Jump to content



Photo

PC unable to boot, need advice


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 msn_crazy_100

msn_crazy_100

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-July 04

Posted 13 January 2013 - 16:08

Hi guys,

I've got a laptop that until recently was working fine, however a couple weeks ago I decided to change the RAM and upgrade it from 1GB to 3GB.

While changing the ram I powered the laptop on and off once or twice during post or just after. I couldn't get it to boot up, no errors just keeps restarting. I tried an old hard drive from this laptop and voila! booted up fine.

So i'm guessing when I turned it off/on it probably messed up the partitions somehow or the partition table etc (i've got two partitions one for Windows 7 and another for Windows 8). The windows setup disk still recognizes it, although the Windows 7 parition is listed as D (was C when it last booted) and Windows 8 as E (was D) which is a bit odd. After trying the repair and checkdisk it still didn't boot.

Wondering if anyone has some advice on what I could do? Unfortunately I don't have another PC I could connect it to as slave/secondary, since my PC only has one power cable for sata drives so i'm stuck to bootable disks I guess.

Thanks


#2 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 13 January 2013 - 16:14

You could try booting from the 7 DVD and entering the repair console > command prompt and repair the MBR manually

There is a 'how to' here
http://www.howtogeek...oader-problems/

#3 OP msn_crazy_100

msn_crazy_100

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-July 04

Posted 13 January 2013 - 16:23

You could try booting from the 7 DVD and entering the repair console > command prompt and repair the MBR manually

There is a 'how to' here
http://www.howtogeek...oader-problems/


Thanks for the reply, unfortunately i've already tried those commands :(

#4 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 13 January 2013 - 17:09

Thanks for the reply, unfortunately i've already tried those commands :(


Have you checked that AHCI or SATA or IDE hasn't changed in the BIOS for the SATA Controller, if it has because of powering off during POST then that could stop Windows booting too, swap between them and see if you get any further (If your BIOS has that option)

#5 Som

Som

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-December 06
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 13 January 2013 - 17:13

just thought of something, sometimes when you change ram and windows is on hibernate instead of full shutdown it won't boot, but you usually get the safe mode menu eventually so that's probably not it...

#6 darkz

darkz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-January 05
  • Location: Heaven

Posted 13 January 2013 - 17:41

I had a similar problem, I just deleted the old windows 7&8 partitions and installed 7 on the free space.