Jump to content



Photo

WindowsAndroid - Run Android from Windows as a native app

android in windows app

  • Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#1 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 26 January 2013 - 16:21

Posted Image


  • WindowsAndroid is Android running with Windows kernel!
  • It does not run by a simulator (such as VirtualBox), it's on real machine, so it's fast!
  • It keeps full Android capabilities. You can run all Android apps, including 3D games!


-------------
  • Current ported Android version is 4.0.3r1, new version is being developed.
  • Can run on Windows Vista, Windows 7 and Windows 8.
  • Has exactly the same user experience with the original Android 2.
  • Integrated with Windows’ applications, such as Flash, Windows Media Player, etc.
  • Supports any UI resolution, such as 1920×1080
  • Supports windowing mode or full-screen mode, window scaling in windowing mode, and switching between windowing mode and full screen mode.
  • Supports IO devices such as mouse, keyboard, remote control.
  • Supports Ethernet, pppoe.
The interesting thing of this is that generally whatever you can do in Android, you can do in WindowsAndroid. Web Browsing, etc... not just run Android apps!


To get an early release of WindowsAndroid, you first have to fill out the download form (make sure to provide a valid email address) and grab the hefty 64.8MB installer via the download link you receive in your inbox. WindowsAndroid takes up about 300MB and comes with a cute Android robot icon. Firing it up presents you with a command prompt that loads all the components and then this familiar screen:



Website: http://www.socketeq.com/ (Down at the minute)

Download Mirror: http://www.androidfi...288116658471029


Note: Screenshot is from my machine running this and it is fast indeed


#2 +Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10
  • Location: Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 7 X64 Ultimate Edition
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1 Compact

Posted 26 January 2013 - 16:29

Man I wish this was available about 2 or 3 months ago (or at least I wish I knew about it)
I just wanted to try something just like this for my, now scrapped laptop
Detection, would you mind pmming me the link for future use?

#3 DaddyRazzy

DaddyRazzy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-April 12
  • Location: Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro WMC x64
  • Phone: IOS 7.0.6 Jailbroken

Posted 26 January 2013 - 16:32

it crashes on my pc...

#4 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 26 January 2013 - 16:35

Detection, would you mind pmming me the link for future use?


PM'd ;)

it crashes on my pc...


Tried running it as Admin?

I can just run it normally and its fine

EDIT - This is what CMD says when it is running on mine, maybe someone can compare and see if you need to install or enable some windows feature

Posted Image

#5 yowanvista

yowanvista

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-February 10
  • Location: Mauritius
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit
  • Phone: i9001-CM11-KitKat 4.4.4 - Kernel 3.4.96

Posted 26 January 2013 - 16:42

This is probably be the x86 port of Android, a lot of Apps are still ARM-exclusive.

#6 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 26 January 2013 - 16:46

This is probably be the x86 port of Android, a lot of Apps are still ARM-exclusive.


Not sure, I remember last time I played with the x86 versions they stated that's what they were in About Tablet

Here is this one

Posted Image

#7 Arceles

Arceles

    Time Craymel

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-November 09
  • Location: 4th dimmension.
  • OS: Win 7 Ultimate / Win 8.1 Pro (With Start Menu Start8, otherwise is UNUSABLE) / Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean
  • Phone: XT890 Motorola RAZRi (x86 processor)

Posted 26 January 2013 - 16:49

An OS that can be run as an APP... well, I'm sold :D

#8 Arceles

Arceles

    Time Craymel

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-November 09
  • Location: 4th dimmension.
  • OS: Win 7 Ultimate / Win 8.1 Pro (With Start Menu Start8, otherwise is UNUSABLE) / Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean
  • Phone: XT890 Motorola RAZRi (x86 processor)

Posted 26 January 2013 - 16:55

This is probably be the x86 port of Android, a lot of Apps are still ARM-exclusive.


Not really, I got the RAZRi (x86 atom) and I can say that almost every app runs without problems, except perhaps for some games like Chaos Rings 1 and 2 (They both FC) other than that I have yet to find a program that FCs on me.

#9 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 26 January 2013 - 16:59

It works, it's pretty cool.

1. How do I install Google Apps, I need a market.
2. How do I make it full screen?

#10 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 26 January 2013 - 17:06

It works, it's pretty cool.

1. How do I install Google Apps, I need a market.
2. How do I make it full screen?


Im trying to find a market.apk online and using the browser to download it, will report back if I work it out

Not sure if Google Play will install as a normal .apk though, might have to be a different market

Not sure about full screen yet but in the dev tools you can see the configuration for the screen size, im guessing a root file manager would be able to edit it in build.prop maybe?


EDIT - Im downloading an APK from XDA but it doesn't seem to ever want to complete the download


Might be able to add apps to the ROM manually in here

C:\SocketeQ\windowsandroid_root\system\app

Yep it shows them in the apps draw but they don't work.... progress though

#11 Jimmy422

Jimmy422

    Windows Fanatic

  • Joined: 03-November 08

Posted 26 January 2013 - 17:12

This is buggy as heck. I can't go to some websites without it force crashing. Going into the security tab under settings force crashes the whole android system. It's cool, but useless.

#12 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 26 January 2013 - 17:20

Im trying to find a market.apk online and using the browser to download it, will report back if I work it out

Not sure if Google Play will install as a normal .apk though, might have to be a different market

Not sure about full screen yet but in the dev tools you can see the configuration for the screen size, im guessing a root file manager would be able to edit it in build.prop maybe?


EDIT - Im downloading an APK from XDA but it doesn't seem to ever want to complete the download


Might be able to add apps to the ROM manually in here

C:\SocketeQ\windowsandroid_root\system\app

Yep it shows them in the apps draw but they don't work.... progress though


Don't you usually need to flash the gapps to the device using recovery?

#13 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 26 January 2013 - 17:22

If we could get a file manager working we might be able to install a few more apps just using their .apks

I got the Play Store this far by adding "Everyone" to the .apk permissions

Posted Image

#14 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 26 January 2013 - 17:22

Now attempting to run it crashes it. So I guess that little play thing is over.

#15 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 26 January 2013 - 17:23

Don't you usually need to flash the gapps to the device using recovery?


Yep exactly, although I remember some Google Play updates could be installed by moving them to system/apps with a root file manager, problem is though, setting permissions is impossible without a file manager

EDIT -

Did anyone find the monkey yet :p



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!