I have Windows Vista. Should I upgrade to Windows 8?

Microsoft is offering an amazing deal for Windows 8. You can upgrade for only $40 until 1/30/13. I have Vista since it came with my computer 3 years ago. I hate it because it's pretty slow and does have problems occasionally. Is it recommended that I take advantage of this offer and upgrade to Windows 8? I've never used it before so I'm not sure how much better it is than Vista.

Thanks!

Windows 8 is blazing fast compared to Vista, and a less resource hog. It would be a massive improvement for you, you'll just need to get use to the new UI. That being said, if you're having problems with your OS, a simple upgrade might not solve your issue.

And for the record, any upgrade solution of any OS would be better than Vista :p

• Like 2

Yes, absolutely. It's mind boggling you didn't upgrade to Windows 7, given that you have problems with Vista. What are your PC specs - maybe you can buy some parts to make your computer faster?

Windows 7 was the perfect upgrade to Vista. 8 is comparable in performance to 7, but as you might've seen in various threads around this forum, a lot of people get their panties in a bunch over the Start screen.

Windows 8 is blazing fast compared to Vista, and a less resource hog. It would be a massive improvement for you, you'll just need to get use to the new UI. That being said, if you're having problems with your OS, a simple upgrade might not solve your issue.

And for the record, any upgrade solution of any OS would be better than Vista :p

no.. not really. Vista was a decent OS. Upgrade to 8 only if you understand that you are trading one set of frustrations with another.

no.. not really. Vista was a decent OS. Upgrade to 8 only if you understand that you are trading one set of frustrations with another.

Well if OP hates Windows 8, he/she could upgrade from Vista to 8, and have the best of both worlds. Really, there is no reason not to upgrade from Vista to 7/8.