Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#31 OP Technique

Technique

    Technical Difficulties

  • Joined: 09-October 03
  • Location: England

Posted 18 December 2012 - 20:13

Regards Java - i installed it direct from the Java website. Has it only recently been updated (& by recently i mean past few days)? As like i say, i downloaded it direct from the Java website within the past week or so, so i would assume the main website would have the most up to date version...??

Also, i've tried viewing websites in the past & get told i can't view them as i require Java, so i need it it seems.


I'd like to burn that .iso - anyone any idea why it wont burn to DVD?


#32 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 18 December 2012 - 20:13

KILL JAVA! KILL IT WITH FIRE!

#33 Joshie

Joshie

    Wandering NPC

  • Joined: 01-March 02
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 18 December 2012 - 20:25

As has been suggested already, any Lenovo owner should keep a copy of Lenovo System Update (easily found from your favorite search engine) handy at all times. Similar to WU, it sorts by priority, so you can avoid pure 'utilities' if you wish. It's a great all-in-one that will keep your drivers up-to-date, fill in OEM-specific gaps WU doesn't, and will even keep you on top of the latest firmware images.

I'm on my third Lenovo, and what I do is practically rote. After putting the System Update (and wifi drivers, to be safe) on a flash drive:

1) Create a recovery image.
2) Wipe and clean install Windows.
3) Make sure my network works--install drivers if necessary
4) Install and run LSU.

Windows Update might be in there somewhere, too. It polls for updates as soon as a connection is detected. I wouldn't recommend running both update tools at the same time, so it's probably best to go through the WU process before the LSU one.

It's a shame you don't seem interested in Windows 8, since its ability to wipe clean without the need to format or re-configure anything is so dramatically far ahead of anything Windows 7 can possibly be made capable of. Alas, too many people have convinced themselves that the desktop was 'abandoned' in Windows 8, and therefore has no added functionality over Windows 7. Their loss, I guess.

#34 Blueclub

Blueclub

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-October 05
  • Location: Karachi, Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: OnePlus One

Posted 18 December 2012 - 20:34

My advice as many before me have given, wipe and install a fresh OS, that's what I always do.

But the problem is - How do i do a clean install when they didn't provide a Win7 disc (& i'm not interested in Windows 8 before anyone mentions it).

You can Google to find original digital river download links for Windows 7, you can then use the Windows 7 boot-able USB maker to make a boot-able USB and install Windows again.

#35 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 18 December 2012 - 20:37

It's a shame you don't seem interested in Windows 8, since its ability to wipe clean without the need to format or re-configure anything is so dramatically far ahead of anything Windows 7 can possibly be made capable of. Alas, too many people have convinced themselves that the desktop was 'abandoned' in Windows 8, and therefore has no added functionality over Windows 7. Their loss, I guess.


Windows 8 has its advantages, but not enough to overcome my gripes with it. That is for another thread though ;)

I wiped Windows 8 from my T530 and put Windows 7 on it pretty quickly. But, to each his own. This is why we have choice :)

#36 OP Technique

Technique

    Technical Difficulties

  • Joined: 09-October 03
  • Location: England

Posted 18 December 2012 - 20:37

Should i make a separate thread regarding burning the .iso to DVD then? I've asked a few times but nobody seems to know.

KILL JAVA! KILL IT WITH FIRE!

Without coming out with such a statement - what do you do when you go on websites that require Java?

#37 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 18 December 2012 - 20:39

Should i make a separate thread regarding burning the .iso to DVD then? I've asked a few times but nobody seems to know.


Depends on what the error is. You can use ImgBurn to burn it like I do for any of my optical discs, but without the specific error no idea why it won't do it. As Windows built in burner can definitely do .ISO burns.

#38 Blueclub

Blueclub

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-October 05
  • Location: Karachi, Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: OnePlus One

Posted 18 December 2012 - 20:40

For those of you saying do a clean install -

would any of you install ANY of the Lenovo software shown in post #1, or would you ONLY install the drivers for the hardware & leave it at that?


I will download and install the "On Screen Display". It helps show graphics when volume is turned up/down, track pad enabled/disabled, etc. I like that it shows whats been done, and its not that heavy on system resources.

I downloaded the .iso linked

Just tried burning it to DVD & got the attached error message. Any idea why?


Use this offical MS software to make a boot-able USB/CD Windows 7 USB/DVD download tool

#39 OP Technique

Technique

    Technical Difficulties

  • Joined: 09-October 03
  • Location: England

Posted 18 December 2012 - 20:51

Depends on what the error is. You can use ImgBurn to burn it like I do for any of my optical discs, but without the specific error no idea why it won't do it. As Windows built in burner can definitely do .ISO burns.

I'm confused - i posted a screenshot of the error, but you're asking what the error is..??

WawasTariq - thanks.

#40 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 18 December 2012 - 20:53

I'm confused - i posted a screenshot of the error, but you're asking what the error is..??

WawasTariq - thanks.


Yea I didn't notice the screenshot, but I'm at work so I'm also half reading the thread. But use ImgBurn imho as that MS error means little to most of us.

#41 OP Technique

Technique

    Technical Difficulties

  • Joined: 09-October 03
  • Location: England

Posted 18 December 2012 - 20:54

Hang on a second.....

The last time i did something like this was in the days of WinXP when OEM & retail were a factor, but somewhere in this thread it says that no longer happens.


I have a Win7 Pro 32bit & 64bit DVD i used to install Win7 on my PC - key is locked to my PC.

Could i just use this very DVD to do a clean install?? And use the key on the laptop with the DVD? Instead of struggling with this .iso not burning?

#42 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 18 December 2012 - 20:56

Hang on a second.....

The last time i did something like this was in the days of WinXP when OEM & retail were a factor, but somewhere in this thread it says that no longer happens.


I have a Win7 Pro 32bit & 64bit DVD i used to install Win7 on my PC - key is locked to my PC.

Could i just use this very DVD to do a clean install?? And use the key on the laptop with the DVD? Instead of struggling with this .iso not burning?


The "retail" version will accept the OEM key (I cant remember the story on activating it as there was that whole OEM activation hack hoopla around the launch of Windows 7) just fine...

That being said, you want to be sure you have the recovery image burned in case it all falls apart you have a stable rock to stand on. So don't do anything drastic without that media created.

#43 OP Technique

Technique

    Technical Difficulties

  • Joined: 09-October 03
  • Location: England

Posted 18 December 2012 - 21:10

Yeah i've just created the recovery CD & DVDs & tested them out - they worked - they put the laptop back to its original state.


Just a bit of a lightbulb moment - i remember that being said about the keys a few posts back & it didn't hit me at the time that i could probably use my current WinXP Pro DVD.

#44 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 18 December 2012 - 21:33

Yeah i've just created the recovery CD & DVDs & tested them out - they worked - they put the laptop back to its original state.


Just a bit of a lightbulb moment - i remember that being said about the keys a few posts back & it didn't hit me at the time that i could probably use my current WinXP Pro DVD.


XP? Don't go back that far. I'd recommend stopping as far back as 7 really.

#45 OP Technique

Technique

    Technical Difficulties

  • Joined: 09-October 03
  • Location: England

Posted 18 December 2012 - 21:49

XP? Don't go back that far. I'd recommend stopping as far back as 7 really.

My typo mistake. Sorry. Don't know why i said XP.