Jump to content



Photo

Looking for Home Cinema system for new TV


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Unimatrix Xero

Unimatrix Xero

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-February 05
  • Location: Wolverhampton (West Midlands)

Posted 30 January 2013 - 01:29

Ive recently got a new LG TV (LG 42CS460) and in the coming months i'll be getting a home cinema setup for it, but im wondering which ones will work as these are the only sockets i have at the rear of the set

IMG_20130130_012432.jpg


Am i going to have any problems when buying a home cinema setup?

I was looking at this one: http://www.amazon.co...d=IUADZBWMWYNAA


Thanks in advance


#2 OP Unimatrix Xero

Unimatrix Xero

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-February 05
  • Location: Wolverhampton (West Midlands)

Posted 31 January 2013 - 01:31

bump

#3 OP Unimatrix Xero

Unimatrix Xero

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-February 05
  • Location: Wolverhampton (West Midlands)

Posted 01 February 2013 - 16:58

guess no one wants to help... shame this community has really gone downhill over the years :(

#4 linsook

linsook

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 20-August 01

Posted 01 February 2013 - 17:06

Ya it'll work. I don't see why it wouldn't. My only concern is that crappy home cinema system.

#5 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 01 February 2013 - 17:22

Could you make a few photos of your TV, including the model card and all ports (back and side) with their text readable, even ones that are already occupied? Also, make a list of other devices (connected to your TV or not) you want to have audio from on your Home Cinema.

The 42CS460 seems to have a different port configuration than that photo so I'm confused. If it is a 42CS460 you'll have a hard time finding a Home Cinema that works properly with your TV. It doesn't seem to have any audio outs and doesn't support HDMI Audio Return Channel, which means you'll have to 'route' everything you want sound from (cable box, consoles, ...) through your Home Cinema. That Home Cinema you linked doesn't have any audio inputs aside optical so I'd stay away from that too.

#6 OP Unimatrix Xero

Unimatrix Xero

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-February 05
  • Location: Wolverhampton (West Midlands)

Posted 02 February 2013 - 03:21

Could you make a few photos of your TV, including the model card and all ports (back and side) with their text readable, even ones that are already occupied? Also, make a list of other devices (connected to your TV or not) you want to have audio from on your Home Cinema.

The 42CS460 seems to have a different port configuration than that photo so I'm confused. If it is a 42CS460 you'll have a hard time finding a Home Cinema that works properly with your TV. It doesn't seem to have any audio outs and doesn't support HDMI Audio Return Channel, which means you'll have to 'route' everything you want sound from (cable box, consoles, ...) through your Home Cinema. That Home Cinema you linked doesn't have any audio inputs aside optical so I'd stay away from that too.


This is the TV I have: http://www.lg.com/uk...-42CS460-lcd-tv
Jack Pack (Side)

  • USB 2.0 - 1
  • CI slot - 1
Jack Pack (Rear)

  • RF In = 1
  • Full Scart = 1
  • Component in (Y,Pb,Pr) + Audio = 1
  • HDMI 1.4 = 2


At the moment the only things connect to the TV are my xbox 360 and my PC (both via HDMI)

hope this helps

What home cinema would you recommend then... granted my budget is only around £150 (Stirling)

#7 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 02 February 2013 - 03:58

You watch TV through the CI module?

If you only use your PC and X360, do you have the X360 S-model with optical out or the original one? What brand/model is your PC, or what mainboard is in it, or what dedicated sound card is in it (whatever applies most)?

If you watch cable tv or through CI your options are extremely limited since your tv doesn't have any audio outputs at all...

#8 OP Unimatrix Xero

Unimatrix Xero

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-February 05
  • Location: Wolverhampton (West Midlands)

Posted 02 February 2013 - 13:19

I watch TV via a steaming service called TV catchup so the aerial cable isnt used, and yes I have the xbox S (black Glossy one) with the optical out,

My PC motherboard is a gigabyte with built in sound

#9 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 02 February 2013 - 20:23

What sound outputs does your motherboard have?

That home cinema has one optical input and one analog input you could use for your PC if your PC has no optical. For the best quality you'll have to use optical on your X360 and your PC, but then you'll have to switch optical cables as needed.

In any case, any home cinema with HDMI output for DVD's/BR's and an optical input for your X360 and maybe something else for your PC you'll be fine. Just remember that if you'll start using the built-in TV tuner on your TV you won't be able to get that out to a home cinema system.

Hope that helps :)

#10 OP Unimatrix Xero

Unimatrix Xero

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-February 05
  • Location: Wolverhampton (West Midlands)

Posted 03 February 2013 - 05:21

my outputs on the PC are the standard ones.. green, pink and such

#11 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 03 February 2013 - 14:12

Well then you'll have to find a home cinema with optical input for your Xbox360 and regular analog (RCA stuff) inputs for audio from your PC. Or buy a PCI-Express audio card with an optical out to get proper surround from your PC.

One of these for example: http://www.amazon.co...59900790&sr=1-5

#12 soniqstylz

soniqstylz

    Neowin Trophy Slore

  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: In your panty drawer

Posted 03 February 2013 - 16:29

Here's something close to the system I have. It wasn't expensive, gives me really good sound, has multiple HDMI inputs, optical input, and supports HDMI audio return, as well as 3D video should you upgrade your TV at some point.

http://www.amazon.co...59908840&sr=1-2

I have 2 PS3s and an XBox plugged into the reciever, and then I only need 1 HDMI to go into the TV.

#13 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 03 February 2013 - 23:44

Here's something close to the system I have. It wasn't expensive, gives me really good sound, has multiple HDMI inputs, optical input, and supports HDMI audio return, as well as 3D video should you upgrade your TV at some point.

http://www.amazon.co...59908840&sr=1-2

I have 2 PS3s and an XBox plugged into the reciever, and then I only need 1 HDMI to go into the TV.

That is sort of what I would have suggested, but since his budget is around £150...



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!