Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Caleo

Caleo

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,827 posts
  • Joined: 30-June 04
  • Location: Michigan, USA

Posted 17 February 2013 - 23:04

So, I was uploading a video & pic to facebook (taken on my phone, uploaded via computer). Uploaded the video first, no problem. Uploading the photo - BAM:

Posted Image

It will NOT let me back into my account on my desktop pc, it is literally forcing me to download & install McAfee and scan:

Posted Image

Tried multiple browsers, I can get in on my phone but not on my desktop computer. What kind of bull**** is this? I've already spent way too much time trying to remedy this and I absolutely refuse to submit to this kind of barbaric malware-esque attempt at marketing.

For the record, my desktop is not infected with anything, nor were either of the two files I uploaded (checked with Virustotal.com to be sure!).


#2 McKay

McKay

    Neowinian Stallion

  • 6,000 posts
  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 17 February 2013 - 23:10

Have you tried moving the 2 files it thinks are infected off your PC? Maybe onto a thumb stick or something.

#3 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • 12,722 posts
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 17 February 2013 - 23:12

Wow! I haven't seen that one before, and it'd be a first for Facebook. How about they start removing those stupid apps first???


Have you tried another PC as a test?

#4 redvamp128

redvamp128

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,925 posts
  • Joined: 06-October 01

Posted 17 February 2013 - 23:31

Someone suggested using FireFox (which I can give you a link to a portable one if you don't wish to install it) as the workaround. The installed Firefox does not seem to work.

(I think It is possible it is a tool-bar)

Something to do with IE9/10. Other Browsers are not affected.

otherwise-

Download let it scan then there is a box that says I will remove it on my own. (some have said it will find nothing) then with that check box... it will now let you in.

#5 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • 41,508 posts
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 17 February 2013 - 23:55

There is always the possibility that you do have a virus and not know it. It never hurts to run a check.

#6 ACTIONpack

ACTIONpack

    Graphic Designer

  • 2,665 posts
  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: Lawrenceville, GA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925 (T-Mobile)

Posted 18 February 2013 - 07:47

OP why are you spreading viruses around?

#7 Cheatyface

Cheatyface

    Did I cheat? No. ....Yes.

  • 589 posts
  • Joined: 26-January 07
  • Location: In a chair

Posted 18 February 2013 - 07:56

Maybe your photo was trying to... *puts on sunglasses* ...go viral.

Posted Image