Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Largey

Largey

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 12
  • Location: Georgia
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 31 January 2013 - 20:18

i'm starting a Terraria server for a a few of my friends and I to play on but that problem is every single tutorial i have follow has set me up the same process which i'm doing but the problem is that i can't get them to connect.

Set up a port forward

got my ip address for them to connect but it isnt working

If someone would walk through the process with me it would be greatly appreciated...


Skype is nicklarge1

call if you would like so we can talk


#2 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 31 January 2013 - 20:22

If they can't connect then that's a problem with your ISP or router, nothing to do with terraria.

#3 OP Largey

Largey

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 12
  • Location: Georgia
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 31 January 2013 - 20:23

If they can't connect then that's a problem with your ISP or router, nothing to do with terraria.


Im not even sure im doing it correctly thats the thing..

#4 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 31 January 2013 - 20:29

Im not even sure im doing it correctly thats the thing..

What router/modem do you have ?

#5 OP Largey

Largey

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 12
  • Location: Georgia
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 31 January 2013 - 20:30

What router/modem do you have ?

A netgear wnr100 v2

#6 spacer

spacer

    I'm awesome

  • Joined: 09-November 06
  • Location: Connecticut, USA
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nexus 4

Posted 31 January 2013 - 20:36

You are giving your friends your external IP and not your internal network IP, correct?

#7 OP Largey

Largey

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 12
  • Location: Georgia
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 31 January 2013 - 20:39

You are giving your friends your external IP and not your internal network IP, correct?


Of course...

#8 spacer

spacer

    I'm awesome

  • Joined: 09-November 06
  • Location: Connecticut, USA
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nexus 4

Posted 31 January 2013 - 20:45

Of course...


Had to check. Occam's Razor and such... :laugh:

Does the game server have a config file that specifies which port it's listening on? You should make sure that your router is forwarding the same port number. Do you have another computer handy? Are you able to join your server using another computer on the same network?

#9 PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Views expressed are not necessarily those of the management

  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Over there somewhere
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: ZTE Crescent

Posted 31 January 2013 - 20:47

Port forwarding on router:

http://www.ehow.com/...ear-router.html

According to the server page, the port you need to forward is 7777 but it doesn't specify TCP or UDP so forward both :

http://wiki.terrariaonline.com/Server

#10 OP Largey

Largey

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 12
  • Location: Georgia
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 31 January 2013 - 20:50

Had to check. Occam's Razor and such... :laugh:

Does the game server have a config file that specifies which port it's listening on? You should make sure that your router is forwarding the same port number. Do you have another computer handy? Are you able to join your server using another computer on the same network?


Can we talk on skype?

#11 PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Views expressed are not necessarily those of the management

  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Over there somewhere
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: ZTE Crescent

Posted 31 January 2013 - 20:53

Here's the guide for running a server from the Terraria wiki :

http://wiki.terraria...Terraria_server

#12 OP Largey

Largey

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 12
  • Location: Georgia
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 31 January 2013 - 20:57

I seriously must be missing something but i cant seem to find out the problem

#13 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 31 January 2013 - 21:08

If you've enabled port forwarding and it's still not working, could be
1) Invalid port forwarding (wrong destination IP or wrong ports used, try DMZ)
2) Terraria uses more then the listed ports
3) your ISP is blocking connections
4) you have a firewall blocking connections

#14 OP Largey

Largey

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 12
  • Location: Georgia
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 31 January 2013 - 21:09

If you've enabled port forwarding and it's still not working, could be
1) Invalid port forwarding (wrong destination IP or wrong ports used, try DMZ)
2) Terraria uses more then the listed ports
3) your ISP is blocking connections
4) you have a firewall blocking connections



Please skype!!

#15 killmaster84

killmaster84

    Neowins n00b

  • Joined: 02-June 04
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 4

Posted 01 February 2013 - 07:18

Just download something like Hamachi , create a vpn and host the server that way.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!