Jump to content



Photo

My Linux Based Questions

linux questions ubuntu help

  • Please log in to reply
72 replies to this topic

#61 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

    Resident Idealist

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 24-August 05
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Arch Linux / Win 7
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 10 February 2013 - 20:24

My guess is because you specified "sync" writes, which you don't need for an internal drive. If necessary, you can further boost performance if you add "noatime" as an option, although it won't write "last accessed" times anymore. :)


#62 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 10 February 2013 - 20:33

Yea see I didn't know that. That's what you get for copying stuff from the internet lol

And I was just reading up on noatime, sounds good, but what do you mean by "last accessed"? What exactly will change when using my system?

Also, can I keep defaults, and just add noatime beside it?

#63 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

    Resident Idealist

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 24-August 05
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Arch Linux / Win 7
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 10 February 2013 - 20:59

Yes, you can just use "defaults,noatime" without issue. Basically, every time you read or write a file, a timestamp in the file inode will be updated. This means that you can view the time that the file was last accessed if necessary. The obvious downside of this is that every read is also a write, and this has a moderate impact on performance.

'noatime' will prevent these access timestamps from being written, which reduces I/O usage, which is good for performance. This is of course at the cost of the last-access time being updated, which can cause issues for some older email clients and such, which rely on the difference between last accessed time and last modified time to determine if an email is unread.

Looking into it though, Ubuntu has made "relatime" a default option for ext file systems since around 2010 anyway (see here), so you'd probably see no benefit from using noatime anyway. The defaults should be just fine ;)

An explanation of noatime vs relatime can be found here: http://linux.koolsol...-mount-options/

#64 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 10 February 2013 - 21:49

Thanks again. :)

#65 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 10 February 2013 - 22:12

you can also use nodiratime aswell :)

#66 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 11 February 2013 - 00:14

I don't think I have asked this hear, and haven't found a good solution anywhere else.

I have the xscreensaver setup and works great. The only issue is that it comes on even with full screen applications running.

Alright, I use VLC that disables it while its open, great,...uh no. The problem with that is even if I have that VLC window minimized or in the small size (not full screen) the screensaver is still disabled, stupid.

Also, that doesn't work for flash sites like you tube.

Any ideas?

#67 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.1.2)

Posted 11 February 2013 - 00:52

I don't think I have asked this hear, and haven't found a good solution anywhere else.

I have the xscreensaver setup and works great. The only issue is that it comes on even with full screen applications running.

Alright, I use VLC that disables it while its open, great,...uh no. The problem with that is even if I have that VLC window minimized or in the small size (not full screen) the screensaver is still disabled, stupid.

Also, that doesn't work for flash sites like you tube.

Any ideas?


The same happens on windows with VLC. I think it is a setting as it disables my windows screenwaver

#68 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 11 February 2013 - 01:06

Yes, the setting I want enabled because it stops the screensaver from happening when watching videos, but it's like it's not smart enough to know that if I have it minimized I want the screensaver to work.

#69 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.1.2)

Posted 11 February 2013 - 14:08

Yes, the setting I want enabled because it stops the screensaver from happening when watching videos, but it's like it's not smart enough to know that if I have it minimized I want the screensaver to work.


I get that on Windows. If I have VLC Open the screensaver doesn't work. Even minimized or without a video loaded.

#70 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 11 February 2013 - 23:03

A new problem, well not new but haven't posted about it.

This has happened before but let it go because it's only once in a blue moon.

Sometimes randomly the VLC Icon on Unity stops working, at first the minimize and restore feature of the button stop working, then eventually there is no icon at all.

I have to reboot to get it to work again. Sometimes it does come back and start working again, but most of the time no.

Ideas, can't seem to find any information about it.

#71 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 15 February 2013 - 02:26

I guess as the rest of the internet, no one here knows either. Alright ignore that for now.


I have Chrome installed and is my main program, I use it for everything. Does anyone know how to properly restart chrome?

When I close Chrome, it's still running in the background, if I look at the System Monitor, its still there. If I try to close all 20 processes it can sometimes cause issues with accounts and stuff, so I don't want to do that, besides it taking long.

I want to be able to restart chrome because after awhile, it uses a lot of resources and kills my fairly old system. Instead of restarting all the time, I'd rather restart chrome.

In Windows, if you exited it, it seemed to close fully, Ubuntu it does not.

Ideas?

#72 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 16 February 2013 - 12:18

I guess as the rest of the internet, no one here knows either. Alright ignore that for now.


I have Chrome installed and is my main program, I use it for everything. Does anyone know how to properly restart chrome?

When I close Chrome, it's still running in the background, if I look at the System Monitor, its still there. If I try to close all 20 processes it can sometimes cause issues with accounts and stuff, so I don't want to do that, besides it taking long.

I want to be able to restart chrome because after awhile, it uses a lot of resources and kills my fairly old system. Instead of restarting all the time, I'd rather restart chrome.

In Windows, if you exited it, it seemed to close fully, Ubuntu it does not.

Ideas?

by default chrome allows extensions to run in the background (even while closed) this could be what you're experiencing when there are still chrome processes running after you close the browser

you can disable this option in settings at the very bottom of the advanced section

#73 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 16 February 2013 - 20:54

No, I do use that feature, I have a few running in the background for a reason.

But, on Windows it had a Chrome Icon beside the clock, if you right click that and exit, Chrome fully closes. Ubuntu does not have that ability.