Jump to content



Photo

[Tutorial]Windows 8 to Go without Enterprise Edition

win8

59 replies to this topic

#31 Peter Heiligenbrunner

Peter Heiligenbrunner

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-May 13

Posted 05 May 2013 - 13:24

As expected I get the message:
"Die Startdateien wurder erfolgreich erstellt" which means "the start files were created successfully"


#32 Quang Nguyen

Quang Nguyen

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-May 13

Posted 07 May 2013 - 16:29

I Do this step:
: Open up CMD from this location (or change directory to the above folder) and enter
bcdboot.exe X:\Windows /s X: /f ALL


buit I all fail:
n:\Windows\System32>bcdboot.exe n:\Windows /s n: /f ALL
Failure when attempting to copy boot files.


:( :(
I tried open CMD with administrator. I use WD passport 1TB with 3 partitions with N:\ for windows to go.
any advice for me?

#33 OP ingramator

ingramator

    Hacker

  • Joined: 04-July 12
  • OS: Windows 7/8, OSX 10.8, Linux/UNIX/BSD
  • Phone: Lumia 920, iPhone 5, GS3

Posted 08 May 2013 - 04:29

I Do this step:
: Open up CMD from this location (or change directory to the above folder) and enter
bcdboot.exe X:\Windows /s X: /f ALL


buit I all fail:
n:\Windows\System32>bcdboot.exe n:\Windows /s n: /f ALL
Failure when attempting to copy boot files.


:( :(
I tried open CMD with administrator. I use WD passport 1TB with 3 partitions with N:\ for windows to go.
any advice for me?


Hey! Yes, some advice, could you try copying the bcdboot.exe to the desktop and executing the command there? Both of you guys that is. I remember solving that problem before with another guy I was helping!

#34 Quang Nguyen

Quang Nguyen

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-May 13

Posted 08 May 2013 - 13:16

Hey! Yes, some advice, could you try copying the bcdboot.exe to the desktop and executing the command there? Both of you guys that is. I remember solving that problem before with another guy I was helping!


thanks for your advice.

but the problem is not solved :(
it's still:

C:\Users\West\Desktop>bcdboot.exe c:\users\west\desktop /s n: /f ALL
Failure when attempting to copy boot files.

my current OS is Windows 7. is there the problem?

#35 OP ingramator

ingramator

    Hacker

  • Joined: 04-July 12
  • OS: Windows 7/8, OSX 10.8, Linux/UNIX/BSD
  • Phone: Lumia 920, iPhone 5, GS3

Posted 09 May 2013 - 00:17

thanks for your advice.

but the problem is not solved :(
it's still:

C:\Users\West\Desktop>bcdboot.exe c:\users\west\desktop /s n: /f ALL
Failure when attempting to copy boot files.

my current OS is Windows 7. is there the problem?


Haha ok yes there is a major problem there bro! the C:\users\west\desktop needs to change to the USB's Windows folder. For example if the USB was drive F:\ then it would be

bcdboot.exe F:\Windows /s F: /f ALL

So in your case, if it bcdboot.exe was on your desktop and you had CMD elevated at Admin you would type

C:\Users\West\Desktop\bcdboot.exe F:\Windows /s F: /f ALL

Hope this helps! Let me know if it fixes it!

#36 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 09 May 2013 - 00:53

I haven't seen this before. I'll have to give it a try. Thanks.

#37 OP ingramator

ingramator

    Hacker

  • Joined: 04-July 12
  • OS: Windows 7/8, OSX 10.8, Linux/UNIX/BSD
  • Phone: Lumia 920, iPhone 5, GS3

Posted 09 May 2013 - 05:26

I haven't seen this before. I'll have to give it a try. Thanks.


No worries man! Happy to help!

#38 Quang Nguyen

Quang Nguyen

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-May 13

Posted 09 May 2013 - 10:31

Hope this helps! Let me know if it fixes it!


Perfect help! :)

I tried:
C:\Users\West\Desktop\bcdboot.exe F:\Windows /s F: /f ALL
it's perfect for me...
thank you many time for giving me an advice :)
have a nice day :):):)

#39 JoaoP_Afonso

JoaoP_Afonso

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-May 13

Posted 19 May 2013 - 16:42

I'm having problems with the step 13:

Open up CMD from this location (or change directory to the above folder) and enter
bcdboot.exe X:\Windows /s X: /f ALL
where "X" is your Windows To Go drive letter


So, as said, I went to the F:\Windows\System32 (F:\ is my windows to go usb drive), searched for the CMD file and as I tried to open it an error ocurred:

F:\Windows\System32\cdm.exe is not a WIN32 valid application


Can anyone please help me?

PS: I'm using the iso from WIndows 8 enterprise edition, I think.

#40 OP ingramator

ingramator

    Hacker

  • Joined: 04-July 12
  • OS: Windows 7/8, OSX 10.8, Linux/UNIX/BSD
  • Phone: Lumia 920, iPhone 5, GS3

Posted 22 May 2013 - 09:17

Perfect help! :)

I tried:

C:\Users\West\Desktop\bcdboot.exe F:\Windows /s F: /f ALL
it's perfect for me...
thank you many time for giving me an advice :)
have a nice day :):) :)


No worries man!! Happy to help and give advice :) Hope you are enjoying your live install :)

I'm having problems with the step 13:


So, as said, I went to the F:\Windows\System32 (F:\ is my windows to go usb drive), searched for the CMD file and as I tried to open it an error ocurred:



Can anyone please help me?

PS: I'm using the iso from WIndows 8 enterprise edition, I think.


Hey bro! First off you are not starting CMD off the Live install, just start it off your PC by going to explorer-> file -> open command prompt-> open command prompt as admin

Hope that helps! Let me know how you go!

#41 razoric

razoric

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 22-May 13

Posted 22 May 2013 - 10:28

C:\Users\Razoric\DesktopC:\Users\Razoric\DesktopC:\Users\Razoric\DesktopC:\Users\Razoric\DesktopC:\Users\Razoric\DesktopIm having a problem with bcdboot. This is my error:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright © 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>bcdboot.exe J:\windows /s J: /f ALL

Bcdboot - Bcd boot file creation and repair tool.

The bcdboot.exe command-line tool is used to copy critical boot files to the
system partition and to create a new system BCD store.

bcdboot <source> [/l <locale>] [/s <volume-letter>] [/v]
[/m [{OS Loader ID}]]

source Specifies the location of the windows system root.

/l Specifies an optional locale parameter to use when
initializing the BCD store. The default is US English.

/s Specifies an optional volume letter parameter to designate
the target system partition where boot environment files are

copied. The default is the system partition identified by
the firmware.

/v Enables verbose mode.

/m If an OS loader GUID is provided, this option merges the
given loader object with the system template to produce a
bootable entry. Otherwise, only global objects are merged.


Examples: bcdboot c:\windows /l en-us
bcdboot c:\windows /s h:
bcdboot c:\windows /m {d58d10c6-df53-11dc-878f-00064f4f4e08}

i also tried C:\Users\Razoric\Desktop\bcdboot.exe J:\Windows /s J: /f ALL

What am i doing wrong? It's like ive left something out?

#42 Khennett E Chan

Khennett E Chan

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 23-May 13

Posted 23 May 2013 - 22:37

i did everything in the instructions perfectly. i also manage doing the cmd part. but the problem is when im trying it, when restarted the computer on boot it says error loading operating, its stuck there. i did some research and some forum said its because of lack of space. im using a 8gb flash drive but you said that an 8 gb would work. please help

#43 JoaoP_Afonso

JoaoP_Afonso

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-May 13

Posted 24 May 2013 - 18:20

Hey bro! First off you are not starting CMD off the Live install, just start it off your PC by going to explorer-> file -> open command prompt-> open command prompt as admin

Hope that helps! Let me know how you go!


So, I went to F:\Windows\System32, opened the CMD from this location but then when I tried to:
F:\Windows\System32>bcdboot.exe F:\Windows /s F: /f ALL

I got this error:
Failure when attempting to copy boot files.

I'm so sorry for being such a trouble.

#44 spider-x

spider-x

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 10-June 13

Posted 10 June 2013 - 20:25

Less then 30 minutes depending on your hardware, really? So, why does GImageX say it's going to take nearly 248 minutes
to complete? This is on a Core i3 based laptop with 4GB RAM installed. Less than 30 minutes is a nonsense, unless you do
this on a very high spec system with at least 10 quad core CPU's and over 32GB of enterprise grade RAM installed!

Posted Image

Does have you fixed it? If yes, how ? I don´t know how to change the temporary folder.

#45 smweb

smweb

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-June 13

Posted 15 June 2013 - 04:16

^ that issue might be related to the USB drive you are using. For me the process (Step 9-10) took less than 15 minutes

Posted Image