Jump to content



Photo

Some programs refuse to detect Internet on my PC


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 11 March 2013 - 19:16

Since yesterday, I've not been able to get the Dropbox program (I can get on it fine via Chrome) or Origin to connect to the Internet, even though all other programs seem to be working perfectly fine. I've uninstalled them and they won't work and Norton isn't blocking them. They were working perfectly fine until yesterday and I'm pretty sure I haven't changed anything to render them inoperable.

Anyone else know what I can try to get them working?


#2 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 11 March 2013 - 19:32

Well get some simple test done. For starters can you post the output of your ipconfig /all?

example - if your IP starts with 192.168.x.x, 10.x.x.x or 172.16-31.x.x its private and not a valid IP on the internet so there is no reason to hide it. Now I snipped out part of my global ipv6 address, because that is a public IP and you can route to it over the public net for privacy reasons. This will give us a basis for discussion on what is what on your network, what your using for dns, etc. etc.

C:\Windows\System32>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : i5-w7
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . : local.lan
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : local.lan

Ethernet adapter Local:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink ™ Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 18-03-73-B1-0D-D3
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2601:d:snipped::666(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e0cd:efb8:f50:7e7b%12(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2601:d:snipped::1
192.168.1.253
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.253
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Do something as simple as pinging www.google.com.. what does it show?

example


C:\Windows\System32>ping www.google.com

Pinging www.google.com [173.194.43.52] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 173.194.43.52: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.194.43.52: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.194.43.52: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.194.43.52: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=54

Ping statistics for 173.194.43.52:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 40ms, Maximum = 54ms, Average = 44ms

C:\Windows\System32>

Now one thing I could think of that would allow say chrome to use the internet but not other applications like dropbox is your using a proxy? Are you? If so set it up for dropbox. As to your game not working, what ports does it use? Again if using a proxy that could be a problem.

You mention a software firewall, yeah I would look there as your most likely problem. But if you can ping google then you have network connectivity without having to point to a proxy.. So that will give us lots to discuss depending on what that shows us.

#3 OP +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 11 March 2013 - 19:59

Here's my IPconfig /all:

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : zedlor-pc
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Home

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-81-00-02-50
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1C-6F-65-D9-CB-B1
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d5f7:f4de:613f:9cc8%12(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 11 March 2013 15:05:47
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 12 March 2013 15:05:47
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 253521765
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-B4-0F-EF-1C-6F-65-D9-CB-B1

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.Home:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:3c9d:80b:4f02:7be1(Prefe
rred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3c9d:80b:4f02:7be1%14(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

My ping to google.com shows:


Pinging google.com [173.194.34.174] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 173.194.34.174: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=58
Reply from 173.194.34.174: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=58
Reply from 173.194.34.174: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=58
Reply from 173.194.34.174: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=58

Ping statistics for 173.194.34.174:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 29ms, Maximum = 31ms, Average = 30ms


I've disabled Norton but it still won't connect. I'm also not using a proxy server either :/

#4 Steffan

Steffan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-July 03
  • Location: Norfolk, VA
  • OS: OS X 10.8/10.9 Win 7/8.1
  • Phone: Note 3

Posted 11 March 2013 - 20:13

Do you know how to change the network stack in Windows?

#5 OP +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 11 March 2013 - 20:14

Do you know how to change the network stack in Windows?

I'll be honest, I don't even know what that means :p

#6 Steffan

Steffan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-July 03
  • Location: Norfolk, VA
  • OS: OS X 10.8/10.9 Win 7/8.1
  • Phone: Note 3

Posted 11 March 2013 - 20:18

It tells which device to use for first for Internet access

Read this: http://windows.micro...otocol-bindings

Change swap the order of your Bluetooth and your network card.

#7 OP +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 11 March 2013 - 20:31

Posted Image

There's no option for the Bluetooth adapter...but it's been working for ages now with no problems and the Bluetooth adapter has been in my PC since I installed Windows :/

#8 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 11 March 2013 - 20:57

Yeah you can ping google.com - so there should be no reason why dropbox would not work other than software firewall issue, dns problem? Let me fire up a sniff real quick and tell you where it tries to talk

edit: ok after a quick sniff

dropboxsniff.jpg

So you can see a few queries for client and notify dropbox.com - I would see if you can get those to resolve - simple ping to the names should tell you if they resolve, don't worry if they don't respond.

And then you can see it talking to one of those IPs via just HTTP, so no weird port involved, etc.

#9 OP +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 11 March 2013 - 21:00

Yeah you can ping google.com - so there should be no reason why dropbox would not work other than software firewall issue, dns problem? Let me fire up a sniff real quick and tell you where it tries to talk

I don't know, why would that only cause Dropbox and Origin to not work? I can connect to dropbox.com, but I'm assuming the program will use a different URL anyway.

#10 dragon2611

dragon2611

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-July 04
  • Location: Somewhere in the UK

Posted 11 March 2013 - 21:01

Is this on a standard home connection?

Presumably you're not on a connection where such services are blocked by the network admin E.g at work/college .etc?

#11 OP +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 11 March 2013 - 21:01

Is this on a standard home connection?

Presumably you're not on a connection where such services are blocked by the network admin E.g at work/college .etc?

Yeah, I'm at home. Nothing's blocked here ;)

#12 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 11 March 2013 - 21:05

so see my edit - can you ping the names I highlighted in the sniff?

#13 OP +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 11 March 2013 - 21:29

so see my edit - can you ping the names I highlighted in the sniff?

I can indeed - results are below:


C:\Windows\system32>ping 108.160.160.157

Pinging 108.160.160.157 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 108.160.160.157: bytes=32 time=195ms TTL=51
Reply from 108.160.160.157: bytes=32 time=189ms TTL=51
Reply from 108.160.160.157: bytes=32 time=177ms TTL=51
Reply from 108.160.160.157: bytes=32 time=180ms TTL=51

Ping statistics for 108.160.160.157:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 177ms, Maximum = 195ms, Average = 185ms

C:\Windows\system32>ping client81.dropbox.com

Pinging v-client.sjc.dropbox.com [108.160.160.177] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 108.160.160.177: bytes=32 time=176ms TTL=51
Reply from 108.160.160.177: bytes=32 time=179ms TTL=51
Reply from 108.160.160.177: bytes=32 time=176ms TTL=51
Reply from 108.160.160.177: bytes=32 time=177ms TTL=51

Ping statistics for 108.160.160.177:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 176ms, Maximum = 179ms, Average = 177ms

C:\Windows\system32>ping client-lb.dropbox.com

Pinging v-client.sjc.dropbox.com [108.160.160.177] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 108.160.160.177: bytes=32 time=175ms TTL=51
Reply from 108.160.160.177: bytes=32 time=175ms TTL=51
Reply from 108.160.160.177: bytes=32 time=179ms TTL=51
Reply from 108.160.160.177: bytes=32 time=178ms TTL=51

Ping statistics for 108.160.160.177:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 175ms, Maximum = 179ms, Average = 176ms

C:\Windows\system32>ping notify21.dropbox.com

Pinging notify21.dropbox.com [108.160.160.157] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 108.160.160.157: bytes=32 time=192ms TTL=51
Reply from 108.160.160.157: bytes=32 time=195ms TTL=51
Reply from 108.160.160.157: bytes=32 time=176ms TTL=51
Reply from 108.160.160.157: bytes=32 time=178ms TTL=51

Ping statistics for 108.160.160.157:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 176ms, Maximum = 195ms, Average = 185ms

#14 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 12 March 2013 - 00:34

Well then does not seem like a NETWORK related problem - must be something on your computer preventing the access. Firewall maybe? What exact error do you get in dropbox or your game?

#15 OP +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One M8

Posted 12 March 2013 - 16:12

Well then does not seem like a NETWORK related problem - must be something on your computer preventing the access. Firewall maybe? What exact error do you get in dropbox or your game?

On Dropbox it just constantly says "Connecting" and Origin just sticks on Offline Mode. I've disable Norton and tried but that doesn't seem to make it work :/ Very peculiar.