Jump to content



Photo

Consistant High CPU


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 SolidIntuition

SolidIntuition

    Part-time Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-May 04
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 18 December 2012 - 04:06

I am having a problem using WIndows 8. It seems like after using my computer for sometime i get a process that uses alot of my processer. I am not sure exactly what is the cause of it but i think it might have to do with Firefox because it triggers after i have been using that program for awihle. It's hard to tell because i use FF alot. The process is named Windows Assistive Technology and in the details pane the process is named AtBroker.exe. Can anybody tell me what this is or does and why is this slowing my computer down drastically?

Attached Images

  • Captxxure.PNG



#2 Vinny4

Vinny4

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-December 12
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Win8Pro-PC / Win7Ent-EdgeE220s / SurfaceRT / Nexus 7 / BB Playbook
  • Phone: iPhone4 (work) / HTC 8X 16GB (personal)

Posted 18 December 2012 - 05:28

Uninstall your ESET product, then restart, see if it still happens.

#3 Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 18 December 2012 - 08:43

Download ProcssorMonior
Let the processor run at 100% for some seconds
Tools>Process Activity Summary
See which task or program is causing it

#4 OP SolidIntuition

SolidIntuition

    Part-time Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-May 04
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 17 March 2013 - 18:55

Still having this problem. Any more help? Here's an updated synopsis.

I've been having a problem with the process "Windows Assistive Technology" also known as the process "Atbroker.exe". I'm not sure what is causing it but it seems to consume a lot of my cpu which when running other programs, My CPU can go up to 100% because this process is already is consuming 50%. I have tried a lot of troubleshooting like disabling the firewall and windows components like indexing. From what i understand this is a Windows process so it's not like it's harmful but i can't figure out what is causing this problem. Since it's a windows component it doesn't pinpoint to a specific program or anything like that. Please help! It seems to happen randomly into my sessions on the computer, Never at startup. I can kill the process and my cpu goes back to normal but then eventually it comes back.

Posted Image

#5 ShareShiz

ShareShiz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-June 11

Posted 17 March 2013 - 19:10

This is why I stopped using Eset's Nod32. Just uninstall and use MSE.

#6 OP SolidIntuition

SolidIntuition

    Part-time Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-May 04
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 17 March 2013 - 20:51

It's not Eset. I have uninstalled and still had the same problem. I just put it back because i like that program.

#7 vcfan

vcfan

    Straight Ballin'

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 17 March 2013 - 21:05

sounds to me like malware that injected itself into windows assistive technology. windows assistive technology is used for the on screen keyboard,magnifier.or narrator.

#8 OP SolidIntuition

SolidIntuition

    Part-time Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-May 04
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 18 March 2013 - 00:22

I do use Magnifier alot. Could that be what's causing it? How would i check for the malware?

#9 Riva

Riva

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-February 07

Posted 18 March 2013 - 00:29

I do use Magnifier alot. Could that be what's causing it? How would i check for the malware?

With Eset :D

#10 OP SolidIntuition

SolidIntuition

    Part-time Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-May 04
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 18 March 2013 - 00:32

HAHHA! You know that hasn't worked obviously.. :pinch:

#11 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 18 March 2013 - 00:34

I would yank out AtBroker.exe

#12 OP SolidIntuition

SolidIntuition

    Part-time Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-May 04
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 18 March 2013 - 00:40

? You can't get rid of it. It's apart of the OS.

#13 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 18 March 2013 - 00:42

^ OK -- if you are sure.

Do you use System Restore ?

Maybe try a Refresh.

#14 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 18 March 2013 - 00:42

Its after you close onscreen keyboard or magnifier right ? Thought that was my messing around with group policy preferences disableing that annoying click sound.

Definitely an eset issue in both consumer and endpoint security then.

Just kill the process and ask eset to update.

#15 OP SolidIntuition

SolidIntuition

    Part-time Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-May 04
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 18 March 2013 - 00:54

^ I'm not sure what you mean. Can you elaborate a bit further?