Jump to content



Photo

Microsoft Security Essentials for Windows 8...?


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#16 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 21 January 2013 - 14:59

Lolz. My system sped up AFTER installing MSE.

Scans via command line popup which isn't ideal because you don't get to see the feedback. Is there any way to get it to behave like MSE did and display the GUI?


Go to the Start Screen, and type "Defender".


#17 ZakO

ZakO

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-September 07
  • Location: Finland

Posted 21 January 2013 - 15:12

Lolz. My system sped up AFTER installing MSE.


Go to the Start Screen, and type "Defender".

I know you can do that to see the GUI, but my post was about scanning a selected file via the right click context menu like MSE offers.

#18 BoDEAN

BoDEAN

    REDHead

  • Joined: 04-May 04
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Iphone

Posted 21 January 2013 - 15:22

Lolz. My system sped up AFTER installing MSE.


Go to the Start Screen, and type "Defender".


Thanks for the tip

#19 DJGM

DJGM

    Mancunian

  • Joined: 05-June 02

Posted 21 January 2013 - 15:24

I've disabled Windows Defender on my Windows 8 systems and installed Forefront Endpoint Protection instead.
Essentially it's the "corporate" version of MSE and Windows Defender, but put an icon in the system tray, and
the "Scan with..." option on the context menu. No need to go to the Start Screen, and type "Defender". here!

#20 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 21 January 2013 - 22:11

I know you can do that to see the GUI, but my post was about scanning a selected file via the right click context menu like MSE offers.


I get what you're asking for and I agree that the option would be nice but from the time running windows 8 I've noticed that defender auto scans every file on your drives on write. I've had to go in and specifically tell it not to scan a folder where I put some, less than legal downloads because it kept going off and giving me warnings.

#21 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 21 January 2013 - 22:14

Have to agree here! Can't believe they never even added a right click "Scan with Windows Defender" option! Terribly built in. I hope they update it soon!

http://www.guidingte...8-context-menu/

;)

this works better http://www.itknowled...tus-manager.php

#22 paul0544

paul0544

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-April 11

Posted 21 January 2013 - 22:24

this works better http://www.itknowled...tus-manager.php

I tried this and it kept saying defender wasn't running. Nice idea though, I really wanted it to work.

#23 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 21 January 2013 - 22:27

I tried this and it kept saying defender wasn't running. Nice idea though, I really wanted it to work.

if you get that error just disable windows defender then re-enable it again. that'll create the registry key that the program is looking for (for some reason it's not always automatically created by windows defender)

#24 John.D

John.D

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 10-November 09

Posted 21 January 2013 - 22:32

There were 2 annoying things that I found with Win8 / and windows defender.

1. No scan option.

2.The flag / action center thing kept appearing in the taskbar, saying, I needed to scan again. This was nearly every 1/2 hour / nearly every day.. Since, I've gone back to Win7, I've never seen that message

I may go back to Win8 once the bugs have been fixed

#25 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 21 January 2013 - 23:02

Funny all the people who want a their AV to have a module for everything they do, network, disk, memory, execute, email, messenger and so on.

It's like they don't understand that it all has to go through the memory anyway, as long as it gets scanned there it's scanned. scanning it in a separate mail or whatever module is just doing the same job twice and slowing everything down. Just like doing full disk scans are useless since everything on your disk would already have been scanned.

I've disabled Windows Defender on my Windows 8 systems and installed Forefront Endpoint Protection instead.
Essentially it's the "corporate" version of MSE and Windows Defender, but put an icon in the system tray, and
the "Scan with..." option on the context menu. No need to go to the Start Screen, and type "Defender". here!

I guess you paid for that ? of course ?

#26 keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 21 January 2013 - 23:17

if you get that error just disable windows defender then re-enable it again. that'll create the registry key that the program is looking for (for some reason it's not always automatically created by windows defender)


how do you disable it?

#27 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 21 January 2013 - 23:30

I have to think that they left out some bits from MSE in defender for windows 8 so the rest of the antivirus companies didn't cry antitrust.

The other AV vendors can't cry antitrust.

Their business is based on weaknesses in MSes product. MS has every right to secure their product in whatever manner they see fit.

#28 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 21 January 2013 - 23:32

how do you disable it?

under the setting tab there is an Administrator selection, and you can turn windows defender on and off from there

#29 Tony.

Tony.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-February 05
  • Location: Liverpool, UK
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 23 January 2013 - 17:06

Something I have noticed is that if I download a questionable file, I get told about it, it's done automatically rather than needing to do a scan myself, also with a network share I've noticed it picked something up as soon as I entered a directory so I'm guessing that part is working.

#30 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 23 January 2013 - 18:58

Something I have noticed is that if I download a questionable file, I get told about it, it's done automatically rather than needing to do a scan myself, also with a network share I've noticed it picked something up as soon as I entered a directory so I'm guessing that part is working.


Yes, you have to tell it which directories to skip scanning automatically.