Jump to content



Photo

FREE 1-year Bitdefender 2013 Antivirus Plus!


  • Please log in to reply
108 replies to this topic

#46 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 07 February 2013 - 00:03

Just had a friend install this on a machine she originally has MSE on, as well as the free Malware-Bytes application just to hunt down some bit of malware that's been plaguing her system. They never found anything, and we're both too busy to meet up and get it fixed.

BitDefender came up with 52 threats... I really hope this fixes her system, and will be dropping what I've been using when I get home for this on my desktop.


It surprises me that Malwarebytes would miss such an infected machine

My guess is that the malware was rendering MB inactive, I've seen viruses cause machines to refuse to install / update MB many times


#47 dead.cell

dead.cell

    My Body My Temple

  • 10,726 posts
  • Joined: 09-July 04
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • OS: Win 7 Pro / Win 8 Pro
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5 Active

Posted 07 February 2013 - 00:10

It surprises me that Malwarebytes would miss such an infected machine

My guess is that the malware was rendering MB inactive, I've seen viruses cause machines to refuse to install / update MB many times


Doubt it, as I helped her with it, and I've seen viruses that block installs as you mention. I utilize Malware-Bytes PRO and MSE at home myself, so I'm rather disappointed/surprised myself honestly.

Not sure what she has, but I'll have her find out and see if it doesn't resolve the issue.

#48 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 07 February 2013 - 00:55

Doubt it, as I helped her with it, and I've seen viruses that block installs as you mention. I utilize Malware-Bytes PRO and MSE at home myself, so I'm rather disappointed/surprised myself honestly.

Not sure what she has, but I'll have her find out and see if it doesn't resolve the issue.


I've found Avast Free Boot Time Scan to do wonders too, scanning without windows / malware running

Kaspersky has a rescue boot disk too

Others like SpyBot, Hijack This, Hitman Pro

#49 Elessar

Elessar

    Professional Daydreamer

  • 1,893 posts
  • Joined: 10-August 05
  • Location: New York

Posted 07 February 2013 - 00:58

Any reason to use this over Windows 8's Defender?

#50 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • 41,508 posts
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 07 February 2013 - 00:59

A great share. Thanks. :)

#51 BillDozer357

BillDozer357

    brained his damage.

  • 89 posts
  • Joined: 06-October 09

Posted 07 February 2013 - 01:01

Do not want. BitDefender is one of those "security" solutions that tracks all of your web surfing and phones home.

#52 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • 12,985 posts
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 07 February 2013 - 01:03

When i've had to remove this from people's computers for causing issues, I don't think you can pay me to install it. :/

#53 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 07 February 2013 - 01:04

Do not want. BitDefender is one of those "security" solutions that tracks all of your web surfing and phones home.


Got something to hide ? :shiftyninja:

#54 +djdanster

djdanster

    Neowin elite

  • 3,200 posts
  • Joined: 28-October 08
  • Location: England, Great Britain
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 White Frost

Posted 07 February 2013 - 01:13

It surprises me that Malwarebytes would miss such an infected machine

My guess is that the malware was rendering MB inactive, I've seen viruses cause machines to refuse to install / update MB many times


Change the MBAM file type from .exe to .cmd and it'll install with the malware running in most cases :)

#55 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 07 February 2013 - 01:24

Change the MBAM file type from .exe to .cmd and it'll install with the malware running in most cases :)


Nice tip ;)

I used to get around it by just renaming the exe sometimes, to qwerty.exe

#56 BillDozer357

BillDozer357

    brained his damage.

  • 89 posts
  • Joined: 06-October 09

Posted 07 February 2013 - 01:41

Got something to hide ? :shiftyninja:


Yup, my Social Security Number and Credit Cards :p

#57 Reacon

Reacon

    [VGW] Woohoo!

  • 3,802 posts
  • Joined: 12-May 08
  • Location: Katabatic
  • OS: Win 7 & Slackware

Posted 07 February 2013 - 02:05

Thanks for this!

I was in the process of finding a new A/V anyway, and this one is very low on resources.

#58 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 07 February 2013 - 14:16

Posted Image




677 Day key is dead

Other 365 day keys brought it back to life

#59 Damien R.

Damien R.

    XXX

  • 122,113 posts
  • Joined: 20-July 02
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy

Posted 07 February 2013 - 14:23

I am pleased I went back to my Norton360 last night then :p

#60 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 07 February 2013 - 14:27

I am pleased I went back to my Norton360 last night then :p


lol, I think the 677 day key is actually for BitDefender 2012,

The 365 day keys are for the 2013 version and still work fine