Jump to content



Photo

remote desktop software for gaming

remote desktop gaming

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 19 March 2013 - 05:48

Hey, simple question. Is there a remote desktop like software fast enough to allow me to run my games on my desktop but play on a laptop over the internet or over the network. (assume bandwidth isn't an issue)

edit: wish I could use the software http://www.onlive.com/ uses.


#2 Gerowen

Gerowen

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-August 05
  • Location: Hills of Kentucky
  • OS: Ubuntu Linux

Posted 19 March 2013 - 05:58

Hey, simple question. Is there a remote desktop like software fast enough to allow me to run my games on my desktop but play on a laptop over the internet or over the network. (assume bandwidth isn't an issue)


Depends on the game. If you're looking for hardware acceleration, then not as far as I'm aware. Neither VNC nor Remote Desktop support accelerated graphics drivers, and many games won't even boot on a Windows machine if you are connected via Remote Desktop. If you use some 3rd party solution like VNC and they do boot, you're going to have some horrible screen tearing while your remote desktop software tries to keep up with the images being displayed on the remote machine. As far as doing things like solitaire, that would be fine, but if you want to get into 3-D games, I'm not aware of any remote desktop software that would be reliable and usable, especially if you were to try using the internet instead of just doing it across your own LAN. VNC doesn't put the restriction on allowing games to launch, but I've tried it and even across my own network running at 1 Gbps, there was very noticeable lag and screen tearing with a full screen 3-D game.

#3 The_Observer

The_Observer

    Apples, Bananas, Rhinoceros!

  • Joined: 12-April 05
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone5s

Posted 19 March 2013 - 06:01

There is RemoteFX if im correct, but this will mean a Windows Server (2008/2012), Virtual Windows 7/8 Install and config. From what i have seen it works well but isnt a simple thing to setup. Thinking of trying this on my WindowsServer 2012 (Home).

#4 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 23 March 2013 - 18:45

There is RemoteFX if im correct, but this will mean a Windows Server (2008/2012), Virtual Windows 7/8 Install and config. From what i have seen it works well but isnt a simple thing to setup. Thinking of trying this on my WindowsServer 2012 (Home).


I have seen a bunch of videos and demos of this, looks like it could do the job. I will try it out and let everyone know how it went.

#5 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 25 March 2013 - 10:42

Ran into some problems with RemoteFX. It looks like my i5+radeon 6950 isn't really compatible looking for workarounds. it would be fantastic if i got this to work...

#6 kkrull

kkrull

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 01-May 13

Posted 01 May 2013 - 22:04

RemoteFX works fine for some games like Cut The Rope. And hardly at all for others like Where's My Water.

Keep in mind you have to have an enterprise license for the Windows client on which the games run to make RemoteFX work.

I cannot get bluestacks to install on the client however. I have a FirePro video card. My guess is that the installer is checking for OpenGL API performance which doesn't spool up until actually in use.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!