Jump to content



Photo

WindowsAndroid - Run Android from Windows as a native app

android in windows app

  • Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#16 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 26 January 2013 - 17:42

I found the monkey.


#17 +Ely

Ely

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-October 01
  • Location: Miami FL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC 8X

Posted 26 January 2013 - 17:44

It won't even start for me, crashes all the time on start.

#18 Arceles

Arceles

    Time Craymel

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-November 09
  • Location: 4th dimmension.
  • OS: Win 7 Ultimate / Win 8.1 Pro (With Start Menu Start8, otherwise is UNUSABLE) / Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean
  • Phone: XT890 Motorola RAZRi (x86 processor)

Posted 26 January 2013 - 17:46

Works with me on Windows 8... but not on 7?????? and yes, is fast but it force closes a lot... still, this is just great :D

#19 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 26 January 2013 - 17:47

Im trying to find a market.apk online and using the browser to download it, will report back if I work it out

if you wanted, I could make a link and host it somewhere for you if all you need is a link to click or a file to download?
OR is the problem that the .apk doesn't exist on the web, only on the androids as new?

#20 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 26 January 2013 - 17:48

I've got the market working. However when attempting to download, is states:

Posted Image

#21 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 26 January 2013 - 17:50

if you wanted, I could make a link and host it somewhere for you if all you need is a link to click or a file to download?
OR is the problem that the .apk doesn't exist on the web, only on the androids as new?



I did the same thing but thanks, yea it just hangs on downloading and never completes

I've got the market working. However when attempting to download, is states:

Posted Image


How did you manage that ?

If you can do the same for a file explorer we might be home dry, just putting .apks into a folder in the install dir then installing them via the file manager

#22 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 26 January 2013 - 17:50

It won't even start for me, crashes all the time on start.


Try running from it's home folder in C: and running as Admin.

Works with me on Windows 8... but not on 7?????? and yes, is fast but it force closes a lot... still, this is just great :D


Works for me on 7 x64. I have to run it from the program folder in C: though. Not the link.

if you wanted, I could make a link and host it somewhere for you if all you need is a link to click or a file to download?
OR is the problem that the .apk doesn't exist on the web, only on the androids as new?


System apps aren't usually able to be installed by just selecting to install like that. They have to be added differently to the phone.

#23 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 - SM-G900i

Posted 26 January 2013 - 17:57

<snip>


Took the ICS gapps zip, opened it and copied the system folders to the correct folders on my system. Reboot.

#24 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12

Posted 26 January 2013 - 18:10

Looks really interesting. I'm downloading it now. Will report back. Thanks for this. :)

#25 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 26 January 2013 - 18:17

Took the ICS gapps zip, opened it and copied the system folders to the correct folders on my system. Reboot.


Ah clever, cheers will give that a shot

Any luck with a file explorer ?

#26 yowanvista

yowanvista

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-February 10
  • Location: Mauritius
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit
  • Phone: i9001-CM11-KitKat 4.4.4 - Kernel 3.4.96

Posted 26 January 2013 - 18:22

Can't even enable 'Unknown Sources' since 'Security' in settings always FC. 3rd party Apps won't even launch.

#27 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12

Posted 26 January 2013 - 18:30

Looks great so far. No crashes yet.

android emulator.jpg

Ah clever, cheers will give that a shot

Any luck with a file explorer ?


Would you mind uploading the .apk (I'm pretty sure it isn't against anything). How did you get it on the device?

Edit: Ahh...it help to read. You guys are figuring that now. :)

#28 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 26 January 2013 - 18:34

Would you mind uploading the .apk (I'm pretty sure it isn't against anything). How did you get it on the device?

Edit: Ahh...it help to read. You guys are figuring that now. :)


Im hunting for a CWM .zip of any file explorer

I used this gapps zip for Google Play
http://goo.im/gapps/...0429-signed.zip

Extract it and copy contents of

gapps-ics-20120429-signed\system\app

to

C:\SocketeQ\windowsandroid_root\system\app

#29 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 26 January 2013 - 18:44

Crashes constantly for me no matter what i do.

#30 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 26 January 2013 - 18:48

The Store is looking a little sparse.....


Mine did that, reopening it a few time fixed it

I read someone saying clearing Cache and Dalvik cache fixed the Play Store 491 error on a real device, but I tried and it made no differernce

Maybe this gapps package is too old?