Jub Fequois

    Owlblood

  • Joined: 06-June 04
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: Windows, OS X
  • Phone: Galaxy S4

Posted 04 December 2012 - 14:16

... four free games Dirt Showdown, Far Cry 3, Hitman Absolution, Sleeping Dogs.


Kthxbye, see you next year. :p

Good purchase!


#17 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 04 December 2012 - 14:20

From what I hear, SLI/Crossfire is rarely worth it due to all the issues people have with it. I'd rather go for a single top-end card - at least it'll give you the option to double up when it's needed.

SLI had issues years ago. Today, however, there are zero issues. I've had my 680s in SLI since release day, and i've never had a problem. imo, it's worth the entry fee.

No, Far Cry 3 is pretty demanding no matter the GPU. 1080p maxed out settings on a £375 GTX680 still only manages 35fps

Keep in mind that nvidia has released new beta drivers (310.64) which claim up to 38% performance increase.

#18 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

    Tiger Trainer

  • Joined: 07-August 03
  • Location: Terra Prime Profession: Jaded Sceptic
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 04 December 2012 - 14:40

SLI had issues years ago. Today, however, there are zero issues. I've had my 680s in SLI since release day, and i've never had a problem. imo, it's worth the entry fee.


You must just be playing different games. I've had launch day SLI issues with DiRT Showdown, Borderlands 2, Far Cry 3, Batman: Arkham City and XCOM: Enemy Unknown. That's despite using the latest respective beta drivers that supposedly had fixes for those very games. In fact I've had more issues with SLI for my GTX680s than with Crossfire for my HD5970. That said, I still prefer the nVidia experience overall and I don't mind putting up with the occasional issue for the performance it offers.

But the idea that there are "zero issues" today is laughable. It's not even slightly true.

Keep in mind that nvidia has released new beta drivers (310.64) which claim up to 38% performance increase.


Even with those SLI was broken at release and performance is still sketchy. They only offer such an improvement because performance was so bad before.

#19 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 04 December 2012 - 15:03

I have a 7950 2G version and I have Far Cry 3 on Ultra. The card only cost me about £120 last month


Yeah at what resolution and is AA on?

#20 Shaun N.

Shaun N.

    Perfidious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 04
  • Location: Northants, England
  • OS: Work: Windows 8/Ubuntu Home: Ubuntu

Posted 04 December 2012 - 15:10

Yeah at what resolution and is AA on?


1920x1080 - Not sure on the AA, I'll look when I get home.

#21 lunamonkey

lunamonkey

    Ten years on Neowin.

  • Joined: 28-May 03
  • Location: Swindon, England

Posted 04 December 2012 - 15:30

Should I risk getting Far Cry 3 on a 550ti ?

It will be running on 1080p, and I have Intel i5 2600k, 8 GB ram, SSD. Medium / low settings only?

PS: I'm not in the market for upgrade yet.

Edit: Seems ok....

#22 MillionVoltss

MillionVoltss

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 04

Posted 04 December 2012 - 15:35

1080p 560ti ( i5 2500k and 8gb ram ) at Ultra Setting. Blissful ignorance to fps, plays fine. How to show fps ?

#23 B.Wolken

B.Wolken

    pretty good

  • Joined: 02-December 01
  • Location: Syracuse, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 04 December 2012 - 15:47

I've been running all weekend on my 7970 with SweetFX 1.3. Looks and runs just great at 1080p Ultra Quality.

#24 +BoneyardBrew

BoneyardBrew

    Photoshop Junkie

  • Joined: 15-April 09
  • Location: United States
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 04 December 2012 - 16:02

I run the game at 2560x1440 downsampled to 1920x1080 (to reduce aliasing), DX11 with all settings maxed, PostFX set to "false" in the config (to disable DoF and what not), and no AA. The in-game MSAA takes a huge toll on performance no matter the system so I can't recommend using it. The game runs flawlessly (60 FPS) with the latest beta drivers so far.

Specs:
Intel i5-3570K @ 4.2GHz
GeForce GTX 680 @ Stock
8GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600
Crucial M4 128GB SSD

I can safely recommend a single 680 from personal experience. It looks like you're considering 680's in SLI, which would be even better I'd imagine.

#25 OP rageagainstmachine

rageagainstmachine

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-January 04
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 04 December 2012 - 16:43

ok, heres my next question, is it possible to run a crossfire config with my knew 7970 + one of my old 6870. and if so, would it be worth it?

#26 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 04 December 2012 - 16:45

ok, heres my next question, is it possible to run a crossfire config with my knew 7970 + one of my old 6870. and if so, would it be worth it?


Nope. Needs to be a 7970 or 7950.

#27 The Laughing Man

The Laughing Man

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-May 03
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan

Posted 04 December 2012 - 17:01

I managed to max out Far Cry 3 on a single 2GB 6950 at a constant 50+ fps. Only thing not enabled is AA. @ 1920x1080. I'm quite far into the game now with no drops in framerates below 40, Full specs are in sig.

#28 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 04 December 2012 - 19:40

You must just be playing different games. I've had launch day SLI issues with DiRT Showdown, Borderlands 2, Far Cry 3, Batman: Arkham City and XCOM: Enemy Unknown. That's despite using the latest respective beta drivers that supposedly had fixes for those very games. In fact I've had more issues with SLI for my GTX680s than with Crossfire for my HD5970. That said, I still prefer the nVidia experience overall and I don't mind putting up with the occasional issue for the performance it offers.

But the idea that there are "zero issues" today is laughable. It's not even slightly true.

Even with those SLI was broken at release and performance is still sketchy. They only offer such an improvement because performance was so bad before.

it sounds like to me that you were only encountering drivers which didnt have SLI profiles for those specific games. but, no, i havent played any of those games you mentioned.

in my experience, however, ive had no issues with SLI. i've played: Homefront, Batman: AA, Max Payne 3, Mass Effect 3, Battlefield 3, CoD:MW3

#29 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

    Tiger Trainer

  • Joined: 07-August 03
  • Location: Terra Prime Profession: Jaded Sceptic
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 04 December 2012 - 22:12

it sounds like to me that you were only encountering drivers which didnt have SLI profiles for those specific games. but, no, i havent played any of those games you mentioned.


Well, if you're simply going to dismiss all SLI issues related to SLI profiles then of course you're not going to have any problems! Sure the issues are usually addressed pretty quickly, often with days or the first week of release, but that doesn't mean they're not issues.

As for the issues: DiRT Showdown shipped with a faulty profile that didn't locate the correct .exe and even when it was selected caused lag on levels with water; Borderlands 2 shipped without SLI support; Far Cry 3 shipped with a faulty SLI profile (already corrected); XCOM: Enemy Unknown enabled SLI by default but had an issue that halved the framerate in comparison to a single card. Each time a quick Google search pointed me to a forum that listed an alternative profile that could be used via nVidia Inspector, which makes me wonder how nVidia doesn't pick up on these issues.

As I said, the idea that SLI doesn't have issues is laughable. By all means share your own experiences - and I don't dispute your success in the slightlest - but don't be so arrogant as to speak in absolutes.

#30 OP rageagainstmachine

rageagainstmachine

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-January 04
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 05 December 2012 - 19:14

OK, got my new 7970 installed. its a massive performance boost on my two 6870s. glad i purchased it. running FAr cry 3 on ultra with 4x AA and it must be somewhere about 60FPS im getting . its also a damn sight quieter than my last two cards!!

result. very happpy bunny!



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!