Jump to content



Photo

The new Dualshock PS4 controller; Touch PAD, not screen


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#31 Roxkis

Roxkis

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-May 08

Posted 21 February 2013 - 23:16

I like the controller, I just hope they don't make the touch pad required to navigate the gui like they did the vitia.
I find it really annoying using the d-pad to play a game and then having touch the screen to save or not being able to use the
p-pad to navigate the home screen at all.


#32 OP Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 22 February 2013 - 00:00

I like the controller, I just hope they don't make the touch pad required to navigate the gui like they did the vitia.
I find it really annoying using the d-pad to play a game and then having touch the screen to save or not being able to use the
p-pad to navigate the home screen at all.


The vita has been patched to allow you to use the buttons/analogue to navigate.

#33 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 22 February 2013 - 00:04

The vita has been patched to allow you to use the buttons/analogue to navigate.

i was just about to post this, i think that was changed at the end of last year wasn't it?

#34 xWhiplash

xWhiplash

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-March 08

Posted 22 February 2013 - 00:08

Sigh....why so much social media stuff? What happens when you accidentally click the Share button mid-game? Will it take you out of the game and take you somewhere to Post on facebook?

#35 soniqstylz

soniqstylz

    Neowin Trophy Slore

  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: In your panty drawer

Posted 22 February 2013 - 00:25

Sigh....why so much social media stuff? What happens when you accidentally click the Share button mid-game? Will it take you out of the game and take you somewhere to Post on facebook?


You hit cancel and move the **** on,

#36 compl3x

compl3x

    OK. compl3x again.

  • Joined: 06-December 09
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 22 February 2013 - 01:25

The vita has been patched to allow you to use the buttons/analogue to navigate.

i was just about to post this, i think that was changed at the end of last year wasn't it?


Yeah, but let's be honest... It isn't exactly the most elegant navigation solution, is it?

Sigh....why so much social media stuff? What happens when you accidentally click the Share button mid-game? Will it take you out of the game and take you somewhere to Post on facebook?



That would be idiotic.Let's hope not. Taking you out of a game would be a terrible implementation. Maybe you set up your FB/Twitter/Myspace (LOL)/ accounts and when you hit share it will upload screenshots, video, trophy info, etc?

#37 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 22 February 2013 - 02:23

Yeah, but let's be honest... It isn't exactly the most elegant navigation solution, is it?

it works just as you would expect it to, what's there not to be elegant about?

#38 compl3x

compl3x

    OK. compl3x again.

  • Joined: 06-December 09
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 22 February 2013 - 03:14

it works just as you would expect it to, what's there not to be elegant about?



It looks pretty hideous. Unless they've changed it since I last used it.

#39 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 22 February 2013 - 03:19

It looks pretty hideous. Unless they've changed it since I last used it.

i say the same thing about the iPhone :p

seriously though, i'll agree with you there, it's a little to iphone'y and could look and be laid out a little better

but that aside it still works just fine (i just wish they'd freakin fix the notification options. I have it set not to give me notifications when the live areas get refreshed yet i still get notifications for them)

#40 OP Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 23 February 2013 - 19:54

Posted Image

#41 soniqstylz

soniqstylz

    Neowin Trophy Slore

  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: In your panty drawer

Posted 23 February 2013 - 22:01

Posted Image


yeaaahhh,,,, stroke it baby.... no, go slower..... that's right......

#42 Kreuger

Kreuger

    Neowin's Local Grouch

  • Joined: 29-December 03
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 23 February 2013 - 23:58

The issue about the sticks to me is invalid. I've never felt it to be an awkward stretch for my thumbs to hit those sticks until after 6-8 hours of solid gameplay. I really dont like the look of it. It looks like a poor MadCatz design.

#43 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 24 February 2013 - 16:30

The issue about the sticks to me is invalid. I've never felt it to be an awkward stretch for my thumbs to hit those sticks until after 6-8 hours of solid gameplay. I really dont like the look of it. It looks like a poor MadCatz design.

i think it looks alright

though in the end it really comes down to how it will feel once we get it into our hands

#44 OP Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 25 February 2013 - 01:13

Roughly to scale

Posted Image

#45 AlphaPrime

AlphaPrime

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-February 03

Posted 25 February 2013 - 06:45

Looks pretty good to me. Hopefully the triggers feel better than the ones on the current DS3 controller.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!