Jump to content



Photo

New motherboard issues?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 giannisgx89

giannisgx89

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 22-November 07

Posted 30 January 2013 - 18:17

Hey guys!

Today i got a new motherboard GA-H61M-S2PV (rev. 2.0), intel i3 3225 and a corsair PSU CORSAIR Builder Series 450W CP-9020049-EU.
I did flash the new BIOS update, installed windows 8 pro but when i shutdown the pc and then try to power it on screen just doesn't turn on.
I hear no sound at all and when i press the power button after 2-3 minutes it shuts down immediately. But when i press the power button and then
the restart button then it works just fine. It may be the cpu but everything seems to work really nice after the booting in Windows :/

Anyone having any idea why this is happening?


#2 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 30 January 2013 - 18:20

Maybe the BIOS flash was incorrect ... ?

Is the power setting on the Supply set to 120 volts ?

#3 OP giannisgx89

giannisgx89

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 22-November 07

Posted 30 January 2013 - 18:22

I don't think so cause i had the same issue before the BIOS update
About the PSU i don't know, is there any setting in BIOS to check?

#4 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 30 January 2013 - 18:24

If you have a separate GPU, have you disabled onboard Graphics ?

#5 OP giannisgx89

giannisgx89

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 22-November 07

Posted 30 January 2013 - 18:27

I did from inside the BIOS and the issue is still there

Edit: Just changed the boot option from UEFI to Legacy and it works fine!
Strange why this may be the issue. I'll see now if it happens again in the near future

#6 OP giannisgx89

giannisgx89

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 22-November 07

Posted 30 January 2013 - 18:59

It actually happened again :/
I noticed that when i change the Init Display First to PCI and then boot to BIOS again it reverts back to Auto.

Here is a screenshot: http://img195.images...30130204928.jpg

#7 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 30 January 2013 - 19:00

It actually happened again :/
I noticed that when i change the Init Display First to PCI and then boot to BIOS again it reverts back to Auto.

Here is a screenshot: http://img195.images...30130204928.jpg


Are you saving your changes correctly?

CMOS battery dead?

#8 OP giannisgx89

giannisgx89

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 22-November 07

Posted 30 January 2013 - 19:02

Yes, i select Save changes and exit.
Dead? but it's completely new (got it today).

#9 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 17
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 30 January 2013 - 19:04

Yes, i select Save changes and exit.
Dead? but it's completely new (got it today).

i still wouldn't completely rule it out. wouldn't be the first time i've seen a mobo ship with a near dead cmos battery

#10 OP giannisgx89

giannisgx89

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 22-November 07

Posted 30 January 2013 - 20:42

I used the battery from my old pc and the issue remains. another psu
Also i used another PSU, different graphic card and still no go!

My guess is i got a bad mobo, tomorrow ill take back for a replacement...

#11 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 30 January 2013 - 20:46

CMOS battery wouldn't keep the system from POSTing, After your powersupply swap I would reseat the CPU, then if that still doesn't fix it, RMA the board.

#12 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 30 January 2013 - 20:50

CMOS battery wouldn't keep the system from POSTing, After your powersupply swap I would reseat the CPU, then if that still doesn't fix it, RMA the board.


No, but it could be the reason his CMOS settings are not sticking after a reboot, although generally that would only happen with complete disconnect from the mains too

#13 Jub Fequois

Jub Fequois

    Owlblood

  • Joined: 06-June 04
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: OS X, Windows
  • Phone: OnePlus One

Posted 30 January 2013 - 20:54

I noticed that when i change the Init Display First to PCI and then boot to BIOS again it reverts back to Auto.


You should set it to PEG, just FYI.

#14 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 17
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 30 January 2013 - 22:04

CMOS battery wouldn't keep the system from POSTing,

most of the time this is true. there are a few odd boards out there that route some odd things through the cmos battery
heck just a few months ago I remember a thread on neowin where the OP could get his computer to post and it ended up being a dead cmos battery (this was also a new mobo, which is why i said earlier that even a new mobo can have a dead or dying cmos battery)