Jump to content



Photo

Ubuntu - 3570K


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 13 February 2013 - 01:17

Why is Ubuntu always running my 4 cores on my i5 3570K at 100%? I couldn't find any threead on google explaining this. IDK if it's because I used mprime (prime95) in the past and it can't let that go...

Help fast, please?

Edit: I looked in system monitor, and nothing of the processes is using my CPU...


#2 +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 13 February 2013 - 01:43

Stupid question, have you rebooted?

I have never heard of anything permanently using the CPU at 100%.

#3 tim_s

tim_s

    Default

  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • OS: OSX (Macbook Pro i7), Windows 7 (Gaming), Gentoo
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII, iPhone 4s

Posted 13 February 2013 - 01:46

1: What makes you think 100% CPU is happening?
2: If you close all applications - does the symptoms continue?


#4 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 13 February 2013 - 02:22

Yes, bman, I restarted about 10 times now, trying to look in BIOS, see if there was anything.

Tim, if you asked that question again, I would have shot you.. How did I know that no program is using the CPU? System Monitor.

Posted Image

NO PROGRAM is using up the CPU to 100%...

#5 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 13 February 2013 - 02:50

I have never seen an issue such as this before. Try listing your top processes by CPU utilization. The following command will list the five programs using the most CPU in descending order:

ps -eo '%C %p %a' --sort '-pcpu' | head -n 6


#6 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 13 February 2013 - 02:55


david@david-ubuntu:~$ ps -eo '%C %p %a' --sort '-pcpu' | head -n 6

%CPU   PID COMMAND

99.9  3170 /home/david/mprime/mprime

52.5  1717 ecm -resume checkpnt -v -nn -timestamp -chkpnt checkpnt -inp in -maxmem 1800 260e6

52.4  1718 ../../projects/www.rechenkraft.net_yoyo/harmtree_0.10_i686-pc-linux-gnu

51.9  1720 ../../projects/www.rechenkraft.net_yoyo/harmtree_0.10_i686-pc-linux-gnu

51.6  1721 ../../projects/www.rechenkraft.net_yoyo/harmtree_0.10_i686-pc-linux-gnu



#7 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 13 February 2013 - 03:01

Based on your output, I think I know what's eating your processor time. You should definitely try killing harmtree and mprime, at least. I would do the following (note that sudo may not be necessary):

sudo killall -9 harmtree_0.10_i686-pc-linux-gnu
sudo killall -9 ecm
sudo killall -9 mprime

The real question is why these programs are running after reboot. Something is definitely misconfigured.

#8 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 13 February 2013 - 03:12

I did all that, restarted, and, well...

david@david-ubuntu:~$ ps -eo '%C %p %a' --sort '-pcpu' | head -n 6
%CPU   PID COMMAND
88.3  1713 dnetc -runoffline -multiok=1 -e u_David@yoyo.rechenkraft.net -numcpu 0 -n 1 -ckpoint chkpoint -pausefile pause -exitfile exit -inbase in -outbase out
86.9  1702 ../../projects/www.rechenkraft.net_yoyo/harmtree_0.10_i686-pc-linux-gnu
84.4  1699 ../../projects/www.rechenkraft.net_yoyo/harmtree_0.10_i686-pc-linux-gnu
82.1  1701 ../../projects/www.rechenkraft.net_yoyo/harmtree_0.10_i686-pc-linux-gnu
51.0  2841 /usr/bin/python /usr/lib/ubuntuone-client/ubuntuone-syncdaemon

So I tried:

david@david-ubuntu:~$ killall -9 harmtree_0.10_i686-pc-linux-gnu
harmtree_0.10_i686-pc-linux-gnu(1699): Operation not permitted
harmtree_0.10_i686-pc-linux-gnu(1701): Operation not permitted
harmtree_0.10_i686-pc-linux-gnu(1702): Operation not permitted
harmtree_0.10_i686-pc-linux-gnu: no process found


#9 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 13 February 2013 - 03:18

Ah, now I found the culprit, it was BOINC, forgot I installed that... Deleted, CPU goes down.

Sorry...

#10 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 13 February 2013 - 03:24

I still have no idea what that program is or why it was causing such unreasonable CPU usage, but I'm glad you figured it out. Hopefully you learned something cool in the process!

#11 tim_s

tim_s

    Default

  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • OS: OSX (Macbook Pro i7), Windows 7 (Gaming), Gentoo
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII, iPhone 4s

Posted 13 February 2013 - 03:24

You need to use 'sudo' before the command.

#12 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 13 February 2013 - 03:57

Yeah, I did the wrong text for that.

From what I can see, BOINC is a lot like F@H. Some of the same functions.

I was thinking this was, from description, a stress tester for your CPU. In a sense, It is, but isn't? :shiftyninja:



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!