Jump to content



Photo

IE 10 Error in Windows 7 64 Bit


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#16 dafin0

dafin0

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-March 09
  • Location: Australia

Posted 02 March 2013 - 02:05

looks like you are using a modded theme, reading what other people have said who are having this problem they also have a modded theme.

if its not to much of a pain i would go back to the default one. run sfc /full. restart and see how that goes



Also just remembered about this utility
http://www.tweaking....all_in_one.html

It automates a tone of fixes. It can registered/unregister all of the IE critical files (in addition to doing a lot more).


normally i do not like these types of tools but this one works wonders.


#17 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 02 March 2013 - 02:13

I have a patched theme dlls with custom theme and start button and it installed flawlessly for me

I did end up installing the preview before it was released though

@Gary - Try installing the IE10 preview first if you can find it

#18 OP 1941

1941

    Banned

  • Joined: 17-July 06

Posted 02 March 2013 - 02:34

Thanks Detection but I am quite finished with this. I installed the System Update Readiness Tool and it was OK. ( then I tried IE 10 again with the same result) I have been fooling with this for 3 days now. I have had enough. If and when it comes to Windows update, I will try it again from there. Thanks for all of your suggestions. I got more help here than from MS. Thank You! :)

#19 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 02 March 2013 - 02:36

I see you re imaged but did you try a clean install from a format and using a vanilla install disk? I've heard this issue can be caused by registry errors.

Also, I use a custom theme as well (although I don't have altered files, I use uxstyle which alters them in memory) and IE10 works perfectly so I doubt it's the theming engine that's responsible.

#20 OP 1941

1941

    Banned

  • Joined: 17-July 06

Posted 02 March 2013 - 02:51

I see you re imaged but did you try a clean install from a format and using a vanilla install disk? I've heard this issue can be caused by registry errors.

Also, I use a custom theme as well (although I don't have altered files, I use uxstyle which alters them in memory) and IE10 works perfectly so I doubt it's the theming engine that's responsible.


Sorry but I am not going to go through all of that just to see how IE 10 works. I use the same thing that you do for themes. I am a Firefox user and I just wanted to see what IE 10 was like. Like I said , I may try it in the future when it comes to Windows update. Until then If I need to use IE , I still have 9. Thanks though!

#21 gameboy1977

gameboy1977

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-August 05
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Windows Phone 8

Posted 02 March 2013 - 02:59

you need to reformat the hard drive and reinstall Windows 7 64-bit then install IE 10 next time. my old windows XP had bad bugs in the past, and it got mess up big time, and reinstall WIndows XP, and it just very clean and better.

#22 OP 1941

1941

    Banned

  • Joined: 17-July 06

Posted 02 March 2013 - 03:05

you need to reformat the hard drive and reinstall Windows 7 64-bit then install IE 10 next time. my old windows XP had bad bugs in the past, and it got mess up big time, and reinstall WIndows XP, and it just very clean and better.


I did not have a problem installing IE 9 and like I said I am not about to do a reformat just to get a glimpse of how IE 10 works. I use IE 9 about twice in the last 6 months. It is just not worth the time and effort to me.

#23 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 02 March 2013 - 03:50

That's fair enough, I only installed it as I like to keep system apps current. I only have to use IE a couple of times a month

#24 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 02 March 2013 - 03:52

Sorry but I am not going to go through all of that just to see how IE 10 works. I use the same thing that you do for themes. I am a Firefox user and I just wanted to see what IE 10 was like. Like I said , I may try it in the future when it comes to Windows update. Until then If I need to use IE , I still have 9. Thanks though!


tbh I see no difference to IE9, looks a little flatter lol

Firefox here too

#25 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 02 March 2013 - 03:56

tbh I see no difference to IE9, looks a little flatter lol

Firefox here too

Visually they didn't change anything, but the performance is vastly superior.

#26 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 02 March 2013 - 04:08

Visually they didn't change anything, but the performance is vastly superior.


I wouldn't notice, I don't use it enough, only ever gets opened to test a site if I think FF is playing up

#27 Torolol

Torolol

  • Joined: 24-November 12

Posted 02 March 2013 - 04:17

http://support.micro....com/kb/2729094
http://support.micro....com/kb/2726535
http://support.micro....com/kb/2670838
http://support.micro....com/kb/2786081

just checking, you should have all the updates above installed before attempting to install IE10 on Win 7 SP1

#28 OP 1941

1941

    Banned

  • Joined: 17-July 06

Posted 02 March 2013 - 14:27

http://support.micro....com/kb/2729094
http://support.micro....com/kb/2726535
http://support.micro....com/kb/2670838
http://support.micro....com/kb/2786081

just checking, you should have all the updates above installed before attempting to install IE10 on Win 7 SP1


They are thanks.

#29 OP 1941

1941

    Banned

  • Joined: 17-July 06

Posted 03 March 2013 - 17:33

I have found through various methods that the reason that IE 10 will not install is that I am using 3rd. Party themes. This problem seems to only effect Win 7 x64 machines. Since my shell.32 is modified as well as other .dlls in SysWOW64. IE 10 will not install or work. If I remove all of this it will. The problem is that if I re install the 3rd party themes, IE 10 will break again. Many users are affected by this and Microsoft should fix this issue. Just an FYI.

#30 Buendia

Buendia

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-February 09

Posted 03 March 2013 - 17:36

I think that .dll patchers which enable 3rd party themes should fix the issue, not MS since they do not support any kind of patching of .dll files.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!