Jump to content



Photo

New build not turning on, case grounding issue?

thermaltake v3 not booting grounding case

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 SkyDX

SkyDX

    Anime Computer Enthusiast^^

  • Joined: 22-March 09
  • Location: Europe^^

Posted 15 February 2013 - 03:25

Hey Neowin^^

I apologize if this thread will be pretty barebones for now but I need sleep and I just wanted to ask beforehand so someone might have a idea until tomorrow :pinch:

Well long story short I build a new PC for a friend inside a Thermaltake v3 Black Edition case and the system won't turn on sadly :/ Not even the fans twitch and before we try another PSU I wondered if it could be a simple grounding issue as the case doesn't have traditional standoffs as you can see here:

Posted Image

The standoffs are basically part of the case itself and I figured this might be why the system doesn't start as the whole motherboard shorts out :/ But the thing is next to the usual PWR SW, RESET SW, HDD LED etc. cables there is a 4-pin cable called GRND which isn't listed in the manual and I assume this is the grounding we are missing though honestly I have no idea where I should connect this cable to as there isn't any place it fits on the board itself :pinch:

Thanks for help and any ideas in advance, I will add more details tomorrow^^


#2 1941

1941

    Banned

  • Joined: 17-July 06

Posted 15 February 2013 - 03:34

This isn't one of those all plastic cases is it? If there is nothing in the manual try looking on their website.

#3 OP SkyDX

SkyDX

    Anime Computer Enthusiast^^

  • Joined: 22-March 09
  • Location: Europe^^

Posted 15 February 2013 - 03:44

This isn't one of those all plastic cases is it? If there is nothing in the manual try looking on their website.


Thanks for the reply Gary, I just noticed it before I hit shutdown :p Well no it's not a plastic case, the part below the motherboard is definitely metal :/ And that might be worth a try, I only found the manual online but I haven't looked that much yet so hopefully there will be something that helps^^

#4 CrashGordon

CrashGordon

    The Perfect Threesome: Lime, Salt & Tequila

  • Joined: 31-January 04
  • Location: Atlanta, GA
  • Phone: Jackson JS3 Kelly Bird IV through a Fender Rumble 150. Can ya hear me now?

Posted 15 February 2013 - 03:47

I know it's a lot of trouble, but hook up the bare-bones outside the case (ie. on the mobo box). It's SOP for me now..after spending hours trying to figure out WTF was going on with a new build. I try and test "outside" the box or in a known working machine. Saved countless hours of BS

#5 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 15 February 2013 - 03:52

Double- and triple-check that everything is seated correctly on the motherboard, that all required power connectors are in, that the PSU is actually on and plugged in a working outlet.... Everytime this happened to me I had forgotten something obvious.

#6 linsook

linsook

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 20-August 01

Posted 15 February 2013 - 04:23

What power supply, CPU and graphics?

#7 OP SkyDX

SkyDX

    Anime Computer Enthusiast^^

  • Joined: 22-March 09
  • Location: Europe^^

Posted 15 February 2013 - 13:47

I know it's a lot of trouble, but hook up the bare-bones outside the case (ie. on the mobo box). It's SOP for me now..after spending hours trying to figure out WTF was going on with a new build. I try and test "outside" the box or in a known working machine. Saved countless hours of BS


Yeah this was our next step, it was just very late when we finished yesterday so we postponed it to today^^ I just wondered about this mysterious cable that even Google can't seem to find :pinch: And thanks for the advice, it indeed makes much more sense I will start my next build barebones first :p

Double- and triple-check that everything is seated correctly on the motherboard, that all required power connectors are in, that the PSU is actually on and plugged in a working outlet.... Everytime this happened to me I had forgotten something obvious.


Well I know that feeling that's why I always build PCs together with a close friend of mine as each of us alone made countless "D'oh!" mistakes over time though this time all is looking good except the grounding, heck I'm not even sure the case is grounded in the state it is now :blink:

What power supply, CPU and graphics?


A Corsair CX500 and a GIGABYTE Windforce GTX 660 2GB :)

#8 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 15 February 2013 - 13:55

often times i'll mix up those stupid wires that connect to the pwr, reset, hdd leads on the motherboard. - double check those.

Also, is the PSU actually turned on? Some PSUs have a physical power switch.

Is the 25-pin motherboard port securely seated?

like others have recommended, try turning the computer on w/o the case

#9 OP SkyDX

SkyDX

    Anime Computer Enthusiast^^

  • Joined: 22-March 09
  • Location: Europe^^

Posted 15 February 2013 - 14:23

often times i'll mix up those stupid wires that connect to the pwr, reset, hdd leads on the motherboard. - double check those.

Also, is the PSU actually turned on? Some PSUs have a physical power switch.

Is the 25-pin motherboard port securely seated?

like others have recommended, try turning the computer on w/o the case


Thanks for the reply! :)

Yeah I also often mix up these wires so I removed them all and tried to jump-start the PC with a screwdriver but nothing :( And the switch was turned on and the motherboard connected so I guess we really have no choice but to build it outside the case :pinch:

#10 Teebor

Teebor

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-January 10

Posted 15 February 2013 - 14:51

If that ground pin is where you say it is then its not a ground in the sense of what you are talking about, it will be used for something else and you can ignore it, probably an LED or switch.

Always build the machine outside the case first so you can make sure the parts work before installing. saves a lot of time if something needs to be returned :) But I all to much know the eagerness to get it in a case and running :D

Have you seated the CPU and memory correctly?
remove ALL add-in cards (GFX etc)
disconnect all drives (CD/DVD, HDD, Floppy etc)

#11 Wakers

Wakers

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-July 07

Posted 15 February 2013 - 14:54

I used to have that case, the built in studs shouldn't be a problem, as long as you make sure to remove the ones that you don't need!

#12 tim_s

tim_s

    Default

  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • OS: OSX (Macbook Pro i7), Windows 7 (Gaming), Gentoo
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII, iPhone 4s

Posted 15 February 2013 - 16:17

I find it odd that the PSU is not even turning on.

Are you sure the power switch from the case is plugged in correctly?

#13 OP SkyDX

SkyDX

    Anime Computer Enthusiast^^

  • Joined: 22-March 09
  • Location: Europe^^

Posted 15 February 2013 - 23:25

Again thanks for the help everyone, the PC started working :D We actually didn't do much other than wiggle at ever cable despite them being seated properly and it started to boot up :blink: Well whatever happened exactly I don't care much^^