Jump to content



Photo

Win7 loses internet but not network


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 SoCalRox

SoCalRox

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 05

Posted 11 January 2013 - 14:09

I have a 3 year old HP laptop. It is running Win 7 Pro. For some reason, using wireless, it is losing the internet connection. Not the TCP/IP connection at home, just the access to the internet. Other machines on the same router get out to the internet fine. I can use RDP to connect to this machine. But it will suddenly not see the internet and I have to turn off, then on, the wireless.

Any thoughts as to why this was happening?


#2 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 12 January 2013 - 03:46

Got any VM connections?

#3 mduren2445

mduren2445

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-March 06

Posted 12 January 2013 - 04:17

run hijackthis, run malwarebytes to see if your internet connecton on this machine has been compromised :o also update wireless drivers

#4 OP SoCalRox

SoCalRox

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 05

Posted 14 January 2013 - 16:01

Everything should be up to date. But, I'll check again, just to be sure. :)

And this is with no VM running. VM doesn't seem to make any difference.

#5 StrikedOut

StrikedOut

    Outside the box

  • Joined: 09-December 08
  • Location: Southampton

Posted 14 January 2013 - 16:19

When you lose connection what do you get in ipconfig? (Start -> Run -> CMD -> Enter. Type ipconfig and press enter) What is your default gateway? Are you able to ping the router when you lose internet connection?

#6 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 14 January 2013 - 16:22

Run an Error check to see if System files are missing.

Check what Services are running, or disabled.

#7 OP SoCalRox

SoCalRox

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 05

Posted 14 January 2013 - 17:14

Striked: GREAT idea- I usually see this when I am rushing out in the morning and find I can't access the machine remotely. I'll check that! As noted, I am able to access things internally- it is getting out to the net that I can't do.

Hum: The internet disappears on its own, sometimes while I'm using it. What is strange is the internal access to the machine and the network is fine- it just loses the access to the outside world.

#8 DaddyRazzy

DaddyRazzy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-April 12
  • Location: Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro WMC x64
  • Phone: IOS 7.0.6 Jailbroken

Posted 14 January 2013 - 17:20

Got any VM connections?

I have a 3 year old HP laptop. It is running Win 7 Pro. For some reason, using wireless, it is losing the internet connection. Not the TCP/IP connection at home, just the access to the internet. Other machines on the same router get out to the internet fine. I can use RDP to connect to this machine. But it will suddenly not see the internet and I have to turn off, then on, the wireless.

Any thoughts as to why this was happening?


Remixedcat, i have the same issue and i have VMware connections... u have a sollution?

#9 OP SoCalRox

SoCalRox

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 05

Posted 14 January 2013 - 17:24

DaddyR- even when no VM is running? Which release of VMWare? Perhaps I misunderstood what Remix meant. I thought he was referring to active VMWare sessions with commections.

#10 DaddyRazzy

DaddyRazzy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-April 12
  • Location: Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro WMC x64
  • Phone: IOS 7.0.6 Jailbroken

Posted 14 January 2013 - 17:27

DaddyR- even when no VM is running? Which release of VMWare? Perhaps I misunderstood what Remix meant. I thought he was referring to active VMWare sessions with commections.


yes there aren't any vm's running, i think remixedcat meant the vm connetions
i have vmware workstation 8.0.5, and all drivers al the latest from oem (DELL)

#11 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 14 January 2013 - 18:05

What happens when you disable the vmadapter???

#12 +Tech Greek

Tech Greek

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-October 08
  • Location: Shreveport, LA

Posted 14 January 2013 - 18:18

I had a similar issue with a bad direct access gpo and another workstation had VMWare that didn't have the GPO issue but had the same internet issues.

Talk about a long night

#13 OP SoCalRox

SoCalRox

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 05

Posted 14 January 2013 - 18:55

I think I'll disable VMWare and see what happens.

#14 +Tech Greek

Tech Greek

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-October 08
  • Location: Shreveport, LA

Posted 14 January 2013 - 19:02

I had to end up deleting the networks out of VMWare not actually the vmware addin on the network adapter

#15 OP SoCalRox

SoCalRox

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 05

Posted 14 January 2013 - 23:33

How do you mean "deleting them out of VMWare"?