Jump to content



Photo

SimCity (2013)

official maxis ea pc origin glassbox

1037 replies to this topic

#946 scaramonga

scaramonga

    ME!

  • Joined: 21-April 03
  • Location: Bonnie Scotland
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Posted 19 April 2013 - 00:19




#947 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 19 April 2013 - 06:31

I hope they fix region discovery by then to filter out regions that are inactive too, come to think of it. For a game that's designed around playing with other people, it's matchmaking is terrible last I tried (before I found some local friends to play with).

The region sorting is supposed to be improved in 2.0 but who knows what all's going on, long term anyway
http://forum.ea.com/...st/9437292.page

#948 scaramonga

scaramonga

    ME!

  • Joined: 21-April 03
  • Location: Bonnie Scotland
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Posted 20 April 2013 - 02:02

3 more days till my automatic refund ;) Fingers crossed :)

#949 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 20 April 2013 - 02:20

http://www.shacknews...e-coming-monday
now the trolls will be happy since there's a failure condition for only zoning residential
http://forum.ea.com/...st/9453148.page

oh wait, they'd only be happy if EA burned to the ground. nevermind that then

#950 scaramonga

scaramonga

    ME!

  • Joined: 21-April 03
  • Location: Bonnie Scotland
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Posted 20 April 2013 - 02:28

oh wait, they'd only be happy if EA burned to the ground. nevermind that then


One can only hope, ain't gonna happen though :( Shame.

#951 Titoist

Titoist

    The Socialistician

  • Joined: 15-October 06
  • Location: Banff, Alberta
  • OS: OSX, iOS 7.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5S (32GB) Space Grey

Posted 23 April 2013 - 18:56

Anyone upgrade to the 2.0 patch? I updated this morning but now I cannot get a single city of mine to load. I tried two different cities (and restarting my computer) and it is always stuck at the city loading screen. I waited it out and was hanging for 20min before giving me "City unavailable at this time."

#952 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 24 April 2013 - 18:41

Anyone upgrade to the 2.0 patch? I updated this morning but now I cannot get a single city of mine to load. I tried two different cities (and restarting my computer) and it is always stuck at the city loading screen. I waited it out and was hanging for 20min before giving me "City unavailable at this time."

It's working great here. Try the recovery thing? (It might not help, but you never know.)

They definitely fixed everything important I can see, though it seems like they might've disabled or broken earthquakes. I keep seeing the graphic for it under my fire station and nothing happens.

(Which is good, because much like before they're always hitting the exact same spot.)

#953 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 25 April 2013 - 23:27

So, is this game fixed yet?

#954 Tha Bloo Monkee

Tha Bloo Monkee

    Da Ba Dee Da Ba Die

  • Joined: 03-July 04
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 25 April 2013 - 23:58

So, is this game fixed yet?

I checked into here to see if it was fixed, too.

I bought this game the day it came out, I tried playing it the first week and couldn't. Haven't tried since. What a waste of money.
A great reminder why I usually don't buy online-only games, and why I won't again.

All that aside, is it safe to try and build a (small) city, or will be just be erased which is what happened to many, many people.

This game was a disappointment on so many levels. I had such high hopes for the game. I'll try shortly now that the new update is out.

Also: why are the cities so small?? Building giant cities in SimCity 4 was one of the coolest parts of the game. I wonder if they'll just release a "Big City DLC" and charge money for it. Who knows.

#955 +djdanster

djdanster

    Neowin elite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-October 08
  • Location: England, Great Britain
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 White Frost

Posted 26 April 2013 - 00:02

The game is now partially fixed. A big bonus for me, was EA enabling cheetah speed on the servers a couple of weeks back!

#956 majortom1981

majortom1981

    The crazy one

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-November 01

Posted 26 April 2013 - 00:22

haven't played it yet with patch 2.0 but there have been a couple of new bugs introduced. one of them is massive amounts of air pollution from nowhere.

#957 Luc2k

Luc2k

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-May 09

Posted 26 April 2013 - 00:43

So, is this game fixed yet?


http://www.tomshardw...patch,3489.html

#958 scaramonga

scaramonga

    ME!

  • Joined: 21-April 03
  • Location: Bonnie Scotland
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Posted 26 April 2013 - 01:00

http://www.tomshardw...patch,3489.html


Yup. Says it all about this giant turd really. Uninstalled and got my refund last week :)

#959 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 26 April 2013 - 16:58

It's like the win8 hate parade...'everyone else is having problems so so will I!' what a crock.

I need to tear myself away from the game heh. 2.0 is awesome but I should technically be doing other things.

#960 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 26 April 2013 - 17:19

Yup. Says it all about this giant turd really. Uninstalled and got my refund last week :)


so that means you can stop whining in this thread then ?

so the rest of us who enjoy the game can talk about the game.