Jump to content



Photo

Odd Ubuntu problem


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 10 February 2013 - 20:49

I have been running Ubuntu on this system for awhile now, but I've always gotten these errors, but everything seems to work OK, so I forgot about it.

After waking up the computer from sleep, I get this:

Posted Image

Now, there's only one thing that I think it MIGHT be. My gamepad/QJoyPad. Is there anyway I can run a test on exactly what it is? Or are these errors stored anywhere?

Tomorrow I'm gunna revamp this system, put Debian Wheezy on it, due to the new motherboard/CPU.

So unless this repeats itself with Debian, I really wanna know what this error means.


#2 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 10 February 2013 - 21:23

I was inclined to say that error message is the result of a failing hard drive, but I don't think that's the case anymore. Depending on what the errno is, it could be a kernel bug or BIOS bug. Check the bug reports here, here, and here for more details than you probably wanted.

You can get a copy of your boot log by looking at /var/log/dmesg. (GNOME Log Viewer is often another convenient way to view your system logs.)

#3 tim_s

tim_s

    Default

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • OS: OSX (Macbook Pro i7), Windows 7 (Gaming), Gentoo
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 10 February 2013 - 21:28

Ata2 is the 3rd parallel device on the system and COMRESET is a command to force a reset on the device.

What is the output of,

# fdisk -l

EDIT: You can use dmesg but I would trim it down.

# cat /var/log/dmesg | grep "ata"

#4 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 10 February 2013 - 21:51


david@david-ubuntu:~$ fdisk -l

david@david-ubuntu:~$ cat /var/log/dmesg | grep "ata"

[    0.000000] Memory: 8141008k/9428992k available (6718k kernel code, 1059668k absent, 228316k reserved, 6452k data, 932k init)

[    0.169079] PEBS disabled due to CPU errata.

[    0.266331] libata version 3.00 loaded.

[    0.659994] ata1: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xfe705000 port 0xfe705100 irq 44

[    0.660067] ata2: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xfe705000 port 0xfe705180 irq 44

[    0.660140] ata3: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xfe705000 port 0xfe705200 irq 44

[    0.660213] ata4: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xfe705000 port 0xfe705280 irq 44

[    0.660285] ata5: DUMMY

[    0.660349] ata6: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xfe705000 port 0xfe705380 irq 44

[    0.978902] ata1: SATA link up 3.0 Gbps (SStatus 123 SControl 300)

[    0.979000] ata6: SATA link up 1.5 Gbps (SStatus 113 SControl 300)

[    0.979084] ata4: SATA link up 3.0 Gbps (SStatus 123 SControl 300)

[    0.979167] ata3: SATA link up 3.0 Gbps (SStatus 123 SControl 300)

[    0.979244] ata6.00: ATAPI: ASUS    DRW-2014L1T, 1.00, max UDMA/66

[    0.979327] ata2: SATA link up 3.0 Gbps (SStatus 123 SControl 300)

[    0.979464] ata4.00: ATA-8: OCZ-VERTEX, 1.6, max UDMA/133

[    0.979531] ata4.00: 125045424 sectors, multi 1: LBA48 NCQ (depth 31/32), AA

[    0.979639] ata6.00: configured for UDMA/66

[    0.979794] ata3.00: ATA-9: SAMSUNG SSD 830 Series, CXM03B1Q, max UDMA/133

[    0.979885] ata3.00: 250069680 sectors, multi 16: LBA48 NCQ (depth 31/32), AA

[    0.980374] ata3.00: configured for UDMA/133

[    0.981085] ata1.00: ATA-8: WDC WD5000AAKS-00E4A0, 05.01D05, max UDMA/133

[    0.981152] ata1.00: 976773168 sectors, multi 16: LBA48 NCQ (depth 31/32), AA

[    0.981415] ata4.00: configured for UDMA/133

[    0.981552] ata2.00: ATA-8: WDC WD1501FASS-00W2B0, 05.01D05, max UDMA/133

[    0.981635] ata2.00: 2930277168 sectors, multi 16: LBA48 NCQ (depth 31/32), AA

[    0.982436] ata1.00: configured for UDMA/133

[    0.984708] ata2.00: configured for UDMA/133

[    1.021480] Write protecting the kernel read-only data: 12288k

[    1.268491] EXT4-fs (sdd1): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)



#5 tim_s

tim_s

    Default

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • OS: OSX (Macbook Pro i7), Windows 7 (Gaming), Gentoo
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 10 February 2013 - 21:57

ATA2 = Western Digital WD Black WD1501FASS 1.5TB

What is the 'errorno'?

#6 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 10 February 2013 - 22:02

(errno=-16)

Didn't show that well in the picture. :p

#7 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 10 February 2013 - 22:16

is your bios sata mode set to AHCPI or COmpatability?

#8 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 10 February 2013 - 22:21

I do not know. I have it set to AHCI if that is what you mean.

#9 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 10 February 2013 - 22:26

thats what i meant sorry typo lol

it seems to be a problem with the sata mode and a bug

have a search on google

#10 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 10 February 2013 - 22:36

I see bugchecks even back to 2010, so It's a known bug, at least...

#11 tim_s

tim_s

    Default

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • OS: OSX (Macbook Pro i7), Windows 7 (Gaming), Gentoo
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 10 February 2013 - 22:37

On the drive - what is the jumper set to?



#12 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 10 February 2013 - 22:41

It's a SATA drive, no jumpers.

#13 tim_s

tim_s

    Default

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • OS: OSX (Macbook Pro i7), Windows 7 (Gaming), Gentoo
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 10 February 2013 - 22:51

YES sorry - that was shown in the data.

#14 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 11 February 2013 - 09:12

Try setting your sata mode to Compatibility see if you still get the errors

#15 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 11 February 2013 - 15:17

I don't think setting the hard drive mode to compatibility is a good solution. Although it may mitigate the problem, you will get worse performance from the disk, and some advanced caching features present on modern hard drives won't be available. (Worse yet, if it is an SSD you will shorten the life of the disk because TRIM won't be enabled.) The bug reports I linked to above seem to indicate its a firmware bug, not a kernel bug. Make sure you have the most up-to-date BIOS for your machine, and update the firmware on the disk if it is an SSD.

Edit: Also, any time you run a partitioning tool (such as fdisk, gdisk, parted, or gparted) you should run it as root, even if its only being used to list partitions. Some people use the '$' symbol in front of commands to indicate they can be run as a normal user and the '#' symbol to indicate they should be run as superuser. I think that is why tim_s wrote '# fdisk -l' instead of 'sudo fdisk -l'.