Jump to content



Photo

SimCity (2013)

official maxis ea pc origin glassbox

  • Please log in to reply
1037 replies to this topic

#46 majortom1981

majortom1981

    The crazy one

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-November 01

Posted 05 March 2013 - 20:03

Even though I expected to be issues on day one of this game release, mostly I expected trouble joining servers, I didn't expect to run into the bugs I encountered in the short time I played the game.

The first bug right off the bat was not being able to play the tutorial city. The game showed "a cannot load city" error when i tried to start. It took about 5 or 6 tries to get to work and I suspect it was server related. Not surprising but I was still annoyed by it. The next bug occurred when I started my first city in a new region. The ability to zoom and rotate was not functioning for some reason. I was still able to build, but I could not zoom or rotate the city. The problem was resolved when I exited the city and reloaded it. Not a big deal but still strange none the less. And the last and most irritating bug for me right now is not being able to invite people on my friends list into a private region. I'm currently getting a "invite can't be sent at this time" error. Not sure if anyone else is experiencing this right now.

Outside these issues, the gameplay is definitely interesting and I'm planning to try some old building strategies I used in the older SimCity games and see how they fare. I know adjustments will have to be made, but it's still nice to play a SimCity game again.


I don't have the full version yet . (at work and its being delivered today. ordered the dvd version) but from my beta experience think very hard about your streets. If you put a two lane road and want to eventually make it a 4 plan for that ahead of time.


#47 daniel_rh

daniel_rh

    Daniel R. H.

  • Joined: 31-July 05
  • Location: Venezuela
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIV i9500

Posted 05 March 2013 - 20:15

How many GBs weights the limited edition?

#48 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 05 March 2013 - 20:18

I don't have the full version yet . (at work and its being delivered today. ordered the dvd version) but from my beta experience think very hard about your streets. If you put a two lane road and want to eventually make it a 4 plan for that ahead of time.

and then once you want it to be six you'll be like 'oh crap'

I think the servers crashed hah

#49 Am_I_Evil

Am_I_Evil

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-September 04
  • Location: Bayville, NY

Posted 05 March 2013 - 20:21

I think the servers crashed hah


they did...and its super annoying...

#50 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 05 March 2013 - 20:26

they did...and its super annoying...

No doubt. I got plenty of time in last night so I'm not too inconvenienced.

#51 Hurmoth

Hurmoth

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-March 03
  • Location: Virginia

Posted 05 March 2013 - 20:32

Couldn't EA have avoided a lot of the download issues if they had preloaded? Why didn't they do this? Seems like such a logical solution to avoiding servers being hammered the same day people are going to want to play. DOH! :pinch:

#52 Am_I_Evil

Am_I_Evil

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-September 04
  • Location: Bayville, NY

Posted 05 March 2013 - 20:40

i unfortunately tried to look at another city while the servers were down so now i'm out of the game and can't even get back in...who knows when the last time the main city i was working on actually saved...ugh....

#53 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 05 March 2013 - 20:48

I think we're back up.

#54 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 05 March 2013 - 20:57

And apparently they went down again. I wonder how long heh :p :)

#55 eblkheart

eblkheart

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-November 06

Posted 05 March 2013 - 21:06

Is the game worth buying today or should I wait? I'm a massive fan of the game, but with constant online only, that bugs me.

#56 HSoft

HSoft

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 09-January 08

Posted 05 March 2013 - 21:21

Is the game worth buying today or should I wait? I'm a massive fan of the game, but with constant online only, that bugs me.

I'd check out the reviews on Amazon.com before splashing the cash.
Virtually everybody is giving this 1 star. Lots of complaints.

#57 KibosJ

KibosJ

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 27-January 09
  • Location: Darlington, United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (GT-I9505)

Posted 05 March 2013 - 21:27

I was really looking forward to this. After reading some reviews, this thread and talking to people..... I think I'll give it a miss :(

This game looks much more interesting:

http://www.paradoxpl...ies-in-motion-2

#58 eblkheart

eblkheart

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-November 06

Posted 05 March 2013 - 21:31

I'd check out the reviews on Amazon.com before splashing the cash.
Virtually everybody is giving this 1 star. Lots of complaints.


OOF! Youch. That hurts. Thanks for the heads up. I was looking forward to this game. And the cities are that small? Wow... stunned.

#59 +Matthew S.

Matthew S.

    Your worst nightmare

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-December 05
  • Location: Georgetown, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 / Mac OS X 10.10.x iOS 8
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 05 March 2013 - 21:37

Couldn't EA have avoided a lot of the download issues if they had preloaded? Why didn't they do this? Seems like such a logical solution to avoiding servers being hammered the same day people are going to want to play. DOH! :pinch:

not really cause it wasn't the download that was the actual issue (it only downloads a 300-ish mb launcher then the rest in stream downloaded.) it was the billing and authorization servers not pre-assigning the serials before the launch and they freaked out once midnight hit...

#60 ahhell

ahhell

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-June 03
  • Location: Winnipeg - coldest place on Earth - yeah

Posted 05 March 2013 - 21:44

EA screwed up another game franchise?

NO WAY!!