Jump to content



Photo

Am I stressing my 500W PSU?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 28 December 2012 - 00:00

My Antec EarthWatts 500W PSU is powering:
  • Intel Core i5-750 CPU
  • 8 GB RAM
  • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560
  • 1x SSD
  • 3x 7,200 RPM HDDs
  • 1x 5,400 RPM HDD
  • Webcam, mouse, keyboard
  • DVD writer
  • 3x external HDDs (but they're also connected to the mains)
The reason I ask if I am stressing the PSU is that since I installed the third 7,200 RPM HDD, every now and again (probably 5 times a day), my mouse disconnects (Windows plays Device Disconnect sound) and reconnects a second or two later (Windows plays Device Connect sound).

It could be a co-incidence. However, I am wanting to install a fourth 7,200 RPM HDD soon and I want to make sure I'm not already stressing the PSU as it is.


#2 +Lovell

Lovell

    ,l,(-.-),l,

  • Joined: 14-November 03
  • Location: Great Britain

Posted 28 December 2012 - 00:09

That doesn't sound like a PSU problem if it was when you game your PC would crash, try playing a really intensive game if it crashes then you know it's your PSU.

HDDs use around 20w card 150-200w

#3 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 28 December 2012 - 00:10

That doesn't sound like a PSU problem if it was when you game your PC would crash, try playing a really intensive game if it crashes then you know it's your PSU.

True - this does not happen.

#4 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 28 December 2012 - 00:21

To get an idea of headroom left on your PSU, enter your hardware here

http://www.extreme.o...culatorlite.jsp

#5 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 28 December 2012 - 00:25

To get an idea of headroom left on your PSU, enter your hardware here

http://www.extreme.o...culatorlite.jsp

It says around 45-50w - weird.

Anyway, I just noticed that when my mouse disconnects and reconnects, my external hard drives kick into action also. I think my motherboard is shot.

#6 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 28 December 2012 - 00:38

It says around 45-50w - weird.

Anyway, I just noticed that when my mouse disconnects and reconnects, my external hard drives kick into action also. I think my motherboard is shot.



Entering your OP hardware into that calculator, I get 431w

#7 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 28 December 2012 - 00:39

Entering your OP hardware into that calculator, I get 431w

Strange, it's not what I got.

Oh well, either way, it seems my 500W will do :)

Cheers for the help!

#8 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 28 December 2012 - 00:41

Strange, it's not what I got.

Oh well, either way, it seems my 500W will do :)

Cheers for the help!


:) Would be nice if all that hardware only took 45-50w, your CPU alone sucks up more than double that !

#9 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 28 December 2012 - 00:46

500w output is it's PEAK output, no PSU should run at PEAK, in fact, they won't run at PEAK continiously.
Plus you've got to account for plus/minus 10% and you shouldn't be running a PSU at more than 90% or 95% capacity of this AT MOST.
10% off 500w = 450w, so if you're using 431w I would strongly recommend getting a more powerful PSU - or plug the internal drives into a seperate much smaller PSU.

#10 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 28 December 2012 - 01:08

500w output is it's PEAK output, no PSU should run at PEAK, in fact, they won't run at PEAK continiously.
Plus you've got to account for plus/minus 10% and you shouldn't be running a PSU at more than 90% or 95% capacity of this AT MOST.
10% off 500w = 450w, so if you're using 431w I would strongly recommend getting a more powerful PSU - or plug the internal drives into a seperate much smaller PSU.

Nah, this will be fine.

#11 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 28 December 2012 - 01:23

Strange, it's not what I got.

Oh well, either way, it seems my 500W will do :)

Cheers for the help!


PSU lose efficiency over time. Your PSU is probably not even able to provide 500W peak if it is old. At 431W load you are really border line if the PSU is cheap and old.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!