Jump to content



Photo

Good uTorrent alternative?


  • Please log in to reply
103 replies to this topic

#16 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 90
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 05 January 2013 - 13:02

And if its a bug - have you reported the details to them so they can work on it? Again these details come into play when you report it.

If it was a "bug" you would think there would be some info about it? I find nothing recent when searching for this topic, other then your threads here on neowin about it.

And older threads -- where guess what, same thing they ask for DETAILS on the problem so that they can help work it out for the poster.


#17 +Lovell

Lovell

    ,l,(-.-),l,

  • Joined: 14-November 03
  • Location: Great Britain

Posted 05 January 2013 - 13:05

uTorrent is currently, as we speak, uploading at 980 KB/s - I've set a hard limit of 32 KB/s -_- And do not say I have a setting wrong, I've been working on fixing this for months. It's a bug. I know uTorrent's settings inside and out.


Have you tried setting it from the bottom right by right clicking etc. does it show the limit? theres around 4 settings for upload, although if you're uploading at 1mbs you must have a lot of leechers?

#18 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

    Resident Idealist

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 24-August 05
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Arch Linux / Win 7
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 05 January 2013 - 13:05

Big list of μTorrent alternatives.

I use transmission myself and I like it, there is a Windows port apparently too, so that might be worth a shot. I've used Deluge on Windows in the past and that's pretty good too. Vuze is too bloated for my liking (although I haven't used it for a few years so it might have improved).

#19 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 05 January 2013 - 13:27

If it's a bug it should be gone if you cleaned every trace of uTorrent and reinstalled.

personally I only run utorrent for quick downloads on my laptop, and I'm looking for an alternative not because of issues but because of the horrible new ad interface. for my actual downloads I run Azureus/Vuze since it offers more control and extension I use for sorting and managing.

#20 HoochieMamma

HoochieMamma

    Professional Hoochie™

  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Melbourne, AU
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 05 January 2013 - 13:34

You can go into the advanced options and disable the ad banner, shouldn't be there to begin with but yeah.

#21 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 05 January 2013 - 13:34

Deluge is best alternative.
Never heard of this bug and not getting into the argument.

#22 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 90
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 05 January 2013 - 13:39

'but because of the horrible new ad interface."

You can disable all the ad stuff, pretty easy...

Turn all these settings to false:
offers.left_rail_offer_enabled/left_rail_offer
gui.show_plus_upsell
offers.sponsored_torrent_offer_enabled/sponsored_torrent_offer_enabled
bt.enable_pulse
gui.show_notorrents_node
offers.content_offer_autoexec

#23 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 05 January 2013 - 13:39

Deluge is best alternative.
Never heard of this bug and not getting into the argument.


that's the one that insists on using your computers locale setting for the language instead of the language setting or a language setting of it's own, and changing it's is a total PITA, isn't it... no thanks.

#24 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

    Resident Idealist

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 24-August 05
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Arch Linux / Win 7
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 05 January 2013 - 13:53

that's the one that insists on using your computers locale setting for the language instead of the language setting or a language setting of it's own, and changing it's is a total PITA, isn't it... no thanks.


Out of curiousity, why would you want to run it in a different language than the one used by your OS?

#25 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 05 January 2013 - 13:59

You have the capacity for 980KB/s and you only share 32KB/s, that's nice of you.

#26 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 05 January 2013 - 14:05

Out of curiousity, why would you want to run it in a different language than the one used by your OS?


My OS is English, my locale settings are Nrowegian, cause you know, I'm in Norway, and American and British, measure thing in weird ways and have crazy punctuation on numbers and stuff.

Deluge sets the language based on the type of number setting you use, NOT the language setting, hence why I complained it used the locale setting and NOT the language setting.

#27 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

    Resident Idealist

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 24-August 05
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Arch Linux / Win 7
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 05 January 2013 - 14:13

Ah okay. Gotcha :)

#28 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 05 January 2013 - 14:27

You have the capacity for 980KB/s and you only share 32KB/s, that's nice of you.

I have a 250 GB bandwidth cap per month (that's dl and ul combined), and I'm not the only one that uses the connection. But thanks for pre-judging.

#29 ahhell

ahhell

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-June 03
  • Location: Winnipeg - coldest place on Earth - yeah

Posted 05 January 2013 - 14:30

Just go back to an old version of utorrent ( < ver. 3). Their new stuff is bloated ****.

#30 medhunter

medhunter

    Muslim Emergency physician

  • Joined: 19-June 11
  • Location: Egypt
  • OS: Win 7 SP1 Home Premium , Ubuntu 12.04 LTS, Xubuntu 13.04
  • Phone: Sony Sola

Posted 05 January 2013 - 14:33

I pretty much love Ktorrent on linux and sometimes Vuze.
Didn't really like transmission and deluge