Jump to content



Photo

New PSU needed

psu new

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#16 Farchord

Farchord

    Life is but a sum of your achievements

  • Joined: 06-November 01
  • Location: Shawinigan, Quebec, Canada
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 08 March 2013 - 15:43

I have Corsair's TX850 PSU and I <3 it.


#17 minoskid

minoskid

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-February 11
  • Location: Prilep, Macedonia
  • OS: Windows 8 Enterprise x64
  • Phone: Alcatel OT-807

Posted 08 March 2013 - 19:06

Hello guys,

Recently I've checked the hardware monitor in bios and the numbers were:
  • CPU Voltage: 1.184v
  • 3.3V Voltage: 3.360v
  • 5V Voltage: 5.136v / 5.160v
  • 12V Voltage: 11.872v / 11.928v
So, after these numbers, you can see that 12v is lower than 12.
Should I change the PSU? If yes, can someone recommend modular Cooler Master PSU (because market in my country) for my configuration?

Future Upgrades: SSD (OCZ Vertex 4 128GB) and new GPU (ASUS HD 7850 DC2 2GB / Gigabyte GTX 660 Windforce OC 2 GB)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Configuration:
Core i5 750
Asus P7H55
2 x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz Kingston HyperX
1TB WD Caviar Green SATA2
KFA2 GTS 250 1GB
DVD-RW LG 24x SATA
PSU: Hantol 720W (Real Power: 375W)

#18 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 08 March 2013 - 19:18

Hello guys,

Recently I've checked the hardware monitor in bios and the numbers were:

  • CPU Voltage: 1.184v
  • 3.3V Voltage: 3.360v
  • 5V Voltage: 5.136v / 5.160v
  • 12V Voltage: 11.872v / 11.928v
So, after these numbers, you can see that 12v is lower than 12.
Should I change the PSU?
If I must, can someone recommend modular Cooler Master PSU (because my market) for my configuration?
Future Upgrades: SSD (OCZ Vertex 4 128GB) and new GPU (ASUS HD 7850 DC2 2GB / Gigabyte GTX 660 Windforce OC 2 GB)


The ATX spec includes a 5% tolerance, so as long as you are between 12.6V and 11.4V, you should be okay. Plus the software programs that read those voltages aren't super accurate to begin with. You'd have to physically check it with a multimeter.

If you're looking for a new PSU, this is the one I have, and it's rock solid:
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817171048

#19 minoskid

minoskid

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-February 11
  • Location: Prilep, Macedonia
  • OS: Windows 8 Enterprise x64
  • Phone: Alcatel OT-807

Posted 08 March 2013 - 19:27

The ATX spec includes a 5% tolerance, so as long as you are between 12.6V and 11.4V, you should be okay. Plus the software programs that read those voltages aren't super accurate to begin with. You'd have to physically check it with a multimeter.

If you're looking for a new PSU, this is the one I have, and it's rock solid:
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817171048


Thank you for the info.
So, I can go with the SIlent Pro PSU's.

850W - isn't a overkill for my config (including the future upgrades)?

#20 +PeterUK

PeterUK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 26-March 07

Posted 08 March 2013 - 19:41

850W - isn't a overkill for my config (including the future upgrades)?

600-650W for any one card 800W+ for two cards is a base line to what you need.

#21 minoskid

minoskid

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-February 11
  • Location: Prilep, Macedonia
  • OS: Windows 8 Enterprise x64
  • Phone: Alcatel OT-807

Posted 08 March 2013 - 19:45

600-650W for any one card 800W+ for two cards is a base line to what you need.


I think that Silent Pro M2 520W or Silent Pro M500 should be enough for my pc and future upgrades...or maybe I'm wrong...

#22 YounGMessiah

YounGMessiah

    "individual magnets"

  • Joined: 16-June 09
  • Location: Garden Of The Gods
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 08 March 2013 - 19:47

What you quoted is the best advice to follow..

#23 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 08 March 2013 - 20:40

Thank you for the info.
So, I can go with the SIlent Pro PSU's.

850W - isn't a overkill for my config (including the future upgrades)?


It probably is a bit overkill. But if you someday want to run crossfire or SLI, you'd be happy you had the extra PSU headroom.
When I was running 570s in SLI, the 750W I had at the time, really struggled.

If you're on a budget, I'd say yeah it's unnecessary. But if you upgrade it now, it's one less thing to upgrade later.