Jump to content



Photo

Wifi Troubles


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#31 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 31 December 2012 - 20:26

Just went to try connect again to try the telnet thing and i have address of 192.168.1.3 and am writing this from her connection :)

very strange indeed, she isnt home and nothing is changed AFAIK

Working now anyway :D

EDIT:
I am logged into webGUI is there anything i can do from here to help me if this happens again? Can I change DHCP settings or something?


Strange indeed, maybe the threat of telnet scared it into submission ;)


If the router has the option, you could set a scheduled reboot for say 4am each night or whenever you won't be online

If the router bugs out like that again, and a reboot fixes it, that might keep you going until shes home


#32 OP Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia

Posted 31 December 2012 - 21:28

Strange indeed, maybe the threat of telnet scared it into submission ;)


If the router has the option, you could set a scheduled reboot for say 4am each night or whenever you won't be online

If the router bugs out like that again, and a reboot fixes it, that might keep you going until shes home

thanks for that, looking at the admin logs, the router rebooted 8 minutes before I got connected. Somehow it rebooted itself/power cut and thats what fixed the issue.

I'll have a look for that option but I don't know if it will have it. Its an ISP provided Huwaei router/modem

#33 dvb2000

dvb2000

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-November 07

Posted 31 December 2012 - 21:46

she isn't at home justnow so I cant reset the router either.


if she's gone out/away she's probably turned her modem/router off.

#34 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 31 December 2012 - 21:52

thanks for that, looking at the admin logs, the router rebooted 8 minutes before I got connected. Somehow it rebooted itself/power cut and thats what fixed the issue.

I'll have a look for that option but I don't know if it will have it. Its an ISP provided Huwaei router/modem


Fingers crossed it will stay online for a couple of days then

Try Googling the model number if you have it, you might get a bit more info from that

#35 OP Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia

Posted 02 January 2013 - 12:27

if she's gone out/away she's probably turned her modem/router off.

if it were off I wouldnt pick up any signal at all xD
anyway, still working now :)