Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
-Alex-

win7 How to remove System Volume Information?

5 posts in this topic

I have 2 partitions on my HDD, one is S: and System Protection > System Restore is off for that drive.

In my VisualSVN browser, System Volume Information shows as a repository. I am unable to delete the folder normally. I could try removing permissions... but how can I prevent this folder from being made again? It's my understanding that it's for System Restore.

post-176093-0-60647000-1356884256.png

post-176093-0-52607200-1356884331.png

I've of course tried clicking Delete.

Thanks!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

you cant remove the file, it's created by windows each time you start the computer and an internal drive is detected.

if it's using up space, enable system restore on the drive, then disable it or delete the contents, this should wipe any restore points on the drive.

the folder should not be visable in normal usage anyway, and is locked by windows.

if you suspect that the folder is taking up space, use Spacesniffer to scan the drive and see if the folder is taking up space.

http://www.uderzo.it/main_products/space_sniffer/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can you use the svn:ignore property to hide the folder? Also, moving your SVN root directory to another folder on that drive should work too. Like roguekiller23231 said, even if you turn off System Restore on your SVN drive and boot into Ubuntu to delete the folder, Windows will regenerate it every time the drive is mounted (which is normally at boot if this is an internal disk).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

if you open your hdd using linux you can easily delete that folder, windows will just recreate in the next opportunity..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There's more to the System Volume Information folder than just system restore points - it also contains the distributed link tracking database (tracking links and fixing them if you move stuff around you've linked elsewhere), volume shadow copy snapshot metadata, and any content indexer database information you may have on your system. Raymond Chen put a little blurb up about it here back in the longhorn days:

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/oldnewthing/archive/2003/11/20/55764.aspx

So, if you delete it, it's going to be recreated when you restart regardless. If you disable VSS, System Restore, the DLTC service, and any indexers, you *might* not see it recreated, but then again, my VM configured this way just did so, so there's may be more in there than even those.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.