Jump to content



Photo

Display error

no display

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 BlackSteyrAug

BlackSteyrAug

    Sympathy Junky

  • Joined: 09-April 06
  • Location: Twin Cities, MN

Posted 09 February 2013 - 23:21

So I've run out of ideas with this build. I am in the process of building my parents a computer, and after fully assembling the pc, it does not display anything. My motherboard is an ASRock 970 EXTREME3 AM3+. The processor is a AMD FX-6300. The power supply is a Thermaltake Toughpower XT TPX-675M. The graphics card is a MSI Power Edition N650Ti PE. Lastly, the RAM is a G.SKILL Value 8GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) (1 stick).

Things I have tried are:
Reseating all components and removing all unncessary components, leaving just the psu, mobo, cpu, ram, and gfx card. (There are no onboard graphics)
I have also tested the graphics card in another computer and it works just fine.
Tried different power and video cables (VGA, DVI, and HDMI; all failed)

Suspicions are Mobo, CPU, or RAM. I have no other computer capable of testing these components, so I don't know how RMAing via Newegg would work and if I could just RMA all 3, even if some of the components work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.


#2 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 09 February 2013 - 23:27

What happens when you start the computer? Fan activity, beeps?

#3 OP BlackSteyrAug

BlackSteyrAug

    Sympathy Junky

  • Joined: 09-April 06
  • Location: Twin Cities, MN

Posted 09 February 2013 - 23:32

I have a speaker plugged in but I'm not entirely sure it works. It doesn't beep at all. Fan activity appears to be normal. All of the case fans, heatsink, and psu fan run just fine. It runs like a normal PC, just without a display.

#4 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 09 February 2013 - 23:40

If there's no beep then either your speaker isn't plugged in or it isn't booting at all. A few possible causes:
- missing power connections
- components not seated properly
- motherboard either missing screws or touching the case somewhere it shouldn't, causing a short
- faulty motherboard, CPU or RAM - CPU is the least likely culprit

#5 OP BlackSteyrAug

BlackSteyrAug

    Sympathy Junky

  • Joined: 09-April 06
  • Location: Twin Cities, MN

Posted 10 February 2013 - 00:07

Had no idea missing screws could affect a pc like that. I just put in all the missing screws (2 weren't in apparently) but it did not fix the problem. As far as I can tell, everything has power to it. Hopefully it isn't a PSU issue, but it may be? Also, no part of the motherboard appears to be touching the case.

#6 Som

Som

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-December 06
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 10 February 2013 - 00:26

you don't need speakers to hear the system beep

does the graphics card need an extra power connection maybe? although lack of any kind of beep could mean faulty motherboard

(some boards also have the bios jumper set off so check the manual)

#7 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 10 February 2013 - 00:57

you don't need speakers to hear the system beep

You need the computer speaker, often that comes on the computer case and must be plugged next to the usb and audio ports.

Hopefully it isn't a PSU issue, but it may be?

You could test the PSU in another PC if you have one.

#8 OP BlackSteyrAug

BlackSteyrAug

    Sympathy Junky

  • Joined: 09-April 06
  • Location: Twin Cities, MN

Posted 10 February 2013 - 01:16

I will test the PSU in my other computer tomorrow. I've had a long day and I have to go to work early tomorrow, so I will try it after work.

#9 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 10 February 2013 - 01:22

^ Are you sure the Power supply switch is set at 120 volts ? (if it has one)

Attached Images

  • psu.png


#10 Som

Som

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-December 06
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 10 February 2013 - 20:01

^ Are you sure the Power supply switch is set at 120 volts ? (if it has one)


careful with that one, different volts for different countries, could blow the power supply

#11 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 10 February 2013 - 20:07

I know with a few motherboards, mine included, you need to update the BIOS before installing the new Bulldozer>FX CPUs, they don't come supported as standard

To solve you need to install an older AM2+/3 CPU > update BIOS > install new CPU > boot

Otherwise it will power on, but nothing else

#12 OP BlackSteyrAug

BlackSteyrAug

    Sympathy Junky

  • Joined: 09-April 06
  • Location: Twin Cities, MN

Posted 10 February 2013 - 22:44

Solved:

- motherboard either missing screws or touching the case somewhere it shouldn't, causing a short


Thank you for all of your help everybody!

#13 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 10 February 2013 - 23:01

Solved:


Thank you for all of your help everybody!

Sweet! glad you worked it out