Smoothwall Problems

So I wanted to give smoothwall a try. I've been using pfsense for about 2 years now and I love it. But I just thought "hey why not try something different".

I went to go set up smoothwall on my firewall box, went through the setup, installed to a blank formatted hard drive and when my firewall box reboots, "missing boot drive". So I then reformatted it, installed pfsense to the same drive, rebooted and boot, Pfsense boots.

I reinstall smoothwall, reboot, missing boot device again. I take the hard drive out dock it to my desktop and I see all the 4 partitions the installation disc made and all the files. I then burn another disc, on another machine with a freshly downloaded i386 image of smoothwall. Reformat the docked hard drive, put it back in my firewall box, pop the new smoothwall disc in, boot up go thru setup, install to hard drive, and reboot. Oh look missing boot device.

I've done everything to make sure its booting of the hard drive but when it comes to smoothwall it wont, as soon as i put pfsense on that hard drive it will.

Any ideas?

Naa Duro Naa Darao

Does the disc need to load at bootup?

My guess, tho it is only a guess, is, you may have burned the disc too fast, try burning the disc at he slowest speed possible allowed by your burner, this usually fixed bootloader discs for me at least.

The disc is fine, its when its trying to boot off the hard drive. The first disc I made at full speed, second disc I made at 4-8x. Slowest speed i could do.

Still nothing

I have not played with smoothwall for years - but its linux based is it not.. Where are you installing grub I would assume? Let me grab a copy and take a look

Its asks me to install grub and it installs it on the same hard drive.