Jump to content



Photo

How to remove this from FF


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#16 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 17 January 2013 - 14:44

install Searchreset addon for firefox

this will fix it

https://addons.mozil...on/searchreset/


#17 OP Shaga

Shaga

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-August 05

Posted 17 January 2013 - 15:12

install Searchreset addon for firefox

this will fix it

https://addons.mozil...on/searchreset/

Problem still exists

#18 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.1.2)

Posted 17 January 2013 - 15:17

is it only FF that does this?

#19 OP Shaga

Shaga

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-August 05

Posted 17 January 2013 - 15:18

is it only FF that does this?

I had problem with IE too, but using reset solved it.

#20 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 17 January 2013 - 15:20

Just uninstall firefox and install it again, saves you trying all these things that a simple reinstall should fix

#21 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.1.2)

Posted 17 January 2013 - 15:21

and no matter what you google it shows up like that. Are you using a proxy of any kind?

#22 aberg

aberg

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-March 08
  • Location: EU
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Windows Phone

Posted 17 January 2013 - 15:25

Same question asked at mozilla support forum
http://support.mozil...uestions/754352
http://support.mozil...-search-website

#23 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 17 January 2013 - 15:28

lots of results in google regarding this exact problem

http://www.google.co...iw=1055&bih=268

#24 OP Shaga

Shaga

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-August 05

Posted 17 January 2013 - 15:52

Just uninstall firefox and install it again, saves you trying all these things that a simple reinstall should fix

If i uninstalled FF, will the logins and bookmakrs be remained ?

#25 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 17 January 2013 - 15:58

you can export the bookmarks etc

File, Export from memory

#26 Yusuf M.

Yusuf M.

  • Joined: 25-May 04
  • Location: Toronto, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5 (Android 4.4.2)

Posted 17 January 2013 - 15:58

If i uninstalled FF, will the logins and bookmakrs be remained ?

No, but it's a good idea to backup your profile at least once or twice. You could also export your bookmarks and import it to a new profile.

Firefox has a troubleshooting feature that will completely reset it. You can read more about it here. Be sure to read the warning because it will completely reset everything. When I had to use it, I simply exported my bookmarks, reset Firefox, and imported my bookmarks.

#27 OP Shaga

Shaga

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-August 05

Posted 17 January 2013 - 18:05

1st. i would like to thanks everyone who tried to help me out with this annoying problem

A good news for everyone, the problem Solved!

With simply reinstalling FF without uninstalling :/

#28 Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 17 January 2013 - 18:59

Happy that you got it fixed. Enjoy!!

#29 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 17 January 2013 - 19:04

1st. i would like to thanks everyone who tried to help me out with this annoying problem

A good news for everyone, the problem Solved!

With simply reinstalling FF without uninstalling :/


Always heartwarming when the suggestions are wrong, and you solve it yourself. :happy:

#30 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 17 January 2013 - 19:41

Always heartwarming when the suggestions are wrong, and you solve it yourself. :happy:

Really?

At this point, wouldn't it be easier just to uninstall FF and reinstall it?

You would have to uninstall, manually delete any Mozilla folders (look for hidden ones in your user directory), delete any Mozilla registry entries (manually or with ccleaner).
Then reinstall. That's what I would do if all other roads lead nowhere.

Just uninstall firefox and install it again, saves you trying all these things that a simple reinstall should fix





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!