Jump to content



Photo

Exchange 2003 Queue stuck


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#16 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 31
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 22 February 2013 - 14:25

We don't use PostFix :s There is nothing installed on this server apart from exchange.


sorry looking at other domains in your mail logs. It could be on there end causing the issue and you will have to wait for their mail server to accept mail from you again, if they have a low rate control (the top field in my pic above). (you have no control over this). try sending mail to a gmail or yahoo account. does it work?


#17 ]SK[

]SK[

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 12-October 04
  • Location: Nottingham, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 22 February 2013 - 14:27

Is all mail being queued or just mail for one domain your sending to?

#18 OP KibosJ

KibosJ

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 27-January 09
  • Location: Darlington, United Kingdom
  • OS: OS X 10.10 & Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (GT-I9505)

Posted 22 February 2013 - 14:28

sorry looking at other domains in your mail logs. It could be on there end causing the issue and you will have to wait for their mail server to accept mail from you again, if they have a low rate control (the top field in my pic above). (you have no control over this). try sending mail to a gmail or yahoo account. does it work?


Is all mail being queued or just mail for one domain your sending to?


It looks like it is ANY domain.

I cannot send to Outlook.com, gmail.com, yahoo.co.uk I cannot send to any domain at the moment.

#19 tim_s

tim_s

    Default

  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • OS: OSX (Macbook Pro i7), Windows 7 (Gaming), Gentoo
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 22 February 2013 - 14:29

Hi,

Port 25 is a wide open SMTP port - have you checked for a higher range port that supports SSL or STARTTLS?

#20 ]SK[

]SK[

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 12-October 04
  • Location: Nottingham, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 22 February 2013 - 14:29

Receiving OK?

#21 OP KibosJ

KibosJ

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 27-January 09
  • Location: Darlington, United Kingdom
  • OS: OS X 10.10 & Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (GT-I9505)

Posted 22 February 2013 - 14:31


Receiving OK?


I am receiving emails perfectly yeah.

Hi,

Port 25 is a wide open SMTP port - have you checked for a higher range port that supports SSL or STARTTLS?


What other ports can I use? I here 10025 is used in places? Doing this won't cause issues will it?

#22 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 31
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 22 February 2013 - 14:31


Is all mail being queued or just mail for one domain your sending to?


If you look at the log file he posted, it looks like the majority of it is spamming domains and those domains have stopped allowing him to spam them. download it and organize by column c...100's going to the same ip addresses. there is 1 ip that has less than 15. everything else seems to be very very high.

#23 ]SK[

]SK[

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 12-October 04
  • Location: Nottingham, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 22 February 2013 - 14:33

I looked at the log, tried to open it in Notepad which failed hard.

Shove your external IP in here to see if your on a spam database... http://www.spamhaus.org/lookup/

#24 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 31
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 22 February 2013 - 14:37

would it be possible to setup a teamviewer session so that I can see what is going on. it is completely up to you, I am willing to led a hand if you would like me to.


I looked at the log, tried to open it in Notepad which failed hard.

Shove your external IP in here to see if your on a spam database... http://www.spamhaus.org/lookup/


yeah, try excel viewer.

http://www.microsoft...ails.aspx?id=10

#25 OP KibosJ

KibosJ

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 27-January 09
  • Location: Darlington, United Kingdom
  • OS: OS X 10.10 & Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (GT-I9505)

Posted 22 February 2013 - 14:43


I looked at the log, tried to open it in Notepad which failed hard.

Shove your external IP in here to see if your on a spam database... http://www.spamhaus.org/lookup/


Yeah I've checked for spam listings, they aren't listed anywhere.

would it be possible to setup a teamviewer session so that I can see what is going on. it is completely up to you, I am willing to led a hand if you would like me to.


If you want to private message me, then I can set this up thanks.

#26 OP KibosJ

KibosJ

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 27-January 09
  • Location: Darlington, United Kingdom
  • OS: OS X 10.10 & Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (GT-I9505)

Posted 22 February 2013 - 15:46

I am going to replace the router and see if that helps, thanks sc302 for all your help :)

#27 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 31
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 22 February 2013 - 16:40

let me know how that works.

#28 OP KibosJ

KibosJ

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 27-January 09
  • Location: Darlington, United Kingdom
  • OS: OS X 10.10 & Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (GT-I9505)

Posted 22 February 2013 - 17:45

Okay the problem wasn't the router.

I spoke to the ISP earlier today and they insisted they do not/are not blocking port 25.

I called up again today and I am now being told that they ARE blocked at the ISP level.

One of the machines was infected and causing issues, and that machine has been removed from the network and is being checked over, however, had the ISP told me in the first place that they were blocking I would not have looked for issue elsewhere.

I thank everybody here for the assistance and appologise if I wasted time, especially to sc302, again thanks a lot for all your help.

#29 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 31
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 22 February 2013 - 17:56

That usually doesn't happen....unless you are on a dynamic ip address.

Still though, you would be on a black list database somewhere and everything looked clean.

#30 OP KibosJ

KibosJ

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 27-January 09
  • Location: Darlington, United Kingdom
  • OS: OS X 10.10 & Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (GT-I9505)

Posted 22 February 2013 - 18:49

That usually doesn't happen....unless you are on a dynamic ip address.

Still though, you would be on a black list database somewhere and everything looked clean.


I know, which is why I believed them when they said we weren't being blocked.

The ISP level blocking must have come in to place before any other spam traps were activated.

I'll be suggesting they leave this ISP soon :p