Jump to content



Photo

Starcraft 2 Running slow and freezing


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Zab

Zab

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-December 07
  • Location: Ottawa, CANADA

Posted 26 January 2013 - 21:55

Hey guys so I am running starcraft 2 and it works fine when I start a game but once there are a lot of units on the maps it freezes up the screen and i can almost not move at all.

Here are my system specs:

Motherboard: ACPI x64-based PC
Processor: AMD Phenom™ 9500 Quad-Core
RAM: 8GB - PC2 6400 2GB cards x4
Graphics Card:NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT
Hard Drive: 1TB - Hitachi HDT721010SLA360 ATA
Power Supply: Ultra LSP 550W ATX

Also having problems with HD Video editing. I am wondering whether it was my video card or processor or something else that is causing the problem and whether i can upgrade it or not.

Look forward to hearing from you guys!

Thanks


#2 +BoneyardBrew

BoneyardBrew

    Photoshop Junkie

  • Joined: 15-April 09
  • Location: United States
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 26 January 2013 - 22:07

I think at this point your system is simply showing its age. A full upgrade would be the most appropriate route if you're looking for good performance, but if you're on a budget I'd at least recommend a new video card. I'd imagine anything more than the likes of a 560 would be bottle-necked by your processor, so I'd be careful not to overdo it.

#3 Xoligy

Xoligy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-May 10

Posted 26 January 2013 - 22:08

I would say its your graphics card, your cpu isnt the fastest but should manage starcraft

#4 OP Zab

Zab

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-December 07
  • Location: Ottawa, CANADA

Posted 27 January 2013 - 00:59

Boneyard brew what graphics card specifically would you recommend? im still noob trying to figure out what cards are available for it :( lol

was wondering if i was to upgrade the processor what might be a good choice? and what graphics cards would be available then?

not sure if these questions are to vague :s thanks for the replies!

#5 Yusuf M.

Yusuf M.

  • Joined: 25-May 04
  • Location: Toronto, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5 (Android 4.4.2)

Posted 27 January 2013 - 01:15

It's not worth upgrading any component in your PC. You're better off buying a new one online (which can be pre-built too for a small fee). Let us know what your budget is and we'll help you from there.

If that's not an option then I recommend the following:You should go for the Radeon HD 7770. For $20 more, you get slightly better performance. Also, both video cards should be compatible with your power supply.

Here's how it performs in SC2 on a high-end PC:

Posted Image

Posted Image

http://www.anandtech...ition-review/18

#6 OP Zab

Zab

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-December 07
  • Location: Ottawa, CANADA

Posted 27 January 2013 - 05:35

Thanks for the answers guys. No money atm but planning ahead for spring when the rivers start flowing and we need to do some more vid editing. starcraft will just have to wait haha



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!