Jump to content



Photo

Neowin's Minecraft Server

official minecraft

2337 replies to this topic

#421 Zippo7

Zippo7

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-November 09

Posted 12 February 2013 - 18:19

i was thinking about making a hidden piston door and then surrounding the room with obsidian to at least make it more difficult for them to get into.


What we really need is a way to keep people off of others property if they choose, i built a long way from spawn but still have people that manage to find me and break in to steal things, its to the point now where i am thinking about moving way out where no one will ever find me but taking all my stuff with me is going to be a pain if i do.


#422 Ned

Ned

    ...

  • Joined: 14-October 04

Posted 12 February 2013 - 19:56

There's a live map guys....

Is there anyway to make it so you don't show up on the map?

#423 Zippo7

Zippo7

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-November 09

Posted 12 February 2013 - 20:02

There's a live map guys....

Is there anyway to make it so you don't show up on the map?


There was damage done to a lot of areas when the live map was offline so its not a matter of just pushing it off as the cause.

#424 +rdlenk

rdlenk

    Chief Lurker

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-January 05
  • Location: Pullman, Washington

Posted 12 February 2013 - 23:15

There's a live map guys....

Is there anyway to make it so you don't show up on the map?


Yes.

/dynmap hide

if the 'dynmap.hide.self' permission has been granted. I am not sure if it has on Neowin's server but you can try the command to see.

#425 OP Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 13 February 2013 - 01:08

Will add it later tonight.

#426 M1cky_B

M1cky_B

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 12
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8 / Windows RT / Windows 7 / Ubuntu
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3

Posted 13 February 2013 - 12:05

Anyone have any good idea's on how to slow down a minecart?

Basically building a branch line off the main subway lines to my base.. can't get the cart to slow down enough to hit the button to change the track..

#427 MrPilipo

MrPilipo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-January 08
  • Location: Sopot, Poland

Posted 13 February 2013 - 12:16

Neowin's.... Official... Minecraft... Server... well, it ain't DynamicSquid but will do ;)
I humbly ask for citizenship, username: PilipoPL

#428 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 13 February 2013 - 18:45

Neowin's.... Official... Minecraft... Server... well, it ain't DynamicSquid but will do ;)
I humbly ask for citizenship, username: PilipoPL

Done - have fun and welcome back.

#429 Gnieus

Gnieus

    The Genius

  • Joined: 10-February 13
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro x64
  • Phone: iPhone 4, 3Gs, HTC 7 Mozart, BlackBerry Curve 9380

Posted 13 February 2013 - 18:53

I'd love to become a citizen on the server!

Username: sM4llziE

Thanks!

#430 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 13 February 2013 - 18:54

I'd love to become a citizen on the server!

Username: sM4llziE

Thanks!

Promoted.

#431 Ned

Ned

    ...

  • Joined: 14-October 04

Posted 15 February 2013 - 05:38

Anyone have any good idea's on how to slow down a minecart?

Basically building a branch line off the main subway lines to my base.. can't get the cart to slow down enough to hit the button to change the track..


I dunno...cobwebs maybe?

#432 M1cky_B

M1cky_B

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 12
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8 / Windows RT / Windows 7 / Ubuntu
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3

Posted 15 February 2013 - 08:53

It's all good now, i think i have sorted that issue now..

Time and lag will tell..

I dunno...cobwebs maybe?



#433 Kyang

Kyang

  • Joined: 23-November 07

Posted 15 February 2013 - 14:47

That's what hidden piston doors are for.


Nah, that's a terrible idea and even less secure.

The solution isn't some redstone contraption, just a way of locking down either plots of land or at least doors, that actually works.

#434 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 16 February 2013 - 02:32

^ i still say they should switch to the Lockette plugin, as that one is known to be reliable

#435 Jeston

Jeston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 07-July 05
  • Location: Las Cruces, NM, US

Posted 16 February 2013 - 03:12

I might want to check this out when it's upgraded to 1.5.

If you could whitelist JestonU I'd appreciate it :)