Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 Falls Behind Even the Maligned Vista

windows 8 vista

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
218 replies to this topic

#31 +LightEco

LightEco

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,561 posts
  • Joined: 17-November 06
  • Location: San Francisco, CA
  • OS: Win 8

Posted 29 December 2012 - 00:24

Personally, I hit WinKey, type what I want and get what I want.

WinKey, type DNS, hit enter, I get a DNS console.
WinKey, type powershell ise, hit enter, I get a Powershell ISE.
WinKey, type steam, hit enter and I get my games.

It's fantastic.

Never before has Windows listened to me.

How people cannot want this? I don't know.


The issue is that this was the same in 7, better in fact. In 7 you only had to type "powershell" and it would show PowerShell AND the ise, in 8, you must fully type "powershell ise" perfectly for it to be even an option. On top of that, in 7, the ise link was the actual program, in 8 its actually a PowerShell script that launches the ise, increasing startup time (not by much, but its noticeable).

Another fun example is Windows Remote Assistance. I use this a lot with my parents and in 7, I simply had them type "remote assistance" and it would show up as "Windows Remote Assistance", in 8, you can still type that, but now its hidden under "settings" (even though its technically an app) and its called "Invite someone you know to connect to your PC and help you, or help someone else". How does that make any sense?

I just don't understand how the awesome search in 7 is now terrible in 8. Example - 7 - start + "power options" + enter = Power Options vs 8 - start + "power options" + enter = nothing, I have to add two down keys and then hit enter now. Its annoying.

I'm all for progressing Windows to fit the new era of computing, but not when it comes with the price of a loss of functionality and ease of use.


#32 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 29 December 2012 - 00:25

I keep 8 in VMWare to keep up with what is new for the OS etc, but the times I do boot it, I realise I do not miss it one bit for my main OS

#33 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 21,708 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 29 December 2012 - 00:27

Yes, sure, those involved in the development will surely have the courage of their convictions, but you can't seriously offer that up as proof of anything.


Well if you actually used it, you would see that not only does the start screen work better than the start menu. it actually works better with a mouse than with touch.

And since I use Win8 regularly and I've have tried it on touch devices, and have one available to me pretty much every day. and from reading your previous posts, you have never used win8, you have barely seen screenshots of it, most of your win8 claims are outright wrong.

The point however is that the UI was designed for both touch and mouse and works great on both.

HEck it's funny seeing self proclaimed power users saying it's unusable for power users, when it's power users who probably can make the most out of the start screen as a more powerful and faster and more efficient launcher. But that would require actually trying it and using it and admitting that they where wrong, something these people aren't very good at, especially the admitting they're wrong part.

#34 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,403 posts
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Xubuntu 14.04.1 / Server 2012 R2 / Ubuntu Server 14.04.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 29 December 2012 - 00:28

In other words, just like Vista and 7.


No, this version actually works and fetches what, not spend random amounts of time doing FA then return either the wrong thing or random library files.

#35 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 21,708 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 29 December 2012 - 00:29

The issue is that this was the same in 7, better in fact. In 7 you only had to type "powershell" and it would show PowerShell AND the ise, in 8, you must fully type "powershell ise" perfectly for it to be even an option.


And this is another example of someone who hasn't used 8, and comes with wild and outright wrong claims. another one of the popular win 8 myths. this one keeps being repetaed all over in various forms. and always completely wrong.

#36 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 29 December 2012 - 00:30

Touch & Mouse are pretty much the same thing in the Metro UI, except for the swipe from the side actions, what you do with the mouse, you would do with your finger, difference is, with the mouse, you don't need to move your arm / hand anywhere near as much

#37 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 21,708 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 29 December 2012 - 00:33

Another fun example is Windows Remote Assistance. I use this a lot with my parents and in 7, I simply had them type "remote assistance" and it would show up as "Windows Remote Assistance", in 8, you can still type that, but now its hidden under "settings" (even though its technically an app) and its called "Invite someone you know to connect to your PC and help you, or help someone else". How does that make any sense?


Think abotu it from your parents POV, which ones makes more sense, Remote assistance that could mean anything, in fact it sounds more like you are connecting to someone else, or the actual text that says you are inviting someone to help you.

And typing both remote, invite and any number of variations will give you the "invite someone..." option in the search list, so...

Touch & Mouse are pretty much the same thing in the Metro UI, except for the swipe from the side actions, what you do with the mouse, you would do with your finger, difference is, with the mouse, you don't need to move your arm / hand anywhere near as much


Right clicking is a lot better than the hold function with touch though. organizing is also a lot easier with mouse.

#38 +LightEco

LightEco

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,561 posts
  • Joined: 17-November 06
  • Location: San Francisco, CA
  • OS: Win 8

Posted 29 December 2012 - 00:34

And this is another example of someone who hasn't used 8, and comes with wild and outright wrong claims. another one of the popular win 8 myths. this one keeps being repetaed all over in various forms. and always completely wrong.


Ya, I haven't used 8 at all. I've been running on all my computers since the CP. Even at work. :rolleyes:

I just tested my "outright wrong claim" too. Typing just "powershell" in start does not show the ISE. I have to type "powershell ise" for it to show up as a link to a powershell script that launches the ISE.

#39 linsook

linsook

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,638 posts
  • Joined: 20-August 01

Posted 29 December 2012 - 00:38

Ya, I haven't used 8 at all. I've been running on all my computers since the CP. Even at work. :rolleyes:

I just tested my "outright wrong claim" too. Typing just "powershell" in start does not show the ISE. I have to type "powershell ise" for it to show up as a link to a powershell script that launches the ISE.


didn't even press 'w' yet.. nvm i see what you mean now.

Posted Image

#40 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Banned

  • 3,758 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 12

Posted 29 December 2012 - 00:38

No, this version actually works and fetches what, not spend random amounts of time doing FA then return either the wrong thing or random library files.


No, what you described is how Windows 7 search function works, and as LightEco has mentioned it doesn't even work as well in 8.

#41 trek

trek

    7 / X

  • 2,926 posts
  • Joined: 11-August 02
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posted 29 December 2012 - 00:38

Think abotu it from your parents POV, which ones makes more sense, Remote assistance that could mean anything, in fact it sounds more like you are connecting to someone else, or the actual text that says you are inviting someone to help you.

And typing both remote, invite and any number of variations will give you the "invite someone..." option in the search list, so...


When they have the Son on the phone and he says "open Remote Assistance", the non-retard would expect to click on something that says "Remote Assistance" and not some long rambling sentence.

Also, nice selective quote. What about his point on the Power Options applet?

#42 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • 7,330 posts
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 29 December 2012 - 00:41

I just tested my "outright wrong claim" too. Typing just "powershell" in start does not show the ISE. I have to type "powershell ise" for it to show up as a link to a powershell script that launches the ISE.


That's because it isn't a shortcut, pin powershell ISE to your startmenu, then you can just do Winkey and type ISE and enter

didn't even press 'w' yet.



he's talking about powershell ISE not just powershell

#43 +LightEco

LightEco

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,561 posts
  • Joined: 17-November 06
  • Location: San Francisco, CA
  • OS: Win 8

Posted 29 December 2012 - 00:41

didn't even press 'w' yet.


Thanks, just about to post that myself. As you can clearly see only PowerShell is shown, the PowerShell ISE is not an option. You need to fully type "powershell ise" for it to show that link.

That's because it isn't a shortcut, pin powershell ISE to your startmenu, then you can just do Winkey and type ISE and enter


You are correct, but why in 7 did it work just fine without needing to be pinned? Why the loss of functionality? I only nag on this because I use the ISE daily at work (I've since pinned it to my taskbar, but its the perfect example of a literal harder to use scenario)

#44 trek

trek

    7 / X

  • 2,926 posts
  • Joined: 11-August 02
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posted 29 December 2012 - 00:42

Thanks, just about to post that myself. As you can clearly see only PowerShell is shown, the PowerShell ISE is not an option. You need to fully type "powershell ise" for it to show that link.


Does it show Powershell ISE by typing only 'ise' like it does in 7?

#45 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • 7,330 posts
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 29 December 2012 - 00:43

Also, nice selective quote. What about his point on the Power Options applet?


Right click start button, left click power options