Jump to content



Photo

SimCity (2013)

official maxis ea pc origin glassbox

  • Please log in to reply
1037 replies to this topic

#1006 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 19 March 2014 - 21:46

Limited region size is still my biggest complain about Simcity...  Offline was never a big problem for me.

How big do you need a region to be?

 

A twelve-city region became an opinion with Update 9 - and that is TOO big, for me, that is.  (My biggest private regions are eight cities large - Sandbox or otherwise.  And that is before offline came into play.)

 

Most of the complaints are about CITY size - not region size.  (In fact, regions aren't even an option in previous versions of Sim City - each city existed standalone and separated.)

 

Because of offline, I can now actually do more realistic regional models of real small towns and cities (suburbs, for example).




#1007 +Audien

Audien

    Software Eng.

  • Joined: 30-December 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • OS: Windows 8.1/Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 20 March 2014 - 05:27

He probably means city size, something EA still hasn't addressed.



#1008 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 20 March 2014 - 06:26

consider a region the city and the city a area of the city or what I think you call a "burrough". 



#1009 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 20 March 2014 - 16:01

That is exactly how I have seen it.

 

I've even pointed out before - in this same thread - that no city started out giant-economy-size in the real world; most cities (even the largest cities extant today) started out with a small core city, that later (as it grew) started "eating" the original suburbs.  (Note that the largest PLANNED city (Brasilia in Brazil - which was a planned national capital) turned out to be a rather large failure as both planned city AND national capital; the national capital today is Rio de Janeiro - which was merely the largest city pre-Brasilia, and wasn't the original capital - THAT honor belonged to La Paz.



#1010 Hurmoth

Hurmoth

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-March 03
  • Location: Virginia

Posted 20 March 2014 - 21:23

He probably means city size, something EA still hasn't addressed.

EA said they won't address it either. 

 

"After months of testing, I confirm that we will not be providing bigger city sizes. The system performance challenges we encountered would mean that the vast majority of our players wouldn’t be able to load, much less play with bigger cities. We’ve tried a number of different approaches to bring performance into an acceptable range, but we just couldn’t achieve it within the confines of the engine. We’ve chosen to cease work on bigger city sizes and put that effort into continuing to evolve the core game and explore an offline mode. Some of the experiments we conducted to improve performance on bigger cities will be rolled into future updates to improve overall game performance. "

 

Source: http://www.simcity.c...tate-of-simcity



#1011 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Banned

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 12

Posted 20 March 2014 - 21:31

That is exactly how I have seen it.

 

I've even pointed out before - in this same thread - that no city started out giant-economy-size in the real world; most cities (even the largest cities extant today) started out with a small core city, that later (as it grew) started "eating" the original suburbs.  (Note that the largest PLANNED city (Brasilia in Brazil - which was a planned national capital) turned out to be a rather large failure as both planned city AND national capital; the national capital today is Rio de Janeiro - which was merely the largest city pre-Brasilia, and wasn't the original capital - THAT honor belonged to La Paz.

 

Umm.. when did Rio de Janeiro become the capital of Brazil?



#1012 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 20 March 2014 - 22:02

Umm.. when did Rio de Janeiro become the capital of Brazil?

 

Before Brasilia :p



#1013 +Audien

Audien

    Software Eng.

  • Joined: 30-December 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • OS: Windows 8.1/Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 21 March 2014 - 00:55

EA said they won't address it either. 

 

"After months of testing, I confirm that we will not be providing bigger city sizes. The system performance challenges we encountered would mean that the vast majority of our players wouldn’t be able to load, much less play with bigger cities. We’ve tried a number of different approaches to bring performance into an acceptable range, but we just couldn’t achieve it within the confines of the engine. We’ve chosen to cease work on bigger city sizes and put that effort into continuing to evolve the core game and explore an offline mode. Some of the experiments we conducted to improve performance on bigger cities will be rolled into future updates to improve overall game performance. "

 

Source: http://www.simcity.c...tate-of-simcity

 

That's their own fault for not having a scalable simulation.  :/



#1014 mdtaUK

mdtaUK

    mdta - graphic designer

  • Joined: 18-April 03
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 21 March 2014 - 01:26

That's their own fault for not having a scalable simulation.  :/

They designed the game to function in a particular way.  An idea they had and executed.

Now users have been asking for new features not originally designed for, and they are moaning about things they want.

 

Come the next version of SimCity they make, no doubt they will keep the feedback in mind and make it more suited to the users' tastes.



#1015 Hurmoth

Hurmoth

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-March 03
  • Location: Virginia

Posted 21 March 2014 - 02:45

They designed the game to function in a particular way.  An idea they had and executed.

Now users have been asking for new features not originally designed for, and they are moaning about things they want.

 

Come the next version of SimCity they make, no doubt they will keep the feedback in mind and make it more suited to the users' tastes.

In other words, EA/Maxis designed a game that a large portion of SimCity fans didn't like because EA/Maxis wanted a more social game, but fans of the classic game wanted more of that classic feel/style.

 

People who pay the pretty penny they do for these games have every right to to "moan".



#1016 OP +TruckWEB

TruckWEB

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 27-December 01
  • Location: Quebec, Canada

Posted 21 March 2014 - 12:59

He probably means city size, something EA still hasn't addressed.

 

Exactly, and playing Simcity 4 or CityXL make it plain evident that the city size is too small.  And I'm not enjoying the region concept.



#1017 DrakeN2k

DrakeN2k

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-December 10

Posted 21 March 2014 - 13:10

A city does not have a population of 200K which is what I managed to get in SimCity. A true city has a population of around 500K+

 

if they want a small map , it should be called Sim Town



#1018 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 22 March 2014 - 07:14

A city does not have a population of 200K which is what I managed to get in SimCity. A true city has a population of around 500K+

 

if they want a small map , it should be called Sim Town

A city with 500K population is a LARGE city - small cities can have populations under 100K.

 

By your definition, some US state capitals (and I'm not talking about in sparsely populated states) wouldn't qualify as cities.

 

And even at the 200K level, managing a city by your lonesome (which is what Simcity drops on you for a single city) is a real PITA.

 

And CitiesXL - please.  The graphical component of CitiesXL isn't even as good as Sim City 4 Deluxe - without mods.

 

It's not all about the population, and even if it were, have you even any idea how HARD it is to manage a large city (in any of those gtames) and without cheat codes, hacks, etc.?

 

I've managed to get a city up to 140K in Simcity +CoT without either OmegaCo OR cheat codes - and it was a nasty nasty CHORE.  (Even then, I had to do it in Sandbox mode.)

 

My only real complaint about Simcity 2013 (from a mayoral/city management standpoint) is the unrealistically LOW cost of wind power - and I'm not even talking about pollution of any sort, let alone radiation.

 

An even bigger sin (in Sim City 4 - even fully patched), is the non-support of 1920x1080 - let alone anything taller.



#1019 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 22 March 2014 - 07:22

Before Brasilia :p

And how did even Rio get so big that even IT is bursting at the proverbial seams?

 

It didn't start that way.



#1020 crispkreme

crispkreme

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-August 09
  • Location: New Lenox, IL

Posted 22 March 2014 - 07:30

An even bigger sin (in Sim City 4 - even fully patched), is the non-support of 1920x1080 - let alone anything taller.

 

Huh? I'm running Simcity 4 in 1920x1080 without any mods. Take a look at this: http://www.widescree.../wiki/SimCity_4