Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#31 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 29 December 2012 - 15:46

I wouldn't want to take a guess either, doing a search for "6.3v 1500uf" on that site brings up some caps but they don't look like the ones on your card, so not sure if the same with different design or completely different

Best waiting for someone who knows about electronics

I posted on a forum for electricians, thinking well, electricity, components, it's all the same :D But they ridiculed me lol...


#32 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 29 December 2012 - 15:48

I posted on a forum for electricians, thinking well, electricity, components, it's all the same :D But they ridiculed me lol...


lol, I edited my post with this from ebay
http://www.ebay.co.u...cat=0&_from=R40

They look a closer match but again wouldn't want to guess, the wrong one could finish the card off completely

#33 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 29 December 2012 - 15:51

^ All that matters is the specs -- picofarads and voltage -- if they match exactly, it's OK.

Exact looks don't count.

There is going to be some variation between electronics manufacturers.

#34 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 29 December 2012 - 15:53

^ All that matters is the specs -- picofarads and voltage -- if they match exactly, it's OK.

Exact looks don't count.


Tell that to the book :p

#35 pack34

pack34

    Professional Electron Wrangler

  • Joined: 04-July 11

Posted 29 December 2012 - 16:02

Check digikey, match up the farad rating and be sure that it's voltage rating is equal or higher and,if possible, look for a low ESR one. The spacing looks cramped so be sure to check the data sheet to be sure it'll fit in the existing footprint.

#36 XerXis

XerXis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-February 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 29 December 2012 - 16:03

Also make sure you put them in the right way. There is a long leg and a short leg, the long leg is the positive side. Putting them in the wrong way will break them and possibly other components :)

You should look for a through hole electrolytic (so non ceramic) capacitor of the correct capacitance (measured in Fahrads). That's about all, doesn't really matter what it looks like :)

#37 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 29 December 2012 - 16:05

Ah, thanks for all the help, guys! :)

Also, Detection, they're now being friendlier.

#38 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 29 December 2012 - 16:10

Ah, thanks for all the help, guys! :)

Also, Detection, they're now being friendlier.


Ah good, lol, there are always the know-it-all trolls in every forum who greet new members with a baseball bat :)

Looks like with a mixture of advice from here and there you should be good to go then

#39 XerXis

XerXis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-February 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 29 December 2012 - 16:10

Ah, thanks for all the help, guys! :)

Also, Detection, they're now being friendlier.


to be fair, you did ask on the wrong forum ;) I have a master in electronics, if you have any questions, I'll be glad to answer them

#40 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 29 December 2012 - 16:39

to be fair, you did ask on the wrong forum ;) I have a master in electronics, if you have any questions, I'll be glad to answer them

That would be great :)

Which would you go for as a replacement? They're all radial, and all have a ±20% tolerance:
  • £0.33, 10x20 mm, 0.6 mm lead diameter, 5 mm lead pitch, 5000h lifetime, 1220 mA ripple current, 4 μA leakage current
  • £0.40, 8x20 mm, 0.6 mm lead diameter, 3.5 mm lead pitch, 1220mA ripple current
  • £0.54, 10x20 mm, 0.6 mm lead diameter, 5 mm lead pitch, 3000h lifetime, 1220 mA ripple current, 3 μA leakage current
  • £0.57, 12.5x15 mm, 0.6 mm lead diameter, 5 mm lead pitch, 5000h lifetime, 1205 mA ripple current, 3 μA leakage current
  • £0.58, 10x20 mm, 0.6 mm lead diameter, 5 mm lead pitch, 5000h lifetime, 2180 mA ripple current
  • £0.60, 10x16 mm, 0.6 mm lead diameter, 5 mm lead pitch, 4000h lifetime, 2140 mA ripple current


#41 pack34

pack34

    Professional Electron Wrangler

  • Joined: 04-July 11

Posted 29 December 2012 - 16:41

That would be great :)

Which would you go for as a replacement? They're all radial, and all have a ±20% tolerance:

  • £0.33, 10x20 mm, 0.6 mm lead diameter, 5 mm lead pitch, 4 μA leakage current, 5000h lifetime, 1220 mA ripple current
  • £0.40, 8x20 mm, 0.6 mm lead diameter, 3.5 mm lead pitch, 1220mA ripple current
  • £0.54, 10x20 mm, 0.6 mm lead diameter, 5 mm lead pitch, 3 μA leakage current, 3000h lifetime, 1220 mA ripple current
  • £0.57, 12.5x15 mm, 0.6 mm lead diameter, 5 mm lead pitch, 3 μA leakage current, 5000h lifetime, 1205 mA ripple current
  • £0.58, 10x20 mm, 0.6 mm lead diameter, 5 mm lead pitch, 5000h lifetime, 2180 mA ripple current
  • £0.60, 10x16 mm, 0.6 mm lead diameter, 5 mm lead pitch, 4000h lifetime, 2140 mA ripple current



Have you measured the existing cap?

#42 XerXis

XerXis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-February 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 29 December 2012 - 17:04

measure the distance between the pins on the old cap, that is the lead pitch. It should be the same if you want the cap to fit. The other specs won't really matter for this case.

Well, the diameter of the cap itself would of course ;)

#43 MikeChipshop

MikeChipshop

    Miniman

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-October 06
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Win 8, Win 7, Vista, OSX, iOS, Android, WP8 and various Linux distro's
  • Phone: HTC 8X / Nexus 5

Posted 29 December 2012 - 17:16

Desolder and take out the popped one and take it down to an electronics shop. The good ol' fashion way ;)

#44 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 29 December 2012 - 17:26

Desolder and take out the popped one and take it down to an electronics shop. The good ol' fashion way ;)

Nearest one is 24 miles away and they shut at 16:30 each day, which is daft for a customer that works full-time.

We'll see what we can do :)

#45 MikeChipshop

MikeChipshop

    Miniman

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-October 06
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Win 8, Win 7, Vista, OSX, iOS, Android, WP8 and various Linux distro's
  • Phone: HTC 8X / Nexus 5

Posted 29 December 2012 - 17:36

Nearest one is 24 miles away and they shut at 16:30 each day, which is daft for a customer that works full-time.

We'll see what we can do :)


Ah! Scrap that idea then.
You're in the some predicament as me where any sort of decent shop is to far to get to easily, for some reason i always assume everyone lives on a busy shopping street :p



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!