Jump to content



Photo

WindowsAndroid - Run Android from Windows as a native app

android in windows app

  • Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#46 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 26 January 2013 - 23:43

An OS that can be run as an APP... well, I'm sold :D


BlueStacks is similar - in fact, that is what I will compare it to (since I have it installed right now).


#47 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 27 January 2013 - 00:33

Your running Server 2012 as your desktop OS aren't you... :/


Yeah.... u mad bro?

#48 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 27 January 2013 - 00:41

Managed a link to Chrome, heres a major issue.



It's because it's obviously running x86 so most apps won't be compatible as they are made for ARM.

BlueStacks is similar - in fact, that is what I will compare it to (since I have it installed right now).


Is it actually Android though?

I'm not doing this because I want the apps, I'm doing it because I'm a nerd and I think it's cool.

Can't ADB to it either. That would fix installing things.

#49 PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Views expressed are not necessarily those of the management

  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Over there somewhere
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: ZTE Crescent

Posted 27 January 2013 - 00:42

BlueStacks does the exact same thing but does it properly and it will download all your apps.

#50 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 27 January 2013 - 00:45

BlueStacks does the exact same thing but does it properly and it will download all your apps.


It doesn't run Android as if it was a tablet though. Which I believe is what we are trying to do. We're just playing around with it.

#51 PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Views expressed are not necessarily those of the management

  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Over there somewhere
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: ZTE Crescent

Posted 27 January 2013 - 00:46

It doesn't run Android as if it was a tablet though. Which I believe is what we are trying to do. We're just playing around with it.


It does, it lets you choose the form factor in the settings for each app, so just choose tablet.

#52 McKay

McKay

    Grossly Incandescent.

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3

Posted 27 January 2013 - 00:48

It's because it's obviously running x86 so most apps won't be compatible as they are made for ARM.


Chrome for Android is x86 compatible though.

#53 +djdanster

djdanster

    Neowin elite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-October 08
  • Location: England, Great Britain
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 White Frost

Posted 27 January 2013 - 00:57

Sweet :D

#54 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 27 January 2013 - 01:00

It does, it lets you choose the form factor in the settings for each app, so just choose tablet.


Yea, the point is, it doesn't boot the Android OS, Android that you can use as an OS ;)

#55 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 27 January 2013 - 01:04

Chrome for Android is x86 compatible though.


Oh really?

Is there a list of x86 compatible apps. I'd like to check my apps against them to see if i see the same error with some.

It does, it lets you choose the form factor in the settings for each app, so just choose tablet.


Yeah but this is vanilla Android.

I'm pretty sure that's why the few of us are playing with it.

#56 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 27 January 2013 - 01:06

Yeah but this is vanilla Android.

I'm pretty sure that's why the few of us are playing with it.


Bluestacks lets you mess with the OS ? I only remember getting some small Apps only screen

#57 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 27 January 2013 - 01:17

Yea, the point is, it doesn't boot the Android OS, Android that you can use as an OS ;)


I've got a file manager working. Placed the APK directly into /system/app/ and reboot.

Posted Image


As stated previously in the thread. You can't simply add the apps to downloads and install them as you can't set third party source installs.

Bluestacks lets you mess with the OS ? I only remember getting some small Apps only screen


No, I mean WindowsAndroid is vanilla and that BlueStacks isn't a real working OS liek we're playing with here.

#58 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 27 January 2013 - 01:22

I've got a file manager working. Placed the APK directly into /system/app/ and reboot.

<snipped>


As stated previously in the thread. You can't simply add the apps to downloads and install them as you can't set third party source installs.



No, I mean WindowsAndroid is vanilla and that BlueStacks isn't a real working OS liek we're playing with here.


Can you link to the apk you used for the file manager?

I tried a lot and they all failed to load

-
I understand what you mean :)

#59 Nashy

Nashy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 04
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 27 January 2013 - 01:45

http://www.papktop.c...hp?postid=70518

#60 Tommy A Hansen

Tommy A Hansen

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-September 11

Posted 27 January 2013 - 02:11

Just a quick note reg. Chrome for Android.

Chrome can not be installed from the Google Play store if you have an Android version below v 4.1, so only 4.1 + through the Play store.

I have had some success installing apk's for chrome on lower versions before, but some versions out there are fake or older versions not fit for regular use. Be cautious when using those custom apk's! If you have a rooted Android phone (or ideally a tablet) with Chrome you can attempt to extract it, but I can not guarantee it will work. Nandroid backup method mentioned above is a good way to try it.

I will play with this version once it runs, getting a openGL error saying it is v. 1.10 which is BS. Updating drivers and will see.

Maybe I will try to make a cyanogenmod version of it with included file manager and gapps.. Sounds fun :)



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!