Jump to content



Photo

Adobe releases CS2 suite for free download

adobe cs2 free download

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
67 replies to this topic

#1 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • 22,445 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.9.2
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 07 January 2013 - 14:47

Grab Photoshop and CS2 For Absolutely Free, Right Now

Adobe’s giving us all a late Christmas present. You can grab yourself a free, legitimate copy of Photoshop and the rest of the Creative Suite 2, right now, direct from Adobe. No catch.

Well, unless you think having an Adobe account is a catch. Anyway, apparently Adobe’s tired of keeping the activation servers running to support legitimate installs of the 10-year-old CS2, so it’s decided to just give it away. Sounds great to me.


Handy if all you need is a quick image editor, Photoshop CS2 will still do all the basic things, just not the new fancy smart ‘content aware‘ stuff. Free’s free, so get over to Adobe.com and get downloading. [Adobe via Twitter]

Source: Gizmodo UK



Moderator edit: Adobe has not released CS2 for free.

http://forums.adobe....message/4974662

Edited by lcg, 08 January 2013 - 10:15.



#2 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Random Oracle

  • 5,172 posts
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Krikkit
  • OS: VTOS 6.1.7601 x64

Posted 07 January 2013 - 14:50

Who woulda thunk... :dontgetit:
What next? Oracle giving Enterprise Edition away?

#3 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • 15,469 posts
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Newark, Ohio
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928

Posted 07 January 2013 - 14:51

good to know, i can pass this along to a few people i know that cannot afford to buy a copy.

#4 ]SK[

]SK[

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,419 posts
  • Joined: 12-October 04
  • Location: Nottingham, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 07 January 2013 - 14:52

English URL : http://www.adobe.com...e=cs2_downloads

#5 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • 5,154 posts
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 07 January 2013 - 14:55

Are they really giving it so that you can do commercial work with it ?

I curently own Xara cause Photoshop and Illustrator are way too expensive for my need but i would not say no to completly free for comercial use CS2. It's oudated but far enough good for me.

#6 ShawnB

ShawnB

    Neowinian

  • 254 posts
  • Joined: 27-November 01
  • Location: North Attleboro, MA

Posted 07 January 2013 - 14:58

This won't work on newer Intel-based Macs, right?

#7 +Chicane-UK

Chicane-UK

    Neowinian Senior

  • 9,562 posts
  • Joined: 02-November 01
  • Location: The UK!
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: HTC Mozart

Posted 07 January 2013 - 14:58

That's.... incredible! Thanks Adobe!

#8 Lee G.

Lee G.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 10,392 posts
  • Joined: 28-October 04
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 07 January 2013 - 14:59

Very cool. Thanks for the heads up!

#9 Ryoken

Ryoken

    The Other Other White Meat

  • 2,299 posts
  • Joined: 10-September 09
  • Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7 x64, MacOS
  • Phone: iPhone 4S, Nexus 7, iPad Mini

Posted 07 January 2013 - 15:00

This is awesome of them. Even without Content Aware from CS3, CS2 is an amazing image editor.

#10 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 11,881 posts
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 07 January 2013 - 15:01

this is really neat. i wont use it, but i passed it along to my wife.

Thanks!

#11 vetDirtyLarry

DirtyLarry

    ®®\vers.12.vis.13.u.03.al\DL

  • 16,611 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: dirty jersey
  • OS: Win 8 | OS X 10.8.5 | Android 4.2.2
  • Phone: Galaxy S4

Posted 07 January 2013 - 15:03

This won't work on newer Intel-based Macs, right?

Hmmm, I always thought it used Rosetta to run. I am trying to think back, and pretty sure I have run CS2 on my older iMac, which is an intel based computer.

#12 Dane

Dane

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,575 posts
  • Joined: 07-May 03
  • Location: PA, USA

Posted 07 January 2013 - 15:05

If I just signed up do I need to download all of those now to keep them for free? Or will they always be there?

#13 pinTero

pinTero

    quelqu'un

  • 73 posts
  • Joined: 21-December 01

Posted 07 January 2013 - 15:08

Holy Crap! :woot: Just registered an Adobe account.. and it's all there for free.
Creative Suite means, there's also Acrobat pro 8, Audition 3.0, Premiere Pro 2 and so on.. amazing stuff!

#14 Ryoken

Ryoken

    The Other Other White Meat

  • 2,299 posts
  • Joined: 10-September 09
  • Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7 x64, MacOS
  • Phone: iPhone 4S, Nexus 7, iPad Mini

Posted 07 January 2013 - 15:09

Hmmm, I always thought it used Rosetta to run. I am trying to think back, and pretty sure I have run CS2 on my older iMac, which is an intel based computer.

It is PPC based, so it needs Rosetta to run.

#15 ACTIONpack

ACTIONpack

    Graphic Designer

  • 2,402 posts
  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: Lawrenceville, GA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: HTC Windows 8X

Posted 07 January 2013 - 15:09

I don't see what's the big deal about software from April 2005. Just wish Adobe didn't charge $50 a month for all their software a month. It's over price.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!