Jump to content



Photo

Google Earth, now powered by Apple Maps?

google

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#16 lunamonkey

lunamonkey

    Ten years on Neowin.

  • Joined: 28-May 03
  • Location: Swindon, England

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:00

Isn't this just because 3D buildings is enabled? It's not like they can scan and model every town properly in autocad.


#17 link6155

link6155

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-August 10
  • OS: Windows 10 Technical Preview

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:01

Hrm, seems like Dot Matrix found yet ANOTHER flaw with Windows 8, but let me guess, its a feature that makes it easier and faster to use, and more stable? right? Starting to wonder about that coolaid....


Probably has nothing to do with windows 8. It's most likely a graphic/video card issue here, or Google Earth is just really messed up.

#18 spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    XXXIII

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:07

With Windows 7 Ultimate and Google Earth 7.0.2.8415 in OpenGL mode, my Boston Airport looks like the OP when I zoom right in. DirectX seems worse.

#19 OP Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:09

Isn't this just because 3D buildings is enabled? It's not like they can scan and model every town properly in autocad.


3D buildings are developed by modelers, many of them professionals. For whatever reason, these buildings are built using elevation data with a much horrid looking result.