Jump to content



Photo

On verge of selling S3 - too much data being used. Help


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
175 replies to this topic

#1 Technique

Technique

    Technical Difficulties

  • Joined: 09-October 03
  • Location: England

Posted 14 December 2012 - 22:26

The wife is on the verge of selling her S3 although she doesn't want to.

She has a 500mb/month plan like i do. We were both iPhone 3GS users & would both use approx 200mb max per month - not even going over the half way mark, nevermind the full allowance.

I bought an iPhone 4S, she got the Galaxy S3.

My usage remains the same & i'm using the same MB per month as i always was.
Her usage remains the same however last month she went over her 500MB. This month she topped up 1st Dec & she's used over 300MB so far. She used 80MB in the last 2 days.

She's tried turning mobile data off but this seemingly didn't help. She's had a look at what app is using what. Apparently she says the Facebook app has a rep for eating data? It seems to be that way from her screenshot, although i've no idea why her Facebook app on the SGS3 uses so much more than mine on my iPhone when we always did the same.

She wants to keep it but will have to sell if the data usage keeps going on like this.

Help.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image


#2 Buttus

Buttus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-September 05

Posted 14 December 2012 - 22:32

i can't help you, but i did hear that the facebook app just got a huge update yesterday or today, so that might help?

#3 Blackhearted

Blackhearted

    .....

  • Joined: 26-February 04
  • Location: Ohio
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S2 (VM)

Posted 14 December 2012 - 22:38

You seriously bought a highend phone and then paired it up with the budget data plan? Rather illogical move to be honest.

Anyway, how much of facebook's auto-sync stuff do you have turned on? If it's all turned on it'll likely use quite a bit of data.

#4 +jamesyfx

jamesyfx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 06
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 14 December 2012 - 22:48

I use Facebook every day and I've only used 13.14MB data so far since the beginning of the month, but I connect to WiFi networks whenever possible. If you can connect to The Cloud anywhere, then you should.

I try to limit heavy data use as much as possible.

#5 Vader76

Vader76

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nexus S

Posted 14 December 2012 - 22:50

Make sure the Facebook app is not set to automatically sync photos taken.

#6 Pupik

Pupik

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 09-December 05

Posted 14 December 2012 - 22:51

Make sure "Show Wi-Fi usage" isn't ticked in "Data Usage". Might be the problem, is that it's showing the data usage with wi-fi included.

#7 OP Technique

Technique

    Technical Difficulties

  • Joined: 09-October 03
  • Location: England

Posted 14 December 2012 - 22:59

i can't help you, but i did hear that the facebook app just got a huge update yesterday or today, so that might help?

Probably not - she has all auto-updates turned OFF

You seriously bought a highend phone and then paired it up with the budget data plan? Rather illogical move to be honest.

Explain that please.

At the time it was released, would you call the iPhone 3GS a high end phone? I would.
Would you call the iPhone 4S a high end phone? I would. Ok it may not be the biggest & baddest out there right now, but when it was released...

And as i said, i don't come anywhere near the 500mb allowance. Neither did my wife when she was running her iPhone 3GS.

So again ...... i'm at a loss as to what relevance your statement has?? It was ok before & after for me. It was ok before for her, but with the Galaxy S3 it's not. Her day-to-day usage hasn't increased, therefore it has to be something within the SGS3's makeup.

Anyway, how much of facebook's auto-sync stuff do you have turned on? If it's all turned on it'll likely use quite a bit of data.

Not sure. How do you check & i'll get back to you on that.

but I connect to WiFi networks whenever possible.

As does she.

Going in to the facebook settings, here is what is turned ON...

Notifications: Active
Messages: Ticked

Everything else is OFF. Refresh interval is "NEVER", Sync Contacts are "DONT SYNC"

Make sure the Facebook app is not set to automatically sync photos taken.

It isn't

Make sure "Show Wi-Fi usage" isn't ticked in "Data Usage". Might be the problem, is that it's showing the data usage with wi-fi included.

It isn't

#8 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 14 December 2012 - 23:06

Ask her what she does on FB and Internet

Sharing / Viewing videos / pictures is bound to use a lot

#9 Kerm

Kerm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 22-June 04
  • Location: UK

Posted 14 December 2012 - 23:11

Not sure how she's using so much with mobile data turned off? Unless it's all data usage including wifi data.

Just a predictable quick shout out towards Giffgaff. £12 per month for 250 mins and unlimited internet.

#10 Richteralan

Richteralan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 03-February 03
  • Location: Madison, Wisconsin
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro
  • Phone: Nexus 4 E960

Posted 14 December 2012 - 23:22

Um....take advantage of free WiFi everywhere?
And get off facebook?

#11 +jamesyfx

jamesyfx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 06
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 14 December 2012 - 23:23

The data use in general is a bit much in my opinion (as in, it sounds like there may be a problem). Web browsers using around 150MB...! I use my web browser every day at work and at home and I've used under 1% of 150MB.

#12 OP Technique

Technique

    Technical Difficulties

  • Joined: 09-October 03
  • Location: England

Posted 14 December 2012 - 23:24

Ask her what she does on FB and Internet

Sharing / Viewing videos / pictures is bound to use a lot

She just checks facebook - statuses & the like. She doesn't upload or download.

Web browsing is just like 15 minutes worth of browsing for e.g. She doesn't stream videos.

She pretty much uses it to check facebook (read statuses), send a few text messages, browse a few pages, doesn't stream any videos & that's it. Comes home & turns on WiFi. She only uses it for 1hour tops on mobile data through the week. WiFi after 6pm & on weekends.



She's just used 3MB while the phone was sat on the sofa, mobile data turned off, WiFi turned on.



When you look at the apps running in the background once everything has been shut down, there's LOADS. Settings alone was listed as 45MB. Facebook was 18MB. Swiftkey3 was 20+MB. Will this make a difference - all this background work, or is that nothing to do with mobile data & more to do with processor hogging or whatever?

The data use in general is a bit much in my opinion (as in, it sounds like there may be a problem). Web browsers using around 150MB...! I use my web browser every day at work and at home and I've used under 1% of 150MB.

What would you suggest there may be a problem with? Phone or SIM?

#13 +jamesyfx

jamesyfx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 06
  • Location: Manchester, UK
  • OS: OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 14 December 2012 - 23:26

I doubt it will be the SIM... It must be the phone. For some reason it's devouring data like it's nobodies business.

I'd suggest installing a logging app if the phone is rooted to see what exactly is going on. Otherwise I'm not sure what to suggest. :s

#14 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 14 December 2012 - 23:30

You sure she doesn't play things like that farmville thing, flash games will probably use quite a bit too

You could also set the browser to make plugins/addons (ie. flash) be "Ask Only" as in they will not just load every banner and advert / video that is on the page unless you click the ? on the flash placeholder

#15 +Seahorsepip

Seahorsepip

    http://seapip.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 23-January 11
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 14 December 2012 - 23:31

Install adaway this kills data use by ads and the like ^^