Jump to content



Photo

Nexus 7 got SLOW


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 19 January 2013 - 14:09

My originally quite snappy Nexus 7 has gotten extremely slow. Page swipe are very slow and so is bringing up the apps screen and swiping through it. Could this be a byproduct of rooting and if so can I unroot it? Can something else be causing it?


#2 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 19 January 2013 - 14:14

how much space is left on it? the Nexus 7 tends to get slow if it gets too full

#3 Halfalive

Halfalive

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-October 03
  • Location: Georgetown, KY

Posted 19 January 2013 - 14:45

I had this same problem a while back, mine turned out to be a weather/clock widget. Those widgets will kill your battery life and performance.

#4 nvllsvm

nvllsvm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-July 05
  • OS: Arch Linux
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 19 January 2013 - 14:56

Upgrading to 4.2 noticeably decreased the performance on my Nexus 7. Even after reflashing and having 6GB+ space free, it really lags.

#5 +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 19 January 2013 - 15:00

Upgrading to 4.2 noticeably decreased the performance on my Nexus 7. Even after reflashing and having 6GB+ space free, it really lags.

This. Though not all the time, my Nexus will have large lag spikes at certain times that wasn't present at all on 4.1.2.

Though it could be an app that you have just installed is taking too many resources and your Nexus is struggling, like Halfalive mentioned some widgets can have massive effects on performance.

#6 V9s

V9s

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-May 05
  • Location: Karachi

Posted 19 January 2013 - 16:46

this is due to a TRIM bug in 4.1.1.

Look for an app "ForeverGone" on the play store...and run it...it will take some time to complete (it will fill up your empty space). This will reset the TRIM related errors.

4.1.2 tried to fix this, though it's still not properly fixed in 4.2.1 (slight stutter at times, which is fixed by rebooting). Use this app to fix it for the time being: https://play.google....lagfix&hl=en_GB

This will have to do till google fixes this ****-up.

#7 OP +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 20 January 2013 - 14:00

The device has only 1/2 of it's internal memory used so it's not that. I also run the same widgets I have on my Nexus 10 and it's not this slow. I did remove my clock/weather widget but it did not help. I will that ForeverGone app..

#8 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 20 January 2013 - 14:10

Nothing is wrong with your device. This is normal operating behavior of the Nexus 7.

#9 OP +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 20 January 2013 - 14:56

this is due to a TRIM bug in 4.1.1.

Look for an app "ForeverGone" on the play store...and run it...it will take some time to complete (it will fill up your empty space). This will reset the TRIM related errors.

4.1.2 tried to fix this, though it's still not properly fixed in 4.2.1 (slight stutter at times, which is fixed by rebooting). Use this app to fix it for the time being: https://play.google....lagfix&hl=en_GB

This will have to do till google fixes this ****-up.


I installed and ran ForeverGone and it indeed does seem to have restored my device speed, thanks V9! The only problem is that now when i try to add a widget back i get an error "launcher has stopped".

#10 V9s

V9s

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-May 05
  • Location: Karachi

Posted 20 January 2013 - 16:55

I installed and ran ForeverGone and it indeed does seem to have restored my device speed, thanks V9! The only problem is that now when i try to add a widget back i get an error "launcher has stopped".


Did you let forevergone run completely? (i.e. did it delete the dummy blank file that filled up the space)

Run https://play.google....lagfix&hl=en_GB as well, and then reboot your tablet.

Also, what Android version are you on?

#11 OP +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 21 January 2013 - 02:21

Yes it ran a long time filling up used space and then it deleted it in about half a second. Android 4.2.1

I previously rooted my device and now Lagfix is saying "ROOT access not granted". Do I need to do it again (if I remember how lol)?.

#12 OP +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 21 January 2013 - 03:19

Well, I am backing up and starting the root process over again. I really want to use that Lagfix tool. I have Nexus 4,7, and 10 and the 7 seems to be the only one (so far) suffering from this problem.

#13 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 21 January 2013 - 03:24

Welcome to the wonderful world of Droid.

Infinite power/customisation and ability for **** to go wrong >.<

Nice work on jumping in and fixing it though :)

#14 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 21 January 2013 - 03:26

^ had you updated it since you last rooted? if so when on the stock rom you lose the root after each update if you don't have a root keeper app. this should do the trick https://play.google....3RrZWVwZXIiXQ..

#15 OP +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 21 January 2013 - 15:49

I don't think I updated since that root but it's possible that I did 4.2.1 after it was rooted. I did do it last night though. By it wiping my data, do I even need lagfix anymore? lol



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!