Jump to content



Photo

How does Metro work?


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#16 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 15 March 2013 - 01:26

How does Metro work?


Very poorly for me.


#17 OP Atomic Wanderer Chicken

Atomic Wanderer Chicken

    Assistant Special Agent Chicken in charge

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-August 12
  • Location: Black Mesa Research Facility, USA
  • OS: Windows 95 with Microsoft Plus
  • Phone: Motorola MicroTAC Elite

Posted 15 March 2013 - 01:42

I see now, Metro and the desktop work almost the same way. Metro is like alternate desktop then. I still like and always will like the start menu though. Metro may be nice and everything, but it makes people a lot less productive. Microsoft really did not need to get rid of the start menu, it worked fantastically. Metro is designed primarily for the tablets!

#18 z0phi3l

z0phi3l

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8
  • Phone: Android

Posted 15 March 2013 - 02:01

I smell a troll, no one is really this clueless, no one

#19 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 15 March 2013 - 02:05

'How does Metro work?'

It doesn't, and it stops the user from getting any done too

#20 billyea

billyea

    Your Two Cents

  • Joined: 15-July 06
  • Location: Noitacol

Posted 15 March 2013 - 02:10

And once again technical discussion turns into a Metrolling thread...

#21 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 15 March 2013 - 02:11

And once again technical discussion turns into a Metrolling thread...


When was this thread ever a technical discussion, the OP question didn't even make any sense, it took most of the first page to work out what he was saying

#22 FunkyMike

FunkyMike

    Neowinian OldSkooler

  • Joined: 04-October 01

Posted 15 March 2013 - 02:33

When was this thread ever a technical discussion, the OP question didn't even make any sense, it took most of the first page to work out what he was saying


It did make sense. You cannot expect someone that is trying to ask a technical question and hence obtain more knowledge to form it coherently if he is trying to learn more about this topic.


Metro is part of explorer.exe so it is not like hitting control alt delete. Try killing the explorer.exe process and see for yourself.

Metro Apps on the other hand run separately.

#23 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 15 March 2013 - 02:49

This explains all ... dammit now I want a slushy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LJkRZeT7X_Y



#24 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 15 March 2013 - 02:51

Badly. Install startisback, and enjoy Windows as it should be ;)

#25 Tegument

Tegument

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-May 03
  • Location: Morton, IL
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Windows Phone 8

Posted 15 March 2013 - 02:54

the modern apps are built using html5 and w/ the ie rendering engine built into the os i'd assume theyre running off that

#26 vcfan

vcfan

    POP POP RET

  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 15 March 2013 - 05:33

in windows 7,the os shell is explorer.exe,which is the desktop basically. the desktop is one giant direct3d surface,and the windows are textured meshes made up of triangles.therefore there is hardware acceleration,and that's how you have things like aero and aero peek and the flipcard task switching.

in windows 8,metro is part of explorer.exe,as is the desktop. what that basically means is that metro is part of the OS,and is not some type of layer or skin. metro is the UI of windows 8.

now under the hood,metro and the desktop are one giant direct3d surface. when you switch between them,the one in focus becomes the on screen buffer,and the other becomes an off screen buffer.when you run a metro app,a new full screen window is basically created incorporating a direct3d surface,which is where the app will render its content.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!