Jump to content



Photo

PC crashes while rendering in 3D

crash pc computer render rendering

  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#31 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 07 January 2013 - 17:40

Or you coul do what I suggested earlier. simply try the rendering with one memory stick at a time, it'll BSOD on one of them.


#32 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 07 January 2013 - 17:45

Or you coul do what I suggested earlier. simply try the rendering with one memory stick at a time, it'll BSOD on one of them.

wouldn't just doing memtest be faster than that though?

#33 x-byte

x-byte

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-April 02

Posted 07 January 2013 - 17:50

Stop 0×00000050: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA – This Windows stop error indicates that information that the operating system was looking for was not found in memory (ram). This occurs when the system looks for information in the ram that doesnt exist. This is usually caused by defective RAM (once again, including Ram on your motherboard, L2 cache and video card ram).

Get your ram testing on ;)

It also can be a kernel level driver that causes it. Antivirus, display adapter drivers, chipset etc. Updated the drivers and check again.

#34 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 07 January 2013 - 18:13

wouldn't just doing memtest be faster than that though?


Maybe, maybe not, if it finds it on the first pass yes, which it should since it seems it's a major fault. but he seems to have issues running memtest-. also windows 7 at least have a memtest fucntion built into the boot menu.

#35 OP Redix

Redix

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-January 13

Posted 07 January 2013 - 19:20

Your ram is most likely starting to die. If you have no CD, test it from inside windows. http://hcidesign.com/memtest/


I tried it and after an hour it found nothing.

I'll try rendering with one memory stick. I think this could be faster than setting up that usb drive for booting.

#36 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12
  • Location: 'Murica
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X
  • Phone: Motorola Moto G

Posted 07 January 2013 - 19:26

I tried it and after an hour it found nothing.

I'll try rendering with one memory stick. I think this could be faster than setting up that usb drive for booting.


Alright. Let me know what the results are. :)

#37 OP Redix

Redix

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-January 13

Posted 07 January 2013 - 21:23

So let me tell you how my adventure with the RAM went. After taking both cards out of their slots, it took me maybe 10mins to figure out how to properly put one back. The whole thing with those pins confused me, but I got it eventually.

FYI I have an older 2gb RAM card and a newer one. I'm gonna call them Old One and New One for clarity's sake :)

At first I put in the Old One. Tried rendering on normal quality - success. Tried rendering on good quality - the program itself "is not responding" and I had to close it. No BSOD. Then I put in the New One. Tried rendering on good quality (because normal is quite fast and maybe not as intensive) - the speed of the rendering was significantly slower, so after it reached 10% I stopped rendering because I got anxious. No BSOD. Then I put both cards in and tried rendering again on good quality. After the initial pixelated render-draft or whatever you call that, the whole computer froze (/freezed?) and I had to press the reset button. Still no BSOD.

I'm not quite sure what these results mean. Maybe my RAM is fine? Maybe I need to run the memtest?

#38 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 07 January 2013 - 21:26

^that could mean a few things

I'd definitely get memtest on your usb and run that though to get some clear results on your ram sticks

#39 OP Redix

Redix

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-January 13

Posted 09 January 2013 - 16:24

I tried booting memtest from usb today. Got this screen after a few button presses and don't know what to do. What am I doing wrong?

Attached Images

  • IMAG0070.jpg