Jump to content



Photo

What kind of ram is this? Came out of p4


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 togermano

togermano

    hot top for the bottoms

  • Joined: 29-December 02
  • Location: MA,USA
  • OS: win98se(For real)

Posted 01 February 2013 - 14:25

Comp only has 128mb of ram I wanna put more in it.

Attached Images

  • 20130131_181645.jpg



#2 manroweb

manroweb

    Lover of all things tech

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-April 02
  • Location: Swindon UK

Posted 01 February 2013 - 14:31

That is Rambus memory. 184pin
Hard to come by and expensive.

#3 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12
  • Location: 'Murica
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X
  • Phone: Motorola Moto G

Posted 01 February 2013 - 14:36

It's a 64 MB stick of Rambus ram, yes.

$46.00 here: http://computers.pri...1085144791.html

Maybe you can get some on ebay?

#4 The Teej

The Teej

    Also known as The Tjalian

  • Joined: 03-October 05
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 01 February 2013 - 14:37

I think it might be cheaper to buy a new LGA775 mobo with some DDR1/2 RAM to be perfectly honest :laugh:

#5 OP togermano

togermano

    hot top for the bottoms

  • Joined: 29-December 02
  • Location: MA,USA
  • OS: win98se(For real)

Posted 01 February 2013 - 14:46

Maybe another company besides samsung will be cheaper?

This is good enough http://www.ebay.com/...=item2ec4ec79d6 thanks yall xxx

http://www.ebay.com/...utorefresh=true

going to get this one

#6 OP togermano

togermano

    hot top for the bottoms

  • Joined: 29-December 02
  • Location: MA,USA
  • OS: win98se(For real)

Posted 01 February 2013 - 14:52

How do I figure out which CPU is the last p4 proccessor that will work with this motherboard?

#7 The Laughing Man

The Laughing Man

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-May 03
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan

Posted 01 February 2013 - 14:55

What you should do is toss out that machine before it give you any headaches. In all seriousness that ram was an attempt to bring a new standard to the table when DDR was introduced. It failed miserably for multiple reasons , most noticeably price and heat issues.
Invest in a new mobo/memory/cpu it would be cheaper than spending on new RAM-Bus memory.

#8 OP togermano

togermano

    hot top for the bottoms

  • Joined: 29-December 02
  • Location: MA,USA
  • OS: win98se(For real)

Posted 01 February 2013 - 14:58

What you should do is toss out that machine before it give you any headaches. In all seriousness that ram was an attempt to bring a new standard to the table when DDR was introduced. It failed miserably for multiple reasons , most noticeably price and heat issues.
Invest in a new mobo/memory/cpu it would be cheaper than spending on new RAM-Bus memory.


I want a windows 9x machine and this machine is great at that

#9 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 01 February 2013 - 15:01

I agree with Laughing Man. RDRAM is a total headache and Rambus pops in and out of court on a monthly basis due to all the patent trolling they did in the 90s.

Also, you should be able to get the supported processors for a board from the manufacturer's web site.

^Almost any junk motherboard should be fine for running 9x kernels.

#10 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 01 February 2013 - 15:07

I want a windows 9x machine and this machine is great at that


Or you could just upgrade and run a virtual 9X system. Seems silly to want a 9X machine these days.

#11 OP togermano

togermano

    hot top for the bottoms

  • Joined: 29-December 02
  • Location: MA,USA
  • OS: win98se(For real)

Posted 01 February 2013 - 15:10

Or you could just upgrade and run a virtual 9X system. Seems silly to want a 9X machine these days.


It will be a gaming machine.... Which virtual machines fail at

#12 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 01 February 2013 - 15:13

It's about 5 times the price of the equivalent amount of DDR2/3. Scary.

#13 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 01 February 2013 - 15:16

It will be a gaming machine.... Which virtual machines fail at


I can't imagine a game which runs on 9x that a virtual machine couldn't play at this point, or hasn't been ported to a new version of Windows.

#14 OP togermano

togermano

    hot top for the bottoms

  • Joined: 29-December 02
  • Location: MA,USA
  • OS: win98se(For real)

Posted 01 February 2013 - 15:35

I can't imagine a game which runs on 9x that a virtual machine couldn't play at this point, or hasn't been ported to a new version of Windows.


I am a geek I like making the most out of old hardware.... For a stereo I use a vacuum tube 1960s receiver with a turntable just the way I am

#15 +beanboy89

beanboy89

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 01-May 04
  • Location: Pennsylvania, USA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Google Nexus 5

Posted 01 February 2013 - 15:36

How do I figure out which CPU is the last p4 proccessor that will work with this motherboard?

It will either be Socket 423 (for early Pentium 4s), 478 (most common), or LGA 775 (newest). If it's an LGA 775, you will be able to upgrade the processor to a Core 2 Duo or Quad; however, judging by the fact that you have RDRAM, it's very likely that your motherboard has a Socket 423 or maybe 478, in which case, it's not worth upgrading the processor. Run CPU-Z to make sure.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!