Redoing a existing network....

Hello

First off I have never done a small office network before so....

Ive been asked to redo a existing network in my office. Mainly because the connection to the main router fails and the firewall is pretty basic/weak.

The first thing Ill have to do is recon some of the network devices.

This is what I know 100%:

Our IP is static

The number of devices connected to the network.

There are two wireless networks

The wireless clients are MACed controll and WEP

The other network only controls a security camera (WPA2)

There is a Windows DC

There are 2 active Linux boxes

All the phyically connected devices (except the unix boxes) are part of the domain.

The IPs are assigned via MAC addresses.

Thats pretty much all I know, where should I contiue from here?

What ideas I have:

A way better firewall; pFsense seems complicated so Im thinking Cisco or DD-WRT.

Change the wireless to WPA2

Make sure all routers (except the main) are acting as switches (as sometimes conflicts occur)

Also, since this is a office which is already running, downtime is impossible.....or max for reboots of devices.

"The wireless clients are MACed controll and WEP"

So completely open to anyone that can google then ;) Since both are completely and utterly useless as security measures.

Yeah so fixing that would be good start ;)

So what are you using as your gateway to the internet now? As to pfsense being complicated??? Yeah clearly you have never used it - its web gui! Just like your any other soho router.

So you mention "routers" so I am taking it your double natting on your wireless devices vs using them as just AP, yeah I would fix that. Also What are you using for your wired switches? How many total devices do you have? How many are wireless?

Happy to help you get the network in order, but need some actual info to work with. Sorry but something running dd-wrt is not really a better router for a BUSINESS setup.

Hello

~snip~