Jump to content



Photo

pc on 24/7


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#31 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 11 January 2013 - 18:02

Yeh the gas meters are slow and you have to wait to press the "A" button like its THAT important. As for them being outside by law, mines indoors but then im in a converted house and i have the upstairs and neighbor downstairs.


The last flat I lived in was a house converted into my landlords shop downstairs and my flat upstairs which basically consisted of the 2 upstairs bedrooms made into 1 bedroom and 1 living room and an extension downstairs for the bathroom and kitchen, but the tight-ass wouldn't move the meters so I had to get meter readings to pay my bills from over the counter in his shop lol


#32 Xoligy

Xoligy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-May 10

Posted 11 January 2013 - 18:14

The last flat I lived in was a house converted into my landlords shop downstairs and my flat upstairs which basically consisted of the 2 upstairs bedrooms made into 1 bedroom and 1 living room and an extension downstairs for the bathroom and kitchen, but the tight-ass wouldn't move the meters so I had to get meter readings to pay my bills from over the counter in his shop lol


That would suck but have heard of someone with a similar situation where the guy said if the shop was for let he had no gas.

#33 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 11 January 2013 - 18:22

That would suck but have heard of someone with a similar situation where the guy said if the shop was for let he had no gas.


lol, Ive had friends suddenly without water in their upstairs flat only to find that the guy downstairs went away and turned his water off for the winter so the pipes didn't burst

We were going down into the garden and collecting loads of snow, then melting it in the kettle just so we could flush the toilet lol

#34 ManMountain

ManMountain

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-November 01
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro MC x64
  • Phone: LG Nexus 5

Posted 11 January 2013 - 18:27

I've no qualms running my main PC 24/7, have done for years with no overly large electric bills nor experienced high hardware failure rates.

#35 Salutary7

Salutary7

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-March 12

Posted 11 January 2013 - 18:38

The thing I try to turn off when I'm gone are my Klipsch speakers which are rated at 200 watts total. The amp seems to get rather warm after a few days of being on. Haven't seen any potential for problems with the PC itself being on for long periods.

#36 mattmatik

mattmatik

    formerly soLoredd

  • Joined: 25-November 03
  • Location: California

Posted 11 January 2013 - 18:48

i keep my desktop on 24/7 and have for years with out any issues.


Same. I just have my monitor turn off after 10 min and my HDDs turn off after 5 min.

#37 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 11 January 2013 - 19:19

These meters are crazy - but wouldn't you just put like 200 quid on them and not worry for quite some time?

Guess depends on where your at financially, so these are all in juts rent apt/flats - you don't see these in single family homes?? Do you.

I could see them making great sense in flats/apartments -- especially if there was a bit of turnover in the renters, if people renting the place change out every few months. Never seen anything like it here in the states that is for sure.

#38 Mando

Mando

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-April 02
  • Location: Scotland, Dundee
  • OS: Win 7 Ultimate x64/Pro x64/Home prem x64
  • Phone: Samsung Note ICS

Posted 11 January 2013 - 19:54

Gonna have to get me one of those meters then, I've always just assumed the PC was the biggest drain during the night because I know during the day the whole house uses around £0.30p but with the PC on and using it normally (Yup around 18 hours too :) ) that jumps anywhere between £1.00 to £2.00 per day

We have a key meter for electric and gas, think of it as 'pay as you go' so you put £10 on the key, stick it in the electric meter and it shows £10 credit, every 15-30 mins that credit drops depending on what you use, so I get a fairly accurate idea of how much things cost

Example when we're cooking in an electric oven and hobs, its painful watching the money disappear from the meter


Have you had your key meter checked for the rate its set at, traditionally these were put into premises (previous tenants/owners) that had debts on their accounts, surprisingly a lot are still set at this higher rate.

#39 Xoligy

Xoligy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-May 10

Posted 11 January 2013 - 19:57

These meters are crazy - but wouldn't you just put like 200 quid on them and not worry for quite some time?

Guess depends on where your at financially, so these are all in juts rent apt/flats - you don't see these in single family homes?? Do you.

I could see them making great sense in flats/apartments -- especially if there was a bit of turnover in the renters, if people renting the place change out every few months. Never seen anything like it here in the states that is for sure.


No you can get them in family homes too and you can have them changed but at a cost for labor think its about £50 or so, so you have to make sure you know you can pay the bills and make sure its worth the change. This is something i really have not looked into because i know id mess it up i like prepay even if it is a little more expensive ofc if your in a good job and dont spend there isn't an issue.

#40 Mando

Mando

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-April 02
  • Location: Scotland, Dundee
  • OS: Win 7 Ultimate x64/Pro x64/Home prem x64
  • Phone: Samsung Note ICS

Posted 11 January 2013 - 20:04

No you can get them in family homes too and you can have them changed but at a cost for labor think its about £50 or so, so you have to make sure you know you can pay the bills and make sure its worth the change. This is something i really have not looked into because i know id mess it up i like prepay even if it is a little more expensive ofc if your in a good job and dont spend there isn't an issue.

thing is with accounts though, you can move provider for better rates and say £50 a month max for both utilities would be plenty. I find it easier to have the direct debit n bills coming off my main account which my wages come in, I then transfer the surplus to my "fun account" as im terrible of budgeting anything, only way I manage lol, even now.

I have a few PCs and a couple of tropical aquariums with 800W lighting, filters and heaters running 24/7 ambient temp in apartment approx. 25ish C for livestock.

flat heating on 30mins every hour 24/7 for my reptiles. And lots of tech on lots of hours, leccy oven etc gas CH and water and that's a big 3 bedroomed Apartment with 2 living and using energy.

Id suggest phoning to get your meter checked and reset if its set at a higher rate ;) worth checking

#41 Xoligy

Xoligy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-May 10

Posted 11 January 2013 - 20:11

thing is with accounts though, you can move provider for better rates and say £50 a month max for both utilities would be plenty. I have a few PCs and a couple of tropical aquariums with 800W lighting, filters and heaters running 24/7 ambient temp in apartment approx. 25ish C for livestock.

flat heating on 30mins every hour 24/7 for my reptiles. And lots of tech on lots of hours, leccy oven etc gas CH and water and that's a big 3 bedroomed Apartment with 2 living and using energy.


Ive never really looked into it all because like i said i suck with money plus i can never be bothered with the hasel of changing, plus i like to know exactly where i am with my money everytime i get paid i do my "calculations" for how much gas and electric im adding then other bills and food etc cause i still mess up because something catches my eye and then i buy it lol (always gets me into trouble)

#42 Mando

Mando

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-April 02
  • Location: Scotland, Dundee
  • OS: Win 7 Ultimate x64/Pro x64/Home prem x64
  • Phone: Samsung Note ICS

Posted 11 January 2013 - 20:13

Ive never really looked into it all because like i said i suck with money plus i can never be bothered with the hasel of changing, plus i like to know exactly where i am with my money everytime i get paid i do my "calculations" for how much gas and electric im adding then other bills and food etc cause i still mess up because something catches my eye and then i buy it lol (always gets me into trouble)

sorry was editing my post when you quoted, im exactly the same mate, hence I opened a 2nd bank account with my bank for my "fun money" leaving enough for all my monthly bills in wages account.

#43 +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 11 January 2013 - 20:14

I was surprised to see someone asking this, I have left all my systems on for my entire life, including smartphones and tablets.

#44 Xoligy

Xoligy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-May 10

Posted 11 January 2013 - 20:23

sorry was editing my post when you quoted, im exactly the same mate, hence I opened a 2nd bank account with my bank for my "fun money" leaving enough for all my monthly bills in wages account.


Yes this si something ive just started to do going to transfer bill money(debits) to one account and then have fun money (+ gas and electric) in the other i also need to sort out a savings account somehow lol mind you been readin up on some tips saw one which was putting an extra $1 into an account every week and by end of the year there was over $1,000 anyway off watch a movie, catch all later.

Oh, i already asked british gas and they said i was on the best tarrif at the time becuase i enquired about my bills, also signed a paper for a price fix till end of 2013.

#45 perochan

perochan

    ♫ d(-_-)b ♫

  • Joined: 06-October 02
  • Location: California

Posted 11 January 2013 - 20:28

i dont turn off my mac, only put it in sleep mode when going out or sleep at nite.