Jump to content



Photo

Show us your Servers! - 2013 Edition

servers

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
23 replies to this topic

#16 MikeFu84

MikeFu84

    m0o!

  • Joined: 09-December 03
  • Location: Fredericton, NB
  • OS: Windows 8 x64 Pro
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (Kangakat 6.0, KK 4.4.2)

Posted 04 July 2013 - 13:03

Server is on the bottom, 1U Dell Poweredge 860.

 

Server Specs

Intel Pentium D 2.8GHz

2GB DDR2 RAM

320GB HDD (OS Install)

2TB HDD (File Storage)

Details: http://www.dell.com/...860_spec_ap.pdf

 

I have a Raid adapter but not using it currently as I am awaiting a SATA power splitter to install a 3rd drive. Also need to purchase another 2TB to stripe with the other. 3rd drive will be a 80GB SSD for the OS install. Main use is a file server with a little Minecraft on the side. Plan to upgrade to 4 or 8GB RAM to help with Minecraft slots.

Attached Images

  • 1056832_10151492546122727_870276677_o.jpg



#17 Skiver

Skiver

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 10-October 05
  • Location: UK, Reading

Posted 04 July 2013 - 13:05

We just got 5 new blades in (17 across 2 enclosures), I might see if I can sneak in and get a sneaky photo sometime soon!



#18 SirEvan

SirEvan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-April 03
  • Location: Santa Clara, CA
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One (AT&T)

Posted 09 July 2013 - 20:44

server.jpg

megaraid.JPG

megaraid2.JPG

 

 

Case:Lian Li PC-A77FB

MB: Asrock Z75 Pro 3

Processor: Intel Xeon E3-1230 v2

RAM: 32GB DDR3 1600mhz

Cages: Supermicro CSE-M35T-1B 5-in-3 hotswap cages

Controller: LSI 9260-8i w/ BBU

Expander: Intel 24port RES2SV240

OS: Windows Server 2012 x64 w/ Hyper-V role

Drives:

  • 4x Samsung HD204UI 2TB drives RAID-10
  • 2x WD WD30EFRX 3TB drives RAID-1
  • 5x Seagate ST3000DM001 drives RAID-5

 

 

 

 

 



#19 RottGutt

RottGutt

    I'm a geek. Deal with it.

  • Joined: 21-November 01
  • Location: Colorado
  • OS: OS X 10.9.3/10.10, iOS 7, DSM 5.0

Posted 09 July 2013 - 20:57

Synology DS212+ NAS (2x 1TB drives in Synology SHR format)

D-Link DGS-1024D Gigabit 24-port Switch

APC Smart-UPS 700 Series

Entire house wired with CAT5e

 

316vq8h.jpg



#20 RevitXman

RevitXman

    The "tit" mouse

  • Joined: 18-August 05
  • Location: Somewhere in Maryland
  • OS: Windows 7, CentOS 6.4, Windows 8.1, OSX10.9, Server 2008-2012R2

Posted 14 October 2013 - 12:40

HP DL 180 G6

HP Smart Switch with 10Gbp
2x Quad Xeon L5520 @ 2.27 (16 cores)
48GB DDR3
2x 120 SSD
10TB Storage
Server 2012 R2

 

 

5UVFoNE.jpg

 

9Yw2ZRB.png

 

Running Server 2008R2 for Test/oldSSH

Nessus Security Scanner, Passive Vulnerability Scanner and Security Center running on CentOS

Server 2012, running a RemoteApp Server.



#21 The_Observer

The_Observer

    Apples, Bananas, Rhinoceros!

  • Joined: 12-April 05
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone5s

Posted 22 October 2013 - 03:12

HP DL 180 G6

HP Smart Switch with 10Gbp
2x Quad Xeon L5520 @ 2.27 (16 cores)
48GB DDR3
2x 120 SSD
10TB Storage
Server 2012 R2

 

 

5UVFoNE.jpg

 

9Yw2ZRB.png

 

Running Server 2008R2 for Test/oldSSH

Nessus Security Scanner, Passive Vulnerability Scanner and Security Center running on CentOS

Server 2012, running a RemoteApp Server.

 

 

Question about your SSD drives, are you running your VMs from there and how are they doing. Looking at doing the same but wondering about the type of SSD drive i should be look at.



#22 RevitXman

RevitXman

    The "tit" mouse

  • Joined: 18-August 05
  • Location: Somewhere in Maryland
  • OS: Windows 7, CentOS 6.4, Windows 8.1, OSX10.9, Server 2008-2012R2

Posted 22 October 2013 - 12:51

Question about your SSD drives, are you running your VMs from there and how are they doing. Looking at doing the same but wondering about the type of SSD drive i should be look at.

 

Right now I'm using them for the OS drive, 2x Samsung 840s. As I test the Remote VM stuff I'll end up buying beefier SSDs for my VMs, but for now they are sitting on 2x 500GB WD SAS drives..



#23 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Emterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520 Black

Posted 30 November 2013 - 17:46

YoCKPB3.jpg

2*dl380 g5

Each has 48gb ram, 1*Xeon 5450 quad 3ghz

Nics

Teamed server van (HP NC380T)
Teamed client van (internal nics)
External network vlan for tmg cluster (low profile realtek DP nice port 1)
Remote support vlan for cleaning infected PCs (port 2)
Ilo

= 7 Ethernet cables

quad ddr infiniband (20GB) teamed for staring iscsi

Storage is a MSA 60 connected to a P800, 8TB in RAID6 for movies etc ant 4TB RAID5 for backups

Running server 2012 R2 with just under 40vms between the two. Using 1 480gb ssd and 1 250gb ssd thanks to Data deduplication there is still room for another 40 VMs

#24 AJerman

AJerman

    Boomer Sooner!

  • Joined: 24-July 02
  • Location: Raleigh, NC
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 30 November 2013 - 18:40

Too bad I can't take pictures at work. I could show you some crazy servers. I don't even have a home server though. No need.